Film Archive

Countries (Film Archive)

Bodycheck 2015
1977 Peque Varela

The game of life is about playing a role. The best actor wins. There are rules for girls and boys, women and men. But what happens if you’re not allowed to play because you don’t fit in?

1977

Documentary Film
Spain,
UK
2007
8 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gavin Humphries
Peque Varela
Natalie Holt
Neus Ollé-Soronellas
Fiona De Souza
Alejandra Jimenez, R. Vetusto, Kaori Hamilton
Peque Varela
Chu-li Shewring
The game of life is about playing a role. The best actor wins. There are rules for girls and boys, women and men. But what happens if you’re not allowed to play because you don’t fit in? How it feels to break out and make your own rules.

---Kim Busch
Film Unlimited 2013
6:30 Collection

A mass society sends masses of letters, which are now sorted, classified and sent on their way at assembly lines and with the help of machines. The film follows this process with barely concealed enthusiasm. It is considered to be the first documentary that uses only live sound, while demonstrating that sound is capable of much more than just “documentation” ...

UK

UK
1934

6:30 Collection

Animadoc
UK
1934
15 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

John Grierson, GPO Film Unit
J. D. Davidson
Harry Watt
J. Cox
A mass society sends masses of letters, which are now sorted, classified and sent on their way at assembly lines and with the help of machines. The film follows this process with barely concealed enthusiasm. It is considered to be the first documentary that uses only live sound, while demonstrating that sound is capable of much more than just “documentation”. Note the visual-sound-editing, especially the credit motif, which was recorded by the whole studio staff (including Grierson and Wright) using various props like a beer bottle, a projection machine and sand paper.

---Grit Lemke

77sqm_9:26min

Documentary Film
UK
2017
29 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Forensic Architecture
Forensic Architecture
The investigations of the London-based Forensic Architecture collective are always based on two premises: First, state violence leaves traces. Second, decision makers have the power to erase these traces. Their reconstruction of the NSU’s murder of Halit Yozgat was one of the most spectacular works of documenta 14 and nominated for the Turner Prize. The method of their counter investigations: digital modelling, audio analysis, timeline comparisons. Their goal: synthesizing an incident in a precisely defined space-time continuum. Here: What happened on 6 April 2006 within a time span of 9 minutes and 26 seconds in a room of 77 square metres?

Ralph Eue
Film Unlimited 2013
A Colour Box

When the young Norman McLaren saw “A Colour Box”, he knew that this was exactly what he wanted to do. Made without a camera and drawn directly on the celluloid ...

UK

UK
1935

A Colour Box

Animadoc
UK
1935
4 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

John Grierson, GPO Film Unit
Don Baretto and his Cuban Orchestra
When the young Norman McLaren saw “A Colour Box”, he knew that this was exactly what he wanted to do. Made without a camera and drawn directly on the celluloid, the success of this film (even though audiences first were shocked and jeered at it) established direct animation as a technique of its own. The slightly jazzy, dancing promotion of the Post Office at the end may have served to justify the production of such a work by a government institution, but Grierson explicitly considered such films as an enrichment of the GPO canon.

---Grit Lemke
Strictly Animated 2018
A Morning Stroll Grant Orchard

New York City, one early morning in 1959: a chicken turns a corner, passes a dumbfounded pedestrian, climbs up the stairs to an apartment, knocks on the door with its beak and, after a short wait, is admitted.

A Morning Stroll

Animated Film
UK
2011
7 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sue Goffe
Grant Orchard
Nic Gill
Nic Gill
Sander Jones, Lucas Vigroux, Perrine Marais, Florian Mounie, Max Stöhr
Nic Gill
Grant Orchard
New York City, one early morning in 1959: a chicken turns a corner, passes a dumbfounded pedestrian, climbs up the stairs to an apartment, knocks on the door with its beak and, after a short wait, is admitted. The same morning walk is repeated in 2009 and 2059. The conclusion: our planet is in truly bad shape.

Duscha Kistler
Strictly Animated 2018
All Is Full of Love Chris Cunningham

“It’s like Kamasutra meets Industrial Robotics,” British video artist Chris Cunningham commented, probably delivering the most accurate description of his erotic music video for Björk’s “All Is Full of Love”.

All Is Full of Love

Animated Film
UK
1999
4 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cindy Burnay
Chris Cunningham
Björk
John Lynch
Gary Knight
“It’s like Kamasutra meets Industrial Robotics,” British video artist Chris Cunningham commented, probably delivering the most accurate description of his erotic music video for Björk’s “All Is Full of Love”, in which two identical robots in elegant white and bearing Björk’s features passionately kiss and touch each other in the sterile light of an operating room.

Duscha Kistler

All That Glisters

Animated Film
UK
2012
8 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Claire Lamond
Claire Lamond
Karine Polwart
Claire Lamond
Anne Donovan (original story), Claire Lamond (adaptation)
Mattie Foulds
As Clare moves from childhood, she strives to create a personal way of dealing with her Dad‘s illness from asbestosis. „All That Glisters“ is a stop-motion adaptation of a short story by Scottish author Anne Donovan.

An Islington Resident

Documentary Film
UK
2010
6 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Max Colson
Max Colson
Inkliing
Max Colson
Max Colson
Max Colson
Max Colson
Max Colson devotes a photo series and a short documentary to the London rapper Melanin 9. The black musician is a highly critical observer of how the British hip-hop scene reaffirms media stereotypes. Colson is faced with a similar problem: How can he adequately portray his protagonist in documentary terms?

André Eckardt
Disobedient Images 2016
Angry Kid: Horror Darren Walsh

Naughtiness strikes back: Angry Kid tries in vain to spook his little sister. At last she is fed up with his antics and takes revenge.

Angry Kid: Horror

Animated Film
UK
2000
2 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Julie Lockhart (Aardman)
Darren Walsh
Stuart Gordon, Will Hodge
Clayton Saunders, Darren Walsh, Mike Booth
Darren Walsh, Mike Booth
Stuart Gordon, Will Hodge
Naughtiness strikes back: Angry Kid tries in vain to spook his little sister. At last she is fed up with his antics and takes revenge.

Ines Seifert
Disobedient Images 2016
Angry Kid: Tourettes Darren Walsh

The embodiment of naughtiness: Aardman’s Angry Kid. In this episode he sits in the car with his Dad and finds a good excuse to use the f*** word profusely.

Angry Kid: Tourettes

Animated Film
UK
2002
2 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jackie Chrisp (Aardman)
Darren Walsh
Stuart Gordon, Will Hodge
Clayton Saunders
Keiron Self
Stuart Gordon, Will Hodge
The embodiment of naughtiness: Aardman’s Angry Kid. In this episode he sits in the car with his Dad and finds a good excuse to use the f*** word profusely.

Ines Seifert

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Katie's Story

Animadoc
UK
2015
3 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
The multiple award winning series “Animated Minds”, launched in 2003, visualises the interior worlds of mentally disordered people. The new instalment shows women who suffered from postnatal depression after the birth of their children. Katie talks of her feelings of guilt and powerlessness in the face of this new situation in her life. The animation makes her feelings and thoughts visible.

Annegret Richter
International Competition Animadoc (2015-2017) 2015
Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story Dan Binns

It’s a little-known fact that postnatal depression affects not only women who find no access to their child and new life after birth. The disorder also radically changes their partners’ and families’ lives.

UK

UK
2015

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story

Animadoc
UK
2015
3 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
It’s a little-known fact that postnatal depression affects not only women who find no access to their child and new life after birth. The disorder also radically changes their partners’ and families’ lives. This episode of “Animated Minds” shows how Mike experiences the situation as a man and father.

Annegret Richter

Anomalies

Animated Film
Japan,
UK
2013
3 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Abigail Addison
Atsushi Wada
Miki Sakurai
Atsushi Wada
Atsushi Wada
Atsushi Wada
Masumi Takino
We try to enrich ourselves through prayer, faith and devotion to someone or something “other”. Similarly, we believe in the existence of “anomalies”, such as unknowable and uncontrollable monsters. But can such beliefs advance us?



Honorary Mention in the International Competition Animated Film 2014

Post-Angst 2017
Anomalies Benjamin Cady

Unexplained multi-coloured phenomena keep invading a minimalist black and white world.

UK

UK
2012

Anomalies

Animated Film
UK
2012
12 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Benjamin Cady
Benjamin Cady
Benjamin Cady
Joe Gilder
Unexplained multi-coloured phenomena keep invading a minimalist black and white world. Initial curiosity soon gives way to fear.

Franziska Bruckner

Aquarela

Documentary Film
Denmark,
Germany,
UK
2018
90 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Aimara Reques, Heino Deckert, Sigrid Dyekjær
Victor Kossakovsky
Eicca Toppinen
Victor Kossakovsky, Ben Bernhard
Victor Kossakovsky, Molly Malene Stensgaard, Ainara Vera
Victor Kossakovsky, Aimara Reques
Alexander Dudarev
A film about water. Beauty, power and threat are mingled in Victor Kossakovsky’s latest work: the peace of the ice on Lake Baikal is treacherous. Under the surface it’s bubbling, melting – much earlier than usual. So a group of rescue workers is kept busy, pulling car after car from the frozen masses and recovering the drivers.

Icebergs are sinking in the sea here, storms drive torrents of rain aground in Florida, whole oceans are crashing down the Salto Ángel in Venezuela. 40 years after his debut as a filmmaker, 30 years after he graduated from the Higher Courses of Film Writers and Directors in Moscow and about seven years after his documentary “Vivan Las Antipodas!”, which measured the globe in geographical opposites, Victor Kossakovsky has produced another film that makes the landscapes of the world its protagonists. “Aquarela” shows bodies of water all over the world, in all their manifestations, in all their changing aggregate states caused by comparatively tiny differences in temperature. The camera maps on boats, dives under the surfaces, rises in the air to capture the expanse of space. Kossakovsky composes a visual symphony of primeval powers set to Heavy Metal music. The powerful images provoke awe, wonder flows from the screen like sea spray.

Fabian Tietke

Associations

Documentary Film
UK
1975
7 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

John Smith
John Smith
John Smith
John Smith
John Smith
John Smith
John Smith
Good4you! An excellent introduction to John Smith’s work: from image to sound to word to meaning and back. We see a 2 and know that it means two, but [tuː:] could also stand for “to” … Accompanying a scholarly linguistic text by Herbert H. Clark we see a sequence of images accelerating in overkill mode that illustrate and mock the theory at the same time. Linguistics for dummies.

Grit Lemke

Filmarchiv

Countries (Film Archive)

Bodycheck 2015
1977 Peque Varela

Im Spiel des Lebens geht es darum, eine Rolle einzunehmen. Es gewinnt, wer diese bestmöglich ausfüllt. Es gibt Regeln für Mädchen und Jungs, Frauen und Männer. Doch was passiert, wenn man nicht mitspielen darf, weil man nicht reinpasst?

1977

Dokumentarfilm
Spanien,
UK
2007
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gavin Humphries
Peque Varela
Natalie Holt
Neus Ollé-Soronellas
Fiona De Souza
Alejandra Jimenez, R. Vetusto, Kaori Hamilton
Peque Varela
Chu-li Shewring
Im Spiel des Lebens geht es darum, eine Rolle einzunehmen. Es gewinnt, wer diese bestmöglich ausfüllt. Es gibt Regeln für Mädchen und Jungs, Frauen und Männer. Doch was passiert, wenn man nicht mitspielen darf, weil man nicht reinpasst? Wie es sich anfühlt, auszubrechen und sein eigenes Regelwerk aufzustellen.

Kim Busch
Film Unlimited 2013
6:30 Collection

Eine Massengesellschaft versendet massenhaft Briefe, die nun an Fließbändern und mit der Hilfe von Maschinen sortiert, zugeordnet und auf die Reise geschickt werden. Mit kaum verhohlener Begeisterung begleitet der Film diesen Prozess. Er gilt nicht nur als erster Dokumentarfilm, der komplett mit Originalton arbeitet, sondern zeigt zugleich, dass Ton weit mehr kann als nur zu „dokumentieren“ ...

UK

UK
1934

6:30 Collection

Animadok
UK
1934
15 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

John Grierson, GPO Film Unit
J. D. Davidson
Harry Watt
J. Cox
Eine Massengesellschaft versendet massenhaft Briefe, die nun an Fließbändern und mit der Hilfe von Maschinen sortiert, zugeordnet und auf die Reise geschickt werden. Mit kaum verhohlener Begeisterung begleitet der Film diesen Prozess. Er gilt nicht nur als erster Dokumentarfilm, der komplett mit Originalton arbeitet, sondern zeigt zugleich, dass Ton weit mehr kann als nur zu „dokumentieren“. Man achte auf die Bild-Ton-Montage und vor allem auf das Titelmotiv – das alle Studiomitarbeiter (einschließlich Grierson und Wright) mittels verschiedener Requisiten wie einer Bierflasche, einer Projektionsmaschine und Sandpapier selbst aufnahmen.

Grit Lemke

77sqm_9:26min

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2017
29 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Forensic Architecture
Forensic Architecture
Bei seinen Untersuchungen geht das Londoner Kollektiv Forensic Architecture immer von zwei Prämissen aus: Erstens hinterlässt staatliche Gewalt Spuren. Zweitens verfügen die Entscheidungsträger über die Macht, diese Spuren zu tilgen. Ihre Rekonstruktion des NSU-Mordes an Halit Yozgat war eines der aufsehenerregendsten Projekte der documenta 14 und wurde für den Turner Prize nominiert. Das Verfahren ihrer Counter Investigations: Digital Modelling, Audio-Analyse, Timeline-Abgleiche. Das Anliegen: Synthetisierung eines Geschehens in einem präzise umgrenzten Raum-Zeit-Gefüge. Hier: Was geschah am 6. April 2006 innerhalb einer Zeitspanne von 9 Minuten und 26 Sekunden in einem Raum von 77 Quadratmetern?

Ralph Eue
Film Unlimited 2013
A Colour Box

Als der junge Norman McLaren „A Colour Box“ sah, wusste er, dass dies genau das war, was er machen wollte. Ohne Kamera erstellt und direkt auf den Filmstreifen gezeichnet ...

UK

UK
1935

A Colour Box

Animadok
UK
1935
4 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

John Grierson, GPO Film Unit
Don Baretto and his Cuban Orchestra
Als der junge Norman McLaren „A Colour Box“ sah, wusste er, dass dies genau das war, was er machen wollte. Ohne Kamera erstellt und direkt auf den Filmstreifen gezeichnet, etablierte der Erfolg dieses Films (obgleich er anfangs die Zuschauer schockierte und ausgebuht wurde) die direkte Animation als eigenständige Technik. Die leicht angejazzte, fröhlich tanzende Postwerbung am Ende diente zwar der Rechtfertigung der Produktion eines solchen Werks durch eine Regierungsinstitution, doch sah Grierson in Filmen wie diesen ausdrücklich eine Bereicherung des GPO-Kanons.

Grit Lemke
Strictly Animated 2018
A Morning Stroll Grant Orchard

New York City an einem frühen Morgen im Jahr 1959: Ein Huhn biegt um die Ecke, läuft an einem verdutzten Fußgänger vorbei, steigt die Treppe zu einer Wohnung hoch, klopft mit dem Schnabel an die Tür und wird, nach kurzer Wartezeit, hereingelassen.

A Morning Stroll

Animationsfilm
UK
2011
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sue Goffe
Grant Orchard
Nic Gill
Nic Gill
Sander Jones, Lucas Vigroux, Perrine Marais, Florian Mounie, Max Stöhr
Nic Gill
Grant Orchard
New York City an einem frühen Morgen im Jahr 1959: Ein Huhn biegt um die Ecke, läuft an einem verdutzten Fußgänger vorbei, steigt die Treppe zu einer Wohnung hoch, klopft mit dem Schnabel an die Tür und wird, nach kurzer Wartezeit, hereingelassen. Der gleiche Morgenspaziergang wiederholt sich in den Jahren 2009 und 2059. Das Fazit: Es steht gar nicht gut um unseren Planeten.

Duscha Kistler
Strictly Animated 2018
All Is Full of Love Chris Cunningham

„It’s like Kamasutra meets Industrial Robotics“, meinte der britische Videokünstler Chris Cunningham und lieferte damit die wohl treffendste Beschreibung für seinen erotischen Musikclip zu Björks „All Is Full of Love“.

All Is Full of Love

Animationsfilm
UK
1999
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cindy Burnay
Chris Cunningham
Björk
John Lynch
Gary Knight
„It’s like Kamasutra meets Industrial Robotics“, meinte der britische Videokünstler Chris Cunningham und lieferte damit die wohl treffendste Beschreibung für seinen erotischen Musikclip zu Björks „All Is Full of Love“, in welchem sich zwei identische Roboter in elegantem Weiß und mit Björks Gesichtszügen im sterilen Licht eines Operationssaales leidenschaftlich küssen und berühren.

Duscha Kistler

All That Glisters

Animationsfilm
UK
2012
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Claire Lamond
Claire Lamond
Karine Polwart
Claire Lamond
Anne Donovan (original story), Claire Lamond (adaptation)
Mattie Foulds
Als Clare ihre Kindheit hinter sich lässt, sucht sie nach einem eigenen Weg, mit der Lungenerkrankung ihres Vaters fertigzuwerden. Eine Stop-Motion-Animation nach einer Kurzgeschichte der schottischen Autorin Anne Donovan.
Animation Perspectives 2019
An Islington Resident Max Colson

Der Rapper Melanin 9 beobachtet sehr kritisch, wie die britische Hip-Hop-Szene medial vorgegebene Klischeebilder bedient.

An Islington Resident

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2010
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Max Colson
Max Colson
Inkliing
Max Colson
Max Colson
Max Colson
Max Colson
Max Colson widmet sich in einer Fotoserie und in einem Kurzdokumentarfilm dem Londoner Rapper Melanin 9. Der schwarze Musiker beobachtet sehr kritisch, wie die britische Hip-Hop-Szene medial vorgegebene Klischeebilder bedient. Für Colson stellt sich ein ähnliches Problem: Wie kann er seinen Protagonisten dokumentarisch angemessen porträtieren?

André Eckardt
Disobedient Images 2016
Angry Kid: Horror Darren Walsh

Naughtiness strikes back: Angry Kid versucht vergeblich, seiner Schwester das Gruseln beizubringen. Schließlich hat sie die Faxen dicke und rächt sich.

Angry Kid: Horror

Animationsfilm
UK
2000
2 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Julie Lockhart (Aardman)
Darren Walsh
Stuart Gordon, Will Hodge
Clayton Saunders, Darren Walsh, Mike Booth
Darren Walsh, Mike Booth
Stuart Gordon, Will Hodge
Naughtiness strikes back: Angry Kid versucht vergeblich, seiner Schwester das Gruseln beizubringen. Schließlich hat sie die Faxen dicke und rächt sich.

Ines Seifert
Disobedient Images 2016
Angry Kid: Tourettes Darren Walsh

Der Inbegriff von Naughtiness: Aardmans Angry Kid. Sitzt in dieser Episode mit Daddy im Auto und findet einen guten Grund, mit F***-Words um sich zu schleudern.

Angry Kid: Tourettes

Animationsfilm
UK
2002
2 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jackie Chrisp (Aardman)
Darren Walsh
Stuart Gordon, Will Hodge
Clayton Saunders
Keiron Self
Stuart Gordon, Will Hodge
Der Inbegriff von Naughtiness: Aardmans Angry Kid. Sitzt in dieser Episode mit Daddy im Auto und findet einen guten Grund, mit F***-Words um sich zu schleudern.

Ines Seifert

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Katie's Story

Animadok
UK
2015
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
Die vielfach preisgekrönte Reihe „Animated Minds“ visualisiert seit 2003 die Innenwelten psychisch erkrankter Menschen. In den neuen Folgen kommen Frauen zu Wort, die nach der Geburt ihres Kindes unter postnataler Depression litten. Katie erzählt von ihren Schuldgefühlen und der Ohnmacht angesichts der neuen Lebenssituation. Die Animation lässt ihre Gefühle und Gedanken für uns sichtbar werden.

Annegret Richter
Internationaler Wettbewerb Animadok (2015-2017) 2015
Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story Dan Binns

Was weniger bekannt ist: Postnatale Depression betrifft nicht nur Frauen, die nach der Geburt keinen Zugang zu ihrem Kind und ihrem neuen Leben finden. Die Krankheit zieht auch einschneidende Veränderungen für den Partner und die Familie nach sich.

UK

UK
2015

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story

Animadok
UK
2015
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
Was weniger bekannt ist: Postnatale Depression betrifft nicht nur Frauen, die nach der Geburt keinen Zugang zu ihrem Kind und ihrem neuen Leben finden. Die Krankheit zieht auch einschneidende Veränderungen für den Partner und die Familie nach sich. Hier zeigt „Animated Minds“, wie Mike als Mann und Vater die Situation erlebt.

Annegret Richter

Anomalies

Animationsfilm
Japan,
UK
2013
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Abigail Addison
Atsushi Wada
Miki Sakurai
Atsushi Wada
Atsushi Wada
Atsushi Wada
Masumi Takino
Wir versuchen, unser Leben durch Gebet, Glaube und Hingabe an etwas oder jemand „anderes“ reicher zu machen. Ebenso glauben wir an die Existenz von „Anomalien“ wie unerkennbare und unkontrollierbare Monster. Aber können uns solche Überzeugungen weiterbringen?



Lobende Erwähnung im Internationalen Wettbewerb Animationsfilm 2014

Nach der Angst 2017
Anomalies Benjamin Cady

In eine minimalistische Schwarz-Weiß-Welt brechen immer wieder unerklärliche bunte Phänomene ein

Anomalies

Animationsfilm
UK
2012
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Benjamin Cady
Benjamin Cady
Benjamin Cady
Joe Gilder
In eine minimalistische Schwarz-Weiß-Welt brechen immer wieder unerklärliche bunte Phänomene ein. Die anfängliche Neugier weicht bald der Furcht.

Franziska Bruckner

Aquarela

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark,
Deutschland,
UK
2018
90 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Aimara Reques, Heino Deckert, Sigrid Dyekjær
Victor Kossakovsky
Eicca Toppinen
Victor Kossakovsky, Ben Bernhard
Victor Kossakovsky, Molly Malene Stensgaard, Ainara Vera
Victor Kossakovsky, Aimara Reques
Alexander Dudarev
Ein Film über das Wasser. Schönheit, Kraft und Bedrohung mischen sich in den Bildern von Victor Kossakovskys neuester Arbeit: Die Ruhe des Eises am Baikalsee trügt. Unter der Oberfläche brodelt es, schmilzt es – deutlich früher als sonst. Viel zu tun für eine Gruppe von Nothelfern. Ein Auto nach dem anderen ziehen sie aus den gefrorenen Massen und bergen die Fahrer.

Eisberge versinken hier im Meer, Stürme peitschen Regenfluten in Florida an Land, ganze Ozeane stürzen den Salto Ángel in Venezuela hinunter. 40 Jahre nach seinen Anfängen als Filmemacher, 30 Jahre nach seinem Abschluss an den Höheren Kursen für Drehbuch und Regie in Moskau und rund sieben Jahre nach seinem Dokumentarfilm „Vivan Las Antipodas!“, der den Globus in geografischen Gegensätzen durchmaß, hat Victor Kossakovsky einen weiteren Film gedreht, der die Landschaften der Welt zu seinen Protagonisten erhebt. „Aquarela“ zeigt Gewässer aus aller Welt, in all ihren Erscheinungsformen, in all ihren sich wandelnden, von vergleichsweise winzigen Temperaturunterschieden bedingten Aggregatzuständen. Die Kamera kartografiert auf Booten, taucht unter die Oberflächen, erhebt sich in die Luft, um die Weite des Raumes zu erfassen. Kossakovsky komponiert zu Heavy-Metal-Musik eine visuelle Symphonie der Urgewalten. Die mächtigen Bilder gebieten Ehrfurcht. Staunen flutet wie die Gischt von der Leinwand.

Fabian Tietke
Hommage John Smith 2015
Associations John Smith

8ung! Eine gute Einführung in das Schaffen von John Smith: Vom Bild zum Klang zum Wort zur Bedeutung und zurück.

Associations

Dokumentarfilm
UK
1975
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

John Smith
John Smith
John Smith
John Smith
John Smith
John Smith
John Smith
8ung! Eine gute Einführung in das Schaffen von John Smith: Vom Bild zum Klang zum Wort zur Bedeutung und zurück. Wir sehen eine 2 und wissen, dass dies auf Englisch „two“ bedeutet. [tuː:] könnte aber auch „to“ heißen … Zu einem gelehrten sprachwissenschaftlichen Text von Herbert H. Clark läuft eine zum Overkill geratende, schneller werdende Bildfolge, die die Theorie illustriert und sich zugleich darüber lustig macht. Linguistik für Dummies.

Grit Lemke