Film Archive

Metaphor or Sadness Inside Out

Documentary Film
Portugal,
UK
2013
32 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Lucie Troger
Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Mike Wyeld
A young man from Lisbon writes to his sister, a filmmaker living in London. He confesses that, nine years after their mother died, he feels an emptiness in his life. Her answer is a film intended to fill that gap. The brother describes his nostalgia for a time when he wasn’t even born yet, a past that seems lost. It is their mother’s past, the time of the Portuguese revolution, which reconciled a country that was internally fractured. Today, that feeling of freedom is hard to grasp for a post-revolutionary generation living through the euro crisis. Can you film yourself backwards in time?
The grainy Super 8 material bridges the gap between the present and the past. The camera visits the places of three generations of a family that have felt halved. The sea, which the grandfather once called a metaphor for the world, is one of them. The lyrical dialogue between brother and sister keeps returning to that feeling of halfness, while the visual level is a search for the missing half, not without a subtle irony that offsets the melancholy undertone. After all, a metaphor will be a metaphor. A self-reflexive, poetic picture puzzle in which the personal always transcends itself.
Lars Meyer

T's World: The Over-identification of Terry Thompson

Animadoc
France,
UK,
USA
2014
29 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ramon Bloomberg
Ramon Bloomberg
Ramon Bloomberg
Stark Haze
József Szimon, Balázs Őrley
On 18th October, 2011, the sheriff of Zanesville, Ohio, got an agitated phone call: the animals that eccentric Terry Thompson was legally keeping on his ranch were roaming the county. Red alert! That night, a heavily armed police force killed more than 56 bears, tigers, wolves, leopards and lions. Thompson had opened the cages, shot himself and offered his body as food to the animals. So far, so good, so American.
British media artist Ramon Bloomberg has turned this bizarre incident into a Brechtian story. Bloomberg combines Brecht’s play “The Yes Sayer” about traditional custom and formalised law with the American settler’s anarchical logic of freedom which fights every kind of state influence as an infringement on individual freedom: I am the lord of my animals, my land, my house, my family. End of story!
Bloomberg translates epic theatre into the language of film in the age of Play Station games. Real live shots are combined with images from the police car’s video camera, Google Earth data mining sequences and computer animated re-enactments. We hear minutes and statements of everyone involved as well as a comment taking the form of an (antique) chorus, the voice of the law, the neighbour and the animal. The only voice we don’t hear is Terry Thompson’s. His motives remain a big secret.

Matthias Heeder



Honorary Mention in the International Competition Animated Film 2014

Filmarchiv

Metaphor or Sadness Inside Out

Dokumentarfilm
Portugal,
UK
2013
32 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Lucie Troger
Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Catarina Vasconcelos
Mike Wyeld
Ein junger Mann schreibt seiner Schwester, der Filmemacherin, aus Lissabon nach London. Er gesteht ihr, dass er, neun Jahre nach dem Tod der Mutter, eine Leere in seinem Leben fühlt. Sie antwortet ihm mit einem Film, um jene Leerstelle zu füllen. Der Bruder beschreibt seine Sehnsucht nach einer Zeit, in der er noch gar nicht lebte, eine Vergangenheit, die verloren scheint. Es ist die Zeit der Mutter, die Zeit der Revolution in Portugal, die ein innerlich gebrochenes Land wieder mit sich vereinte. Das Gefühl der Freiheit ist heute für die Nachrevolutionsgeneration, mitten in der Eurokrise, schwer greifbar. Kann man sich in der Zeit rückwärts filmen?
Das körnige Super-8-Material schlägt eine Brücke ins Gestern. Die Kamera sucht Orte von drei Familiengenerationen auf, die sich nur noch halb anfühlen. Auch das Meer gehört dazu, von dem der Großvater einst sagte, es sei eine Metapher für die Welt. Immer wieder kommt der lyrische Wortwechsel zwischen Bruder und Schwester auf das Gefühl der Halbheit zurück. Auf der Bildebene wird nach der anderen Hälfte gesucht, durchaus mit einer feinen Ironie, die den melancholischen Grundton aufhebt. Eine Metapher bleibt schließlich eine Metapher. So entsteht ein selbstreflexives, poetisches Suchbild, in dem das Persönliche stets über sich hinausweist.
Lars Meyer

T's World: The Over-identification of Terry Thompson

Animadok
Frankreich,
UK,
USA
2014
29 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ramon Bloomberg
Ramon Bloomberg
Ramon Bloomberg
Stark Haze
József Szimon, Balázs Őrley
Am 18. Oktober 2011 erhält der Sheriff von Zanesville in Ohio einen aufgeregten Anruf: Die Tiere, die der Sonderling Terry Thompson völlig legal auf seiner Ranch hält, würden durch das County streifen. Alarm! Ein schwer bewaffneter Polizeitross tötet in jener Nacht über 56 Bären, Tiger, Wölfe, Leoparden und Löwen. Thompson hatte die Käfige geöffnet, sich erschossen und den Tieren seinen Körper als Nahrung angeboten. So weit, so gut, so amerikanisch.
Das bizarre Geschehen verwandelt der britische Medienkünstler Ramon Bloomberg in eine Erzählung Brecht’scher Prägung. Dessen Lehrstück „Der Jasager“, das überlieferten Brauch und formalisiertes Gesetz thematisiert, verbindet Bloomberg mit der anarchistischen Freiheitslogik der amerikanischen Siedlermentalität, die jede Staatlichkeit als Einschränkung individueller Freiheitsrechte bekämpft: Ich bin der Herr über meine Tiere, mein Land, mein Haus, meine Familie. Basta!
Bloomberg übersetzt episches Theater in die Sprache des Films zu Zeiten der Play-Station-Spiele. Realaufnahmen wechseln mit Bildern der Videokamera aus Streifenwagen, Google-Earth-Data-Mining-Sequenzen und computeranimierten Reenactments. Dazu hören wir Protokolle und Aussagen der Beteiligten sowie einen Kommentar in Form des (antiken) Chors, der Stimme des Gesetzes, des Nachbarn und des Tiers. Nur Terry Thompson hören wir nicht. So bleibt sein Motiv ein großes Geheimnis.

Matthias Heeder



Lobende Erwähnung im Internationalen Wettbewerb Animationsfilm 2014