Film Archive

Anomalies

Animated Film
Japan,
UK
2013
3 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Abigail Addison
Atsushi Wada
Miki Sakurai
Atsushi Wada
Atsushi Wada
Atsushi Wada
Masumi Takino
We try to enrich ourselves through prayer, faith and devotion to someone or something “other”. Similarly, we believe in the existence of “anomalies”, such as unknowable and uncontrollable monsters. But can such beliefs advance us?



Honorary Mention in the International Competition Animated Film 2014

Animadoc 2014
Mend and Make Do Bexie Bush

Cup of tea? Come and take a seat in Lyn's cosy front room. Hear her story of love during wartime and watch as her belongings come alive with the hope, fear and humour of one spirited lady.

UK

UK
2014

Mend and Make Do

Animadoc
UK
2014
8 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Timo Suomi
Bexie Bush
Arran Price
Adrian Peckitt
Pawel Slawek
Bexie Bush
Stefan Kaday
Neo Peterson
Cup of tea? Come and take a seat in Lyn's cosy front room. Hear her story of love during wartime and watch as her belongings come alive with the hope, fear and humour of one spirited lady.

Metaphor or Sadness Inside Out

Documentary Film
Portugal,
UK
2013
32 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Lucie Troger
Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Mike Wyeld
A young man from Lisbon writes to his sister, a filmmaker living in London. He confesses that, nine years after their mother died, he feels an emptiness in his life. Her answer is a film intended to fill that gap. The brother describes his nostalgia for a time when he wasn’t even born yet, a past that seems lost. It is their mother’s past, the time of the Portuguese revolution, which reconciled a country that was internally fractured. Today, that feeling of freedom is hard to grasp for a post-revolutionary generation living through the euro crisis. Can you film yourself backwards in time?
The grainy Super 8 material bridges the gap between the present and the past. The camera visits the places of three generations of a family that have felt halved. The sea, which the grandfather once called a metaphor for the world, is one of them. The lyrical dialogue between brother and sister keeps returning to that feeling of halfness, while the visual level is a search for the missing half, not without a subtle irony that offsets the melancholy undertone. After all, a metaphor will be a metaphor. A self-reflexive, poetic picture puzzle in which the personal always transcends itself.
Lars Meyer
International Programme 2014
Monkey Love Experiments Will Anderson, Ainslie Henderson

A little monkey in a laboratory watches the preparations for the moon landing on television and becomes convinced that he was selected for this. Full of anticipation he trains for his big day.

Monkey Love Experiments

Animated Film
UK
2014
8 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cameron Fraser
Will Anderson, Ainslie Henderson
Atzi
Ruan Suess
Neil Jack
Ainslie Henderson, Will Anderson
Ainslie Henderson, Will Anderson
John Cobban
A little monkey in a laboratory watches the preparations for the moon landing on television and becomes convinced that he was selected for this. Full of anticipation he trains for his big day.
Best of MDR 2014
Night Will Fall – Hitchcocks Lehrfilm für die Deutschen André Singer

In 1945, the Allies filmed shocking images during the liberation of the first concentration camp; Alfred Hitchcock and others produced a film that was lost for years and was now re-discovered and reconstructed.

Night Will Fall – Hitchcocks Lehrfilm für die Deutschen

Documentary Film
Israel,
UK,
USA
2014
76 minutes
subtitles: 
VO_German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sally Angel, Brett Ratner
André Singer
Nicholas Singer
Richard Blanshard
Arik Lahav, Stephen Miller
Lynette Singer
Aviv Aldema, Amir Boverman
Dr. Katja Wildermuth (MDR), Barbara Biemann (NDR)
When the first concentration camps were liberated in 1945, the Allied cameramen’s assignment was to document the events systematically – a record of the inconceivable. The images they produced were so grim and horrifying that much of what we have seen in this context probably pales in comparison. On the basis of this material, renowned filmmakers like Sidney Bernstein, Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder and Stewart McAllister produced a documentary with the revelatory subtitle “No German can say he didn’t know”.
The political agenda of German reconstruction prevented its publication – reels vanished or ended up in archives, where they lay untouched for decades. Now the Imperial War Museum has managed to reconstruct the film almost completely. Supplemented by testimonies of contemporary witnesses, “Night Will Fall” is a haunting reflection of the story of this documentary film and one of the darkest chapters of the 20th century.
Animadoc 2014
Princess Issues Jaha Browne, Natalie Hobbs

A traditional princess story is narrated by interweaving young girls’ statements about the issues they would face if they had to become a princess. Would they want to? And how would they lead their country during war?

UK

UK
2013

Princess Issues

Animadoc
UK
2013
3 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jaha Browne, Natalie Hobbs
Jaha Browne, Natalie Hobbs
Jaha Browne
Jaha Browne
Natalie Hobbs
Jaha Browne, Natalie Hobbs
Jaha Browne, Natalie Hobbs
A traditional princess story is narrated by interweaving young girls’ statements about the issues they would face if they had to become a princess. Would they want to? And how would they lead their country during war? Their answers are full of surprises and humour.

T's World: The Over-identification of Terry Thompson

Animadoc
France,
UK,
USA
2014
29 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ramon Bloomberg
Ramon Bloomberg
Ramon Bloomberg
Stark Haze
József Szimon, Balázs Őrley
On 18th October, 2011, the sheriff of Zanesville, Ohio, got an agitated phone call: the animals that eccentric Terry Thompson was legally keeping on his ranch were roaming the county. Red alert! That night, a heavily armed police force killed more than 56 bears, tigers, wolves, leopards and lions. Thompson had opened the cages, shot himself and offered his body as food to the animals. So far, so good, so American.
British media artist Ramon Bloomberg has turned this bizarre incident into a Brechtian story. Bloomberg combines Brecht’s play “The Yes Sayer” about traditional custom and formalised law with the American settler’s anarchical logic of freedom which fights every kind of state influence as an infringement on individual freedom: I am the lord of my animals, my land, my house, my family. End of story!
Bloomberg translates epic theatre into the language of film in the age of Play Station games. Real live shots are combined with images from the police car’s video camera, Google Earth data mining sequences and computer animated re-enactments. We hear minutes and statements of everyone involved as well as a comment taking the form of an (antique) chorus, the voice of the law, the neighbour and the animal. The only voice we don’t hear is Terry Thompson’s. His motives remain a big secret.

Matthias Heeder



Honorary Mention in the International Competition Animated Film 2014

International Programme 2014
The Auction House: A Tale of Two Brothers Edward Owles

A family business in Kolkata, managed comfortably by Little Boss Arshad. Until his big brother from London wants to introduce European efficiency. Culture clash comedy, Indian style.

The Auction House: A Tale of Two Brothers

Documentary Film
UK
2014
85 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Giovanna Stopponi
Edward Owles
Harry Lightfoot
Emiliano Battista
Gernot Fuhrmann
It’s tough. Keeping the business afloat in Kolkata for 40 years while one’s brother is leading the good life in London, and now this: the elder brother returns and takes over! Founded by their grandfather, the “Russell Exchange” auction house has aged quite a bit. It’s a long time since “Little Boss” Arshad made a profit. But that is to change now if Anwar has his will. The mission: taking the company into the 21st century. This sets the framework of a story where business and life plans clash. In “Little Boss’s” experience, everything can be sold. “Wrong! Don’t ever say that again! From tack to car – yes! Socks and shoes – no!” and then the crushing “We in Europe …” What under different conditions could lead to a veritable crisis is solved by this Indian-Islamic traders’ clan according to the rules of family hierarchy. The younger brother obeys, like he did when his father sent the brother to London and he was left – unasked for and unwanted – with the family business. “If I could do what I wanted!” We hear this sigh quite often – and yet: business is better than ever. So the two make peace with each other, on the basis of – how could it be otherwise – a flourishing “Russell Exchange” that their children will take over one day. Hopefully.
Matthias Heeder

The Bigger Picture

Animated Film
UK
2014
7 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Chris Hees
Daisy Jacobs
Huw Bunford
Max Williams
Vera Simmonds
Christopher Wilder, Daisy Jacobs
Daisy Jacobs, Jennifer Majka
Jonas Jensen
Painted life-sized on the wall, this is the story of two brothers who take care of their ailing mother. This task has consequences for their own lives and their relationship.



Silver Dove in the International Competition Animated Film 2014

Through the Hawthorn

Animated Film
UK
2014
9 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Anna Benner, Dictynna Hood
Anna Benner, Pia Borg, Gemma Burditt
Jo Ann Kaplan
Dictynna Hood
Jessica Marlowe, Ben Baird
Sam has stopped taking his medication – he still doesn't think he is ill. His mother is worried. The doctor thinks Sam should try a different medication. Three characters, three perspectives, three directors: A triptych exploring three very different senses of reality.
Animadoc 2014
Unsinkable Sophie Tran

The filmmaker interviews various members of her family about their dangerous and risky flight from Vietnam to Great Britain as boat people.

UK

UK
2014

Walking Under Water

Documentary Film
Germany,
Poland,
UK
2014
77 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Moniką Braid, Stefan Kloos
Elizą Kubarską
Michał Jacaszek
Piotr Rosołowski, Lisa Strohmayer
Bartosz Pietras
This is a film about a fairytale that was once true. Not so long ago, an unusual tribe lived on Borneo: the Badjao, who lived in and under water more than on dry land. They had neither passports nor money, but astonishing abilities. From earliest childhood they learn to dive and do without breathing for a long time. They move between shoals of fish and coral reefs like strollers who are at home there. Alexan, the last of his kind, teaches 10-year-old Sulu how to catch fish without modern appliances. The filmmaker Elizą Kubarską leaves no doubt about her fascination: in elaborate images that transcend every television documentary she dives into an idyllic and picturesque underwater world. She reminds us where we originally came from. And she shows us where we’re headed in equally unequivocal scenes: as the nomads, who are considered stateless today, vanish, they take their traditional knowledge and century old rituals with them. The rest is done by the fishing fleets and tourists.
Cornelia Klauß

Filmarchiv

Anomalies

Animationsfilm
Japan,
UK
2013
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Abigail Addison
Atsushi Wada
Miki Sakurai
Atsushi Wada
Atsushi Wada
Atsushi Wada
Masumi Takino
Wir versuchen, unser Leben durch Gebet, Glaube und Hingabe an etwas oder jemand „anderes“ reicher zu machen. Ebenso glauben wir an die Existenz von „Anomalien“ wie unerkennbare und unkontrollierbare Monster. Aber können uns solche Überzeugungen weiterbringen?



Lobende Erwähnung im Internationalen Wettbewerb Animationsfilm 2014

Animadok 2014
Mend and Make Do Bexie Bush

Eine Tasse Tee? Komm herein und setz dich in Lyns gemütliches Wohnzimmer.

UK

UK
2014

Mend and Make Do

Animadok
UK
2014
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Timo Suomi
Bexie Bush
Arran Price
Adrian Peckitt
Pawel Slawek
Bexie Bush
Stefan Kaday
Neo Peterson
Eine Tasse Tee? Komm herein und setz dich in Lyns gemütliches Wohnzimmer. Hör dir ihre Geschichte von Liebe in Zeiten des Krieges an und schau zu, wie ihre Besitztümer durch die Hoffnungen, Ängste und den Humor der munteren alten Dame zum Leben erweckt werden.

Metaphor or Sadness Inside Out

Dokumentarfilm
Portugal,
UK
2013
32 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Lucie Troger
Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Mike Wyeld
Ein junger Mann schreibt seiner Schwester, der Filmemacherin, aus Lissabon nach London. Er gesteht ihr, dass er, neun Jahre nach dem Tod der Mutter, eine Leere in seinem Leben fühlt. Sie antwortet ihm mit einem Film, um jene Leerstelle zu füllen. Der Bruder beschreibt seine Sehnsucht nach einer Zeit, in der er noch gar nicht lebte, eine Vergangenheit, die verloren scheint. Es ist die Zeit der Mutter, die Zeit der Revolution in Portugal, die ein innerlich gebrochenes Land wieder mit sich vereinte. Das Gefühl der Freiheit ist heute für die Nachrevolutionsgeneration, mitten in der Eurokrise, schwer greifbar. Kann man sich in der Zeit rückwärts filmen?
Das körnige Super-8-Material schlägt eine Brücke ins Gestern. Die Kamera sucht Orte von drei Familiengenerationen auf, die sich nur noch halb anfühlen. Auch das Meer gehört dazu, von dem der Großvater einst sagte, es sei eine Metapher für die Welt. Immer wieder kommt der lyrische Wortwechsel zwischen Bruder und Schwester auf das Gefühl der Halbheit zurück. Auf der Bildebene wird nach der anderen Hälfte gesucht, durchaus mit einer feinen Ironie, die den melancholischen Grundton aufhebt. Eine Metapher bleibt schließlich eine Metapher. So entsteht ein selbstreflexives, poetisches Suchbild, in dem das Persönliche stets über sich hinausweist.
Lars Meyer
Internationales Programm 2014
Monkey Love Experiments Will Anderson, Ainslie Henderson

Ein kleiner Affe in einem Labor sieht die Vorbereitungen für die Mondexpedition im Fernsehen und glaubt, dafür ausgewählt zu sein. Mit großer Vorfreude trainiert er für seinen großen Tag.

Monkey Love Experiments

Animationsfilm
UK
2014
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cameron Fraser
Will Anderson, Ainslie Henderson
Atzi
Ruan Suess
Neil Jack
Ainslie Henderson, Will Anderson
Ainslie Henderson, Will Anderson
John Cobban
Ein kleiner Affe in einem Labor sieht die Vorbereitungen für die Mondexpedition im Fernsehen und glaubt, dafür ausgewählt zu sein. Mit großer Vorfreude trainiert er für seinen großen Tag.
Best of MDR 2014
Night Will Fall – Hitchcocks Lehrfilm für die Deutschen André Singer

1945 drehen die Alliierten bei der Befreiung der ersten KZ bestürzende Bilder, Alfred Hitchcock und andere produzieren einen Film. Jahrelang verschollen, jetzt entdeckt und rekonstruiert.

Night Will Fall – Hitchcocks Lehrfilm für die Deutschen

Dokumentarfilm
Israel,
UK,
USA
2014
76 Minuten
Untertitel: 
VO_Deutsch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sally Angel, Brett Ratner
André Singer
Nicholas Singer
Richard Blanshard
Arik Lahav, Stephen Miller
Lynette Singer
Aviv Aldema, Amir Boverman
Dr. Katja Wildermuth (MDR), Barbara Biemann (NDR)
1945 bei der Befreiung der ersten Konzentrationslager sind Kameramänner der Alliierten angehalten, die Vorgänge systematisch zu dokumentieren – das Unfassbare festzuhalten. Dabei entstehen so schonungslose und bestürzende Bilder, dass wahrscheinlich vieles, was man in diesem Zusammenhang gesehen hat, in den Schatten gestellt wird. Namhafte Filmemacher wie Sidney Bernstein, Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder und Stewart McAllister produzieren auf Basis dieses Materials einen Dokumentarfilm mit dem bezeichnenden Untertitel „No German can say he didn‘t know“.
Politische Bestrebungen zum Wiederaufbau Deutschlands verhindern die Veröffentlichung – Filmrollen verschwinden oder landen in Archiven, wo sie jahrzehntelang nicht angerührt werden. Nun gelang es dem Imperial War Museum, den Film fast vollständig zu rekonstruieren. Mithilfe von Zeitzeugen wird in „Night Will Fall“ nicht nur die Geschichte dieser Dokumentation, sondern auch die eines der dunkelsten Kapitel des 20. Jahrhunderts in eindringlicher Weise widergespiegelt.
Animadok 2014
Princess Issues Jaha Browne, Natalie Hobbs

Eine klassische Prinzessinnengeschichte, die die Aussagen junger Mädchen über die Probleme, die sie hätten, wenn sie Prinzessin werden müssten, miteinander verwebt.

UK

UK
2013

Princess Issues

Animadok
UK
2013
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jaha Browne, Natalie Hobbs
Jaha Browne, Natalie Hobbs
Jaha Browne
Jaha Browne
Natalie Hobbs
Jaha Browne, Natalie Hobbs
Jaha Browne, Natalie Hobbs
Eine klassische Prinzessinnengeschichte, die die Aussagen junger Mädchen über die Probleme, die sie hätten, wenn sie Prinzessin werden müssten, miteinander verwebt. Würden sie überhaupt wollen? Und wie würden sie ihr Land im Krieg führen? Ihre Antworten sind so überraschend wie amüsant.

T's World: The Over-identification of Terry Thompson

Animadok
Frankreich,
UK,
USA
2014
29 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ramon Bloomberg
Ramon Bloomberg
Ramon Bloomberg
Stark Haze
József Szimon, Balázs Őrley
Am 18. Oktober 2011 erhält der Sheriff von Zanesville in Ohio einen aufgeregten Anruf: Die Tiere, die der Sonderling Terry Thompson völlig legal auf seiner Ranch hält, würden durch das County streifen. Alarm! Ein schwer bewaffneter Polizeitross tötet in jener Nacht über 56 Bären, Tiger, Wölfe, Leoparden und Löwen. Thompson hatte die Käfige geöffnet, sich erschossen und den Tieren seinen Körper als Nahrung angeboten. So weit, so gut, so amerikanisch.
Das bizarre Geschehen verwandelt der britische Medienkünstler Ramon Bloomberg in eine Erzählung Brecht’scher Prägung. Dessen Lehrstück „Der Jasager“, das überlieferten Brauch und formalisiertes Gesetz thematisiert, verbindet Bloomberg mit der anarchistischen Freiheitslogik der amerikanischen Siedlermentalität, die jede Staatlichkeit als Einschränkung individueller Freiheitsrechte bekämpft: Ich bin der Herr über meine Tiere, mein Land, mein Haus, meine Familie. Basta!
Bloomberg übersetzt episches Theater in die Sprache des Films zu Zeiten der Play-Station-Spiele. Realaufnahmen wechseln mit Bildern der Videokamera aus Streifenwagen, Google-Earth-Data-Mining-Sequenzen und computeranimierten Reenactments. Dazu hören wir Protokolle und Aussagen der Beteiligten sowie einen Kommentar in Form des (antiken) Chors, der Stimme des Gesetzes, des Nachbarn und des Tiers. Nur Terry Thompson hören wir nicht. So bleibt sein Motiv ein großes Geheimnis.

Matthias Heeder



Lobende Erwähnung im Internationalen Wettbewerb Animationsfilm 2014

Internationales Programm 2014
The Auction House: A Tale of Two Brothers Edward Owles

Eine Familienbude in Kalkutta, gemütlich geleitet von Little Boss Arshad. Bis der große Bruder aus London europäische Effizienz einführen will. Culture-Clash-Komödie auf indisch.

The Auction House: A Tale of Two Brothers

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2014
85 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Giovanna Stopponi
Edward Owles
Harry Lightfoot
Emiliano Battista
Gernot Fuhrmann
Das ist schon hart. Vierzig Jahre den Betrieb in Kalkutta am Laufen gehalten, während der Bruder in London ein hübsches Leben hatte – und dann das: der Ältere kehrt zurück und übernimmt die Geschäfte! Vom Großvater gegründet, ist das Auktionshaus „Russell Exchange“ schwer in die Jahre gekommen. Profit hat „Little Boss“ Arshad schon lange nicht mehr gemacht. Das soll sich nach dem Willen von Anwar ändern. Mission: den Laden ins 21. Jahrhundert führen. Damit ist der Rahmen gesteckt für eine Geschichte, in der Geschäftskonzepte und Lebensentwürfe heftig aufeinanderprallen. Nach den Erfahrungen von „Little Boss“ kann jedes Ding verkauft werden. „Falsch! Sage das niemals wieder! Von der Reißzwecke bis zum Auto – ja! Socken und Schuhe – nein!“ Und dann, vernichtend: „Wir in Europa …“ Was unter anderen Vorzeichen zu einer veritablen Krise führen könnte, löst der indisch-islamische Händlerclan nach den Regeln familiärer Hierarchien. Der Jüngere fügt sich, so wie damals, als der Vater den Bruder nach London schickte und für ihn, ungefragt und ungewollt, nur der Familienbetrieb blieb. „Wenn ich könnte, wie ich wollte!“ Diesen Stoßseufzer hören wir öfter – und doch: Die Geschäfte laufen besser als je zuvor. So finden die beiden ihren Frieden miteinander, dessen Grundlage, wie kann es anders sein, ein florierendes „Russell Exchange“ ist, das ihre Kinder einmal übernehmen werden. Hoffentlich.
Matthias Heeder

The Bigger Picture

Animationsfilm
UK
2014
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Chris Hees
Daisy Jacobs
Huw Bunford
Max Williams
Vera Simmonds
Christopher Wilder, Daisy Jacobs
Daisy Jacobs, Jennifer Majka
Jonas Jensen
In realer Größe auf die Wand gemalt, wird hier von zwei Brüdern erzählt, die sich um ihre pflegebedürftige Mutter kümmern. Diese Aufgabe hat Konsequenzen für ihr eigenes Leben und ihre Beziehung.



Ausgezeichnet mit der Silbernen Taube im Internationalen Wettbewerb Animationsfilm 2014

Through the Hawthorn

Animationsfilm
UK
2014
9 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Anna Benner, Dictynna Hood
Anna Benner, Pia Borg, Gemma Burditt
Jo Ann Kaplan
Dictynna Hood
Jessica Marlowe, Ben Baird
Sam nimmt seine Medikamente nicht mehr – er glaubt immer noch nicht, dass er krank ist. Seine Mutter macht sich Sorgen. Sein Arzt meint, Sam sollte ein anderes Medikament nehmen. Drei Figuren, drei Perspektiven, drei Regisseure: ein Triptychon, das drei sehr unterschiedliche Wahrnehmungen der Realität untersucht.
Animadok 2014
Unsinkable Sophie Tran

Die Filmemacherin interviewt verschiedene Mitglieder ihrer Familie über ihre gefährliche und abenteuerliche Flucht als Boat People von Vietnam nach Großbritannien.

UK

UK
2014

Unsinkable

Animadok
UK
2014
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sophie Tran
Sophie Tran
Yueh-Chieh Huang
Sophie Tran
Sophie Tran
Sophie Tran
Sophie Tran
Soundbible.com
Die Filmemacherin interviewt verschiedene Mitglieder ihrer Familie über ihre gefährliche und abenteuerliche Flucht als Boat People von Vietnam nach Großbritannien.

Walking Under Water

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Polen,
UK
2014
77 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Moniką Braid, Stefan Kloos
Elizą Kubarską
Michał Jacaszek
Piotr Rosołowski, Lisa Strohmayer
Bartosz Pietras
Dieser Film handelt von einem Märchen, das einmal wahr gewesen ist. Auf Borneo lebte vor nicht allzu langer Zeit ein besonderer Stamm, die Badjao, die mehr im und unter Wasser wohnten als an Land. Sie besaßen keine Pässe und kein Geld, aber dafür Fähigkeiten, die einen staunen lassen. Von frühester Kindheit an lernen sie, zu tauchen und lange ohne Atmung auszukommen. Sie bewegen sich zwischen den Fischschwärmen und Korallenriffen wie Spaziergänger, die hier zu Hause sind. Alexan, der letzte seiner Art, unterrichtet den 10-jährigen Sulu in dieser Kunst des Fischfangs, die gänzlich ohne moderne Gerätschaften auskommt. Die Filmemacherin Elizą Kubarską lässt keinen Zweifel an ihrer Faszination: in elaborierten Bildern, jenseits aller Fernsehdokus, taucht sie in eine idyllische und malerische Unterwasserwelt ein. Sie erinnern uns daran, woher wir eigentlich kommen. In genauso unmissverständlichen Szenen wiederum zeigt die Regisseurin auf, wohin wir steuern: Mit den Nomaden, die nun als Staatenlose gelten, verschwinden unwiderruflich ein tradiertes Wissen und jahrhundertealte Rituale. Den Rest erledigen die Fischfangflotten und der Tourismus.
Cornelia Klauß