Film Archive

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Katie's Story

Animadoc
UK
2015
3 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
The multiple award winning series “Animated Minds”, launched in 2003, visualises the interior worlds of mentally disordered people. The new instalment shows women who suffered from postnatal depression after the birth of their children. Katie talks of her feelings of guilt and powerlessness in the face of this new situation in her life. The animation makes her feelings and thoughts visible.

Annegret Richter
International Competition Animadoc (2015-2017) 2015
Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story Dan Binns

It’s a little-known fact that postnatal depression affects not only women who find no access to their child and new life after birth. The disorder also radically changes their partners’ and families’ lives.

UK

UK
2015

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story

Animadoc
UK
2015
3 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
It’s a little-known fact that postnatal depression affects not only women who find no access to their child and new life after birth. The disorder also radically changes their partners’ and families’ lives. This episode of “Animated Minds” shows how Mike experiences the situation as a man and father.

Annegret Richter
Filmpreis Leipziger Ring 2015
Black Sheep Christian Cerami

Two brothers from a suburb in Northern England come under the influence of the right-wing “English Defence League”, known for its vociferous anti-Islam stance.

Black Sheep

Documentary Film
UK
2015
16 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alex Sedgley
Christian Cerami
Simon Plunkett
Samuel Haskell
Vicky Harris

Two brothers from a suburb in Northern England come under the influence of the right-wing “English Defence League”, known for its vociferous anti-Islam stance. What starts as curiosity becomes a trip into the world of tough boys with outspoken attitudes for the older one and a nightmare for the 13-year-old Jack. With a feature-film-like camera the director captures the battle of wills between more than two different characters with impressive precision. Cornelia Klauß


Brave New Old

Animated Film
UK
2012
10 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Adam Wells
Adam Wells
Luke Davoll
Adam Wells
Detailing the daily trails of a man, his wife, and a film noir private detective is not an unusual accessory to a film, but the mechanical storytellings used in this case change everything.
International Programme 2017
Dying Breed Mick Catmull

A year on Ivan’s, Rosemary’s and Geoffrey’s farms – a filmic love poem to an endangered traditional rural lifestyle in Cornwall which glorifies nothing.

Dying Breed

Documentary Film
UK
2017
85 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Mick Catmull
Mick Catmull
Neil Reed
Mick Catmull
Mike Bow
Mick Catmull
Agriculture is going through a sea change: more than a third of British farms were closed down in the past ten years, sold to land speculators, agricultural corporations or even London bankers who can afford a little agricultural romanticism but don’t need it to earn a living. The family farm which has shaped village life and landscapes for centuries looks more and more like a discontinued model. That applies not only to remote western Cornwall, where the documentary filmmaker Mick Catmull followed three long-established farmers, Ivan, Rosemary and Geoffrey, for a year. With precise observations of the daily routines of animal husbandry and often trenchant conversations full of British humour this debut film successfully portrays and documents a lifestyle and a breed of people. The result is also something like a love poem to a traditional rural lifestyle that is threatened by extinction all over the world – completely without glorification or “Country Life” romanticism.

Frederik Lang


Nominated for Healthy Workplaces Film Award
International Programme 2013
Grasp the Nettle Dean Puckett

An activists’ camp on London’s Parliament Square, caught between political struggle, plodding grassroots democracy, dubious allies, and police violence. An insider’s perspective on “Occupy”.

Grasp the Nettle

Documentary Film
UK
2013
89 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Daniel Erlacher
Dean Puckett
Leo Leigh, Lee Bruce, Duncan Sangster
Dean Puckett
Paco Sweetman
Dean Puckett, Can Aniker
Jeet Thakrar
It’s always easy to make fun of green or protest movements if your own laziness keeps you from taking action against wrongs. That’s how the filmmaker Dean Puckett feels, too: seen from outside his own inertness is only bearable from a certain ironic distance. So he gives up his life, flat, and job to really learn how these groups work.
In the aftermath of the 2008 financial crisis, a few people in London team up to do more than call for a different, more sustainable life in the streets. In peaceful collaboration with the local residents, they found a kind of ecological village on a piece of disused land in West London. It’s a utopia with homemade tents, vegetable plots, and evenings around the campfire. When they have to give way to the excavators that come to prepare the ground for new apartment blocks, this ragtag band of activists, dropouts tired of civilisation, homeless people, and lunatics moves to the city centre to raise their tents on Parliament Square. All of a sudden, they are faced not only with the challenge of getting their own chaos under control but also with the humourless authority of the state.
Puckett has made a nuanced portrait of social experiments in times of crises, when formerly safe structures erode and the need for more freedom erupts in urban spaces.

Lina Dinkla

I’m OK

Animated Film
Canada,
UK
2018
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Abigail Addison (Animate Projects), Elizabeth Hobbs, Jelena Popović (National Film Board of Canada)
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Sacha Ratcliffe
Galloping at breakneck speed through the tempestuous delirium of Oskar Kokoschka. After his failed amour fou with Alma Mahler he plunges into war as a dragoon in 1915, is wounded and comes to terms with things by creating the expressionist drama “Orpheus and Eurydice.” Elizabeth Hobbs takes up the dynamic quality of Kokoschka’s drawings and the turmoil of his emotional ecstasy. Restless ink strokes are entwined in a powerful and brightly coloured mesh of short-lived scenes of passion and suffering.

André Eckardt
International Programme 2015
If the Cuckoo Don’t Crow Steve Kirby

94-year-old Doris calls the BBC to report a great storm because she doesn’t hear the cuckoo’s call. And she’s right. The weather experts are astonished.

If the Cuckoo Don’t Crow

Animated Film
UK
2015
2 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Steve Kirby
Steve Kirby
Steve Kirby
Nic Pandolfi, Brian from Melton
94-year-old Doris calls the BBC to report a great storm because she doesn’t hear the cuckoo’s call. And she’s right. The weather experts are astonished. Later her son explains how this came about in a (real) radio interview. The interview in itself is already amusing, but the animation gives us a particularly refreshing view of the life of a woman who knows the weather.

Annegret Richter
International Programme 2018
Island of the Hungry Ghosts Gabrielle Brady

The Christmas Island crabs scuttle wherever they want. The asylum seekers interned on the island must stay where they are. A filmic reflection in powerful metaphors about the right to hospitality and forbearance.

Island of the Hungry Ghosts

Documentary Film
Australia,
Germany,
UK
2018
98 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alexander Wadouh
Gabrielle Brady
Aaron Cupples
Michael Latham
Katharina Fiedler
Gabrielle Brady
Leo Dolgan
There are places that make us realise instantly that they don’t need us and never did. They exist even if we don’t look at them. Christmas Island, a tiny 135 square kilometre dot in the Indian Ocean, is such a place. It probably first saw humans in 1643. It’s hard to imagine how amazed the endemic red crabs, which were alone with themselves, the tropical thicket and the snow white sandy beaches until then, must have been at this loud-mouthed guest who declared himself the great “discoverer”! The refugee reception centre on Christmas Island is another such place. Since 2001, the Australian government has detained asylum seekers here to deny them their right to regular admission procedures on the continent. The crabs continue amazed.

We are brought face to face with this amazement in the powerful images, sounds and metaphors of Gabrielle Brady’s cinematic reflection on the right to hospitality and forbearance – poetically condensed, emotionally haunting and politically poignant. First in the shape of trauma therapist Poh Lin, who helps the inmates of the detention camp come to terms with their fate while she herself is struggling to maintain composure. Then as the mythical story of the wandering spirits of the dead, told by the Chinese immigrants. And finally as a sprawling, teeming, unimpressed nature that grows and crawls wherever it pleases.

Sylvia Görke


Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize

International Programme 2014
Monkey Love Experiments Will Anderson, Ainslie Henderson

A little monkey in a laboratory watches the preparations for the moon landing on television and becomes convinced that he was selected for this. Full of anticipation he trains for his big day.

Monkey Love Experiments

Animated Film
UK
2014
8 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cameron Fraser
Will Anderson, Ainslie Henderson
Atzi
Ruan Suess
Neil Jack
Ainslie Henderson, Will Anderson
Ainslie Henderson, Will Anderson
John Cobban
A little monkey in a laboratory watches the preparations for the moon landing on television and becomes convinced that he was selected for this. Full of anticipation he trains for his big day.
International Programme 2013
Nae Pasaran Felipe Bustos Sierra

After the 1973 coup, Scottish workers refused to deliver engines for fighter planes to Chile. The reconstruction of a self-determined act of solidarity.

Nae Pasaran

Documentary Film
UK
2013
13 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rebecca Day
Felipe Bustos Sierra
Julian Schwanitz
Anne Milne
Frederic Plasman
Jack Coghill
What’s the connection between the military dictatorship in Chile and the workers of a Rolls Royce manufacturing plant in Scotland? Here are the known facts: when the workers learn after the 1973 coup in Chile that the machine parts they make are used in the Chilean junta’s fighter planes, they refuse to deliver them. According to later Chilean reports, however, the machines were deployed after all. The workers doubt it. What’s their secret? Director Felipe Bustos Sierra reconstructs the events like a thriller, focusing on three former Scottish workers who meet again at a pre-arranged place. He confronts them with the known facts and uses animated sequences to interpret what happened on the grounds of the factory under cover of night and fog. Combined with archive material from the 1970s, a tongue-in-cheek portrait of a self-determined act of solidarity among workers emerges.

Lars Meyer
International Programme 2015
No Signal Katharina Huber

The violence is planned. Whether as a protest or simply a statement, the manifesto and the stone to throw are ready. Now it’s a matter of waiting, killing time and mentally preparing for the confrontation.

No Signal

Animated Film
UK
2014
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Katharina Huber
Wolf Eyes
Katharina Huber
Marian Mentrup
The violence is planned. Whether as a protest or simply a statement, the manifesto and the stone to throw are ready. Now it’s a matter of waiting, killing time and mentally preparing for the confrontation. Like a warrior. But the fear won’t go away and every sound, every movement reminds you of what may be about to happen.

Annegret Richter
International Programme 2017
On Another Corner Mihaela Popescu

Teddy bears against a fence, children’s photos, coloured balloons, hanging heads, a struggle for composure, grief. It’s both state of emergency and everyday life.

On Another Corner

Documentary Film
UK
2017
17 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Mihaela Popescu, Marcus Davis
Mihaela Popescu
Mihaela Popescu
Mihaela Popescu
Marcus Davis
Teddy bears against a fence, children’s photos, coloured balloons, hanging heads, a struggle for composure, grief. People touch each other’s shoulders with sympathy, press photographers stand around rather apathetically to be joined later by television crews with their cameras and microphones. A predominantly African-American neighbourhood in Chicago, where a seven-year-old boy was shot in a revenge mission against his father in the turmoil of a gang war. It’s both state of emergency and everyday life.

Frederik Lang
International Programme 2019
Playhouse Adda Elling

A lesbian relationship and the playful exploration of the dynamics between the presentation and representation of female role patterns on film and in reality.

Playhouse

Documentary Film
UK
2018
25 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Teodora Shaleva
Adda Elling
Thomas Ross Fitzsimons
Alana Mejia Gonzalez
Stella Heath Keir
Ines Adriana
“So now we’re gonna play a game. – Is it a game? – It depends on how you look at it …” Two lovers in a secluded holiday home. Over a summer dinner, Line and Rosie discuss issues of power and the representation of women and female sexuality on film. A game in front of and behind the camera begins, in the course of which they change roles more and more seamlessly. Who creates which level of reality and who bears responsibility for how a scene is perceived?

Luc-Carolin Ziemann
International Programme 2015
Territory Eleanor Mortimer

Gibraltar seen from the monkeys’ point of view. Apparently amazed, they watch the ceaseless activities of their human cohabitants but refuse to be driven away by construction noises or blow pipes.

Territory

Documentary Film
UK
2015
17 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Eleanor Mortimer, Jacob Thomas
Eleanor Mortimer
Fraya Thomsen
Eleanor Mortimer
Nina Rac
Florentin Tudor
Gibraltar seen from the monkeys’ point of view. Apparently amazed, they watch the ceaseless activities of their human cohabitants but refuse to be driven away by construction noises or blow pipes. With no respect for the British monarchy they swing from lanterns and slide down rain pipes. Intelligent montage and careful sound design reveal the double occupation of the rock as well as the double meaning of the term “colony”. Who actually owns this territory?

Lars Meyer
International Programme 2014
The Auction House: A Tale of Two Brothers Edward Owles

A family business in Kolkata, managed comfortably by Little Boss Arshad. Until his big brother from London wants to introduce European efficiency. Culture clash comedy, Indian style.

The Auction House: A Tale of Two Brothers

Documentary Film
UK
2014
85 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Giovanna Stopponi
Edward Owles
Harry Lightfoot
Emiliano Battista
Gernot Fuhrmann
It’s tough. Keeping the business afloat in Kolkata for 40 years while one’s brother is leading the good life in London, and now this: the elder brother returns and takes over! Founded by their grandfather, the “Russell Exchange” auction house has aged quite a bit. It’s a long time since “Little Boss” Arshad made a profit. But that is to change now if Anwar has his will. The mission: taking the company into the 21st century. This sets the framework of a story where business and life plans clash. In “Little Boss’s” experience, everything can be sold. “Wrong! Don’t ever say that again! From tack to car – yes! Socks and shoes – no!” and then the crushing “We in Europe …” What under different conditions could lead to a veritable crisis is solved by this Indian-Islamic traders’ clan according to the rules of family hierarchy. The younger brother obeys, like he did when his father sent the brother to London and he was left – unasked for and unwanted – with the family business. “If I could do what I wanted!” We hear this sigh quite often – and yet: business is better than ever. So the two make peace with each other, on the basis of – how could it be otherwise – a flourishing “Russell Exchange” that their children will take over one day. Hopefully.
Matthias Heeder

Filmarchiv

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Katie's Story

Animadok
UK
2015
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
Lucy Izzard
Alexander Parsons
Die vielfach preisgekrönte Reihe „Animated Minds“ visualisiert seit 2003 die Innenwelten psychisch erkrankter Menschen. In den neuen Folgen kommen Frauen zu Wort, die nach der Geburt ihres Kindes unter postnataler Depression litten. Katie erzählt von ihren Schuldgefühlen und der Ohnmacht angesichts der neuen Lebenssituation. Die Animation lässt ihre Gefühle und Gedanken für uns sichtbar werden.

Annegret Richter
Internationaler Wettbewerb Animadok (2015-2017) 2015
Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story Dan Binns

Was weniger bekannt ist: Postnatale Depression betrifft nicht nur Frauen, die nach der Geburt keinen Zugang zu ihrem Kind und ihrem neuen Leben finden. Die Krankheit zieht auch einschneidende Veränderungen für den Partner und die Familie nach sich.

UK

UK
2015

Animated Minds: Stories of Post-Natal Depression – Mike's Story

Animadok
UK
2015
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy Glynne
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
Dan Binns
Alexander Parsons
Was weniger bekannt ist: Postnatale Depression betrifft nicht nur Frauen, die nach der Geburt keinen Zugang zu ihrem Kind und ihrem neuen Leben finden. Die Krankheit zieht auch einschneidende Veränderungen für den Partner und die Familie nach sich. Hier zeigt „Animated Minds“, wie Mike als Mann und Vater die Situation erlebt.

Annegret Richter
Filmpreis Leipziger Ring 2015
Black Sheep Christian Cerami

Zwei Brüder aus einer Suburb in Nordengland geraten unter den Einfluss der rechtsgerichteten „English Defence League“, die sich vor allem durch ihren lautstarken Anti-Islamismus-Kurs hervortut.

Black Sheep

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2015
16 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alex Sedgley
Christian Cerami
Simon Plunkett
Samuel Haskell
Vicky Harris
Zwei Brüder aus einer Suburb in Nordengland geraten unter den Einfluss der rechtsgerichteten „English Defence League“, die sich vor allem durch ihren lautstarken Anti-Islamismus-Kurs hervortut. Was mit Neugier beginnt, wird für den Älteren zum Trip in die Welt der harten Jungs mit klarer Gesinnung, für den erst 13-jährigen Jack aber zum Albtraum. Mit einer am Spielfilm geschulten Kamera fängt der Regisseur mit beeindruckender Präzision das Kräftemessen nicht nur zweier ungleicher Charaktere ein.

Cornelia Klauß

Brave New Old

Animationsfilm
UK
2012
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Adam Wells
Adam Wells
Luke Davoll
Adam Wells
Den Alltagsspuren eines Mannes, seiner Frau und eines Film noir-Privatdetektivs zu folgen ist nicht ungewöhnlich für einen Film, aber die mechanische Erzählweise verändert hier alles.
Internationales Programm 2017
Dying Breed Mick Catmull

Ein Jahr auf den Bauernhöfen von Ivan, Rosemary und Geoffrey – ein gefilmtes Liebesgedicht an das vom Aussterben bedrohte traditionelle Landleben in Cornwall, jenseits jeglicher Verklärung.

Dying Breed

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2017
85 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Mick Catmull
Mick Catmull
Neil Reed
Mick Catmull
Mike Bow
Mick Catmull
Landwirtschaft im Umbruch: Mehr als ein Drittel der britischen Bauernhöfe wurde in den letzten zehn Jahren abgewickelt, an Landspekulanten, Agrarunternehmen oder auch Londoner Banker verkauft, die sich ein wenig Bauernhofromantik leisten können, ohne damit Geld verdienen zu müssen. Die seit Jahrhunderten das dörfliche Leben und die Landschaft prägenden Familienfarmen wirken zunehmend wie ein Auslaufmodell. Und das gilt sicher nicht nur für das abgelegene westliche Cornwall, wo Dokumentarfilmer Mick Catmull über einen Zeitraum von einem Jahr den drei alteingesessenen Farmern Ivan, Rosemary und Geoffrey durch ihren Alltag folgt. Mit präziser Beobachtung der täglichen Abläufe in der Tierhaltung und in oftmals pointierten und englischhumorigen Gesprächen gelingt in diesem Debütfilm das Porträt und Dokument eines Lebensstils wie eines Menschenschlags. Entstanden ist dabei auch so etwas wie ein Liebesgedicht an das in der ganzen westlichen Welt vom Aussterben bedrohte traditionelle Landleben – jenseits jeglicher Verklärung oder „Landlust“-Romantik.

Frederik Lang


Nominiert für Healthy Workplaces Film Award
Internationales Programm 2013
Grasp the Nettle Dean Puckett

Ein Aktivistencamp auf dem Londoner Parliament Square zwischen politischem Kampf, mühsamer Basisdemokratie, zweifelhaften Verbündeten und Polizeigewalt. „Occupy“ aus der Insiderperspektive.

Grasp the Nettle

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2013
89 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Daniel Erlacher
Dean Puckett
Leo Leigh, Lee Bruce, Duncan Sangster
Dean Puckett
Paco Sweetman
Dean Puckett, Can Aniker
Jeet Thakrar
Es ist immer das Einfachste, sich über Öko- und Protestbewegungen lustig zu machen, wenn einen die eigene Bequemlichkeit davon abhält, gegen Missstände vorzugehen. So geht es auch dem Filmemacher Dean Puckett: Von außen lässt sich das eigene Nichtstun nur mit einer gewissen ironischen Distanz aushalten. Also gibt er sein bisheriges Leben auf, kündigt Wohnung und Job, um wirklich zu erfahren, wie diese Gruppen funktionieren.
In den Nachwehen der Finanzkrise von 2008 schließen sich auch in London Menschen zusammen, die für ein anderes, nachhaltigeres Leben nicht nur auf die Straße gehen wollen. Auf einer Brachfläche im Westen der Stadt gründen sie in friedlichem Miteinander mit den Anwohnern eine Art Ökodorf, ein Utopia mit selbstgebauten Zelten, Gemüseackern und gemeinsamen Abenden am Lagerfeuer. Als sie eines Tages den Baggern weichen müssen, die den Boden für neue Apartmenthäuser bereiten, zieht die bunte Mischung aus Aktivisten, zivilisationsmüden Aussteigern, Obdachlosen und Durchgeknallten ins Zentrum und schlägt am Parliament Square ihre Zelte auf. Auf einmal stehen sie nicht nur vor der Herausforderung, ihr eigenes Chaos unter Kontrolle zu bekommen, sondern haben es nun auch mit der spaßfreien Staatsautorität zu tun.
Puckett gelingt ein differenziertes Porträt sozialer Experimente in Krisenzeiten, in denen vormals sichere Strukturen erodieren und sich ein Bedürfnis nach mehr Freiheit im städtischen Raum Bahn bricht.

Lina Dinkla

I’m OK

Animationsfilm
Kanada,
UK
2018
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Abigail Addison (Animate Projects), Elizabeth Hobbs, Jelena Popović (National Film Board of Canada)
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Sacha Ratcliffe
Im rasanten Galopp durch das stürmische Delirium von Oskar Kokoschka. Nach gescheiterter Amour fou mit Alma Mahler stürzt er sich 1915 als Dragoner in den Krieg, wird verletzt und arbeitet auf: das expressionistische Drama „Orpheus und Eurydike“ entsteht. Elizabeth Hobbs nimmt die Dynamik von Kokoschkas Zeichnungen und das Bewegte seines emotionalen Rausches auf. Kraftvoll und in leuchtenden Farben verschlingen sich unruhige Tuschestriche zu kurzlebigen Szenen über Leidenschaft und Leiden.

André Eckardt
Internationales Programm 2015
If the Cuckoo Don’t Crow Steve Kirby

Weil der Kuckuck nicht zu hören ist, ruft die 94-jährige Doris bei der BBC an, um einen großen Sturm zu melden. Und sie liegt richtig. Die Wetterexperten sind überrascht.

If the Cuckoo Don’t Crow

Animationsfilm
UK
2015
2 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Steve Kirby
Steve Kirby
Steve Kirby
Nic Pandolfi, Brian from Melton
Weil der Kuckuck nicht zu hören ist, ruft die 94-jährige Doris bei der BBC an, um einen großen Sturm zu melden. Und sie liegt richtig. Die Wetterexperten sind überrascht. Einige Zeit später erklärt ihr Sohn in einem (realen) Radiointerview, wie es dazu kam. Das Interview allein ist schon amüsant, aber die Animation gibt einen ganz besonders erquickenden Einblick in das Leben der Frau, die das Wetter versteht.

Annegret Richter

Island of the Hungry Ghosts

Dokumentarfilm
Australien,
Deutschland,
UK
2018
98 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alexander Wadouh
Gabrielle Brady
Aaron Cupples
Michael Latham
Katharina Fiedler
Gabrielle Brady
Leo Dolgan
Es gibt Orte, die einem unmittelbar bewusst machen, dass sie uns nicht brauchen, nie gebraucht haben. Sie existieren, auch wenn sie von uns nicht angeschaut werden. Die Weihnachtsinsel, ein 135 Quadratkilometer winziger Flecken im Indischen Ozean, ist so ein Ort. Sie erblickte ihren ersten Menschen wohl 1643. Kaum auszudenken, wie die endemischen roten Krabben, die bis dahin allein mit sich, dem tropischen Dickicht und den schneeweißen Sandstränden waren, über den sich großmäulig als „Entdecker“ aufspielenden Gast gestaunt haben müssen! Das Flüchtlingsauffanglager auf der Weihnachtsinsel ist noch so ein Ort. Seit 2001 setzt die australische Regierung hier Asylsuchende fest, um ihnen das Recht auf ein reguläres Aufnahmeverfahren auf dem Festland vorzuenthalten. Die Krabben staunen weiter.

In Gabrielle Bradys bild-, ton- und metapherngewaltigem Filmnachdenken über Gastrecht und Duldsamkeit begegnen wir diesem Staunen – poetisch verdichtet, emotional eindringlich und politisch geschärft. Zunächst in Gestalt der Trauma-Therapeutin Poh Lin, die Insassen des Internierungslagers dabei hilft, ihr Schicksal zu fassen, während sie selbst um Fassung ringt. Dann als mythische Geschichte von den umherirrenden Geistern der Toten, die sich die chinesischen Einwanderer erzählen. Und schließlich in der wuchernden, wimmelnden, unbeeindruckt daseienden Natur, die wächst und kriecht, wohin sie will.

Sylvia Görke


Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts

Internationales Programm 2014
Monkey Love Experiments Will Anderson, Ainslie Henderson

Ein kleiner Affe in einem Labor sieht die Vorbereitungen für die Mondexpedition im Fernsehen und glaubt, dafür ausgewählt zu sein. Mit großer Vorfreude trainiert er für seinen großen Tag.

Monkey Love Experiments

Animationsfilm
UK
2014
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cameron Fraser
Will Anderson, Ainslie Henderson
Atzi
Ruan Suess
Neil Jack
Ainslie Henderson, Will Anderson
Ainslie Henderson, Will Anderson
John Cobban
Ein kleiner Affe in einem Labor sieht die Vorbereitungen für die Mondexpedition im Fernsehen und glaubt, dafür ausgewählt zu sein. Mit großer Vorfreude trainiert er für seinen großen Tag.
Internationales Programm 2013
Nae Pasaran Felipe Bustos Sierra

Nach dem Putsch 1973 verweigern schottische Arbeiter die Auslieferung von Motoren für Kampfflugzeuge nach Chile. Rekonstruktion eines selbstbestimmten Aktes der Solidarität.

Nae Pasaran

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2013
13 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rebecca Day
Felipe Bustos Sierra
Julian Schwanitz
Anne Milne
Frederic Plasman
Jack Coghill
Was hat die Militärdiktatur in Chile mit den Arbeitern eines Rolls-Royce-Werkes in Schottland zu tun? So viel zu den bekannten Fakten: Als die Werksarbeiter nach dem Putsch in Chile 1973 mitbekommen, dass die von ihnen hergestellten Maschinenteile in Kampfflugzeugen der chilenischen Junta verwendet werden, verweigern sie die Auslieferung. Laut späterer chilenischer Berichte kamen die Maschinen allerdings doch noch zum Einsatz. Die Arbeiter zweifeln daran. Was ist ihr Geheimnis? Regisseur Felipe Bustos Sierra rekonstruiert das Geschehen wie einen Krimi. Ins Zentrum setzt er drei ehemalige schottische Werksarbeiter, die sich an einem arrangierten Ort wiedertreffen. Er konfrontiert sie mit dem bekannten Wissen und interpretiert mittels animierter Passagen, was auf dem Werksgelände bei Nacht und Nebel geschah. Zusammen mit Archivmaterial aus den 1970er Jahren entsteht das schelmische Porträt eines selbstbestimmten Aktes der Solidarität unter Arbeitern.

Lars Meyer
Internationales Programm 2015
No Signal Katharina Huber

Die Gewaltaktion ist geplant. Ob als Protest oder einfach nur als Statement, das Manifest und der Stein zum Werfen liegen schon bereit. Jetzt heißt es warten, die Zeit totschlagen und sich mental auf die Konfrontation vorbereiten.

No Signal

Animationsfilm
UK
2014
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Katharina Huber
Wolf Eyes
Katharina Huber
Marian Mentrup
Die Gewaltaktion ist geplant. Ob als Protest oder einfach nur als Statement, das Manifest und der Stein zum Werfen liegen schon bereit. Jetzt heißt es warten, die Zeit totschlagen und sich mental auf die Konfrontation vorbereiten. Wie ein Krieger. Doch die Angst geht nicht weg und jedes Geräusch, jede Bewegung erinnert an das, was gleich passieren kann.

Annegret Richter
Internationales Programm 2017
On Another Corner Mihaela Popescu

Teddybären an einem Zaun, Kinderfotos, bunte Luftballons, hängende Köpfe, ein Ringen um Fassung, Trauer. Es ist Ausnahmezustand und Alltag zugleich.

On Another Corner

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2017
17 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Mihaela Popescu, Marcus Davis
Mihaela Popescu
Mihaela Popescu
Mihaela Popescu
Marcus Davis
Teddybären an einem Zaun, Kinderfotos, bunte Luftballons, hängende Köpfe, ein Ringen um Fassung, Trauer. Menschen berühren sich mitfühlend an den Schultern, Pressefotografen stehen eher teilnahmslos herum, später kommen die Fernsehteams mit ihren Kameras und Mikrofonen. Ein afroamerikanisch geprägtes Viertel in Chicago, in dem ein Siebenjähriger bei einer Vergeltungsaktion gegen seinen Vater in den Turbulenzen eines Bandenkriegs erschossen wurde. Es ist Ausnahmezustand und Alltag zugleich.

Frederik Lang
Internationales Programm 2019
Playhouse Adda Elling

Eine lesbische Beziehung und die spielerische Erprobung der Dynamik zwischen Präsentation und Repräsentation weiblicher Rollenmuster in Film und Realität.

Playhouse

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2018
25 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Teodora Shaleva
Adda Elling
Thomas Ross Fitzsimons
Alana Mejia Gonzalez
Stella Heath Keir
Ines Adriana
„Jetzt spielen wir also ein Spiel. – Ist es ein Spiel? – Es kommt darauf an, wie man es betrachtet …“ Zwei Liebende in einem abgelegenen Ferienhaus. Beim sommerlichen Dinner diskutieren Line und Rosie über Fragen von Macht und Repräsentation von Frauen und weiblicher Sexualität im Film. Es beginnt ein Spiel vor und hinter der Kamera, in dessen Verlauf beide immer übergangsloser die Rollen wechseln. Wer schafft welche Realitätsebene und wer trägt die Verantwortung dafür, wie eine Szene wahrgenommen wird?

Luc-Carolin Ziemann
Internationales Programm 2015
Territory Eleanor Mortimer

Gibraltar aus Sicht der Affen. Scheinbar verwundert beobachten sie das unermüdliche Treiben ihrer menschlichen Mitbewohner, lassen sich aber weder durch Baulärm noch von Blasrohren in die Flucht schlagen.

Territory

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2015
17 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Eleanor Mortimer, Jacob Thomas
Eleanor Mortimer
Fraya Thomsen
Eleanor Mortimer
Nina Rac
Florentin Tudor
Gibraltar aus Sicht der Affen. Scheinbar verwundert beobachten sie das unermüdliche Treiben ihrer menschlichen Mitbewohner, lassen sich aber weder durch Baulärm noch von Blasrohren in die Flucht schlagen. Ohne Respekt für die britische Krone schaukeln sie an Laternenpfählen und rutschen Regenrinnen hinab. Ein kluger Schnitt und ein sorgfältiges Sounddesign offenbaren die doppelte Besetzung des Felsens sowie die doppelte Bedeutung des Wortes „Kolonie“. Wem gehört das Gebiet hier eigentlich?

Lars Meyer
Internationales Programm 2014
The Auction House: A Tale of Two Brothers Edward Owles

Eine Familienbude in Kalkutta, gemütlich geleitet von Little Boss Arshad. Bis der große Bruder aus London europäische Effizienz einführen will. Culture-Clash-Komödie auf indisch.

The Auction House: A Tale of Two Brothers

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2014
85 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Giovanna Stopponi
Edward Owles
Harry Lightfoot
Emiliano Battista
Gernot Fuhrmann
Das ist schon hart. Vierzig Jahre den Betrieb in Kalkutta am Laufen gehalten, während der Bruder in London ein hübsches Leben hatte – und dann das: der Ältere kehrt zurück und übernimmt die Geschäfte! Vom Großvater gegründet, ist das Auktionshaus „Russell Exchange“ schwer in die Jahre gekommen. Profit hat „Little Boss“ Arshad schon lange nicht mehr gemacht. Das soll sich nach dem Willen von Anwar ändern. Mission: den Laden ins 21. Jahrhundert führen. Damit ist der Rahmen gesteckt für eine Geschichte, in der Geschäftskonzepte und Lebensentwürfe heftig aufeinanderprallen. Nach den Erfahrungen von „Little Boss“ kann jedes Ding verkauft werden. „Falsch! Sage das niemals wieder! Von der Reißzwecke bis zum Auto – ja! Socken und Schuhe – nein!“ Und dann, vernichtend: „Wir in Europa …“ Was unter anderen Vorzeichen zu einer veritablen Krise führen könnte, löst der indisch-islamische Händlerclan nach den Regeln familiärer Hierarchien. Der Jüngere fügt sich, so wie damals, als der Vater den Bruder nach London schickte und für ihn, ungefragt und ungewollt, nur der Familienbetrieb blieb. „Wenn ich könnte, wie ich wollte!“ Diesen Stoßseufzer hören wir öfter – und doch: Die Geschäfte laufen besser als je zuvor. So finden die beiden ihren Frieden miteinander, dessen Grundlage, wie kann es anders sein, ein florierendes „Russell Exchange“ ist, das ihre Kinder einmal übernehmen werden. Hoffentlich.
Matthias Heeder