Film Archive

Jahr

Filmpreis Leipziger Ring
Black Sheep Christian Cerami

Two brothers from a suburb in Northern England come under the influence of the right-wing “English Defence League”, known for its vociferous anti-Islam stance.

Black Sheep

Documentary Film
UK
2015
16 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Alex Sedgley
Christian Cerami
Simon Plunkett
Samuel Haskell
Vicky Harris

Two brothers from a suburb in Northern England come under the influence of the right-wing “English Defence League”, known for its vociferous anti-Islam stance. What starts as curiosity becomes a trip into the world of tough boys with outspoken attitudes for the older one and a nightmare for the 13-year-old Jack. With a feature-film-like camera the director captures the battle of wills between more than two different characters with impressive precision. Cornelia Klauß


International Programme
Grasp the Nettle Dean Puckett

An activists’ camp on London’s Parliament Square, caught between political struggle, plodding grassroots democracy, dubious allies, and police violence. An insider’s perspective on “Occupy”.

Grasp the Nettle

Documentary Film
UK
2013
89 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Daniel Erlacher
Dean Puckett
Leo Leigh, Lee Bruce, Duncan Sangster
Dean Puckett
Paco Sweetman
Dean Puckett, Can Aniker
Jeet Thakrar
It’s always easy to make fun of green or protest movements if your own laziness keeps you from taking action against wrongs. That’s how the filmmaker Dean Puckett feels, too: seen from outside his own inertness is only bearable from a certain ironic distance. So he gives up his life, flat, and job to really learn how these groups work.
In the aftermath of the 2008 financial crisis, a few people in London team up to do more than call for a different, more sustainable life in the streets. In peaceful collaboration with the local residents, they found a kind of ecological village on a piece of disused land in West London. It’s a utopia with homemade tents, vegetable plots, and evenings around the campfire. When they have to give way to the excavators that come to prepare the ground for new apartment blocks, this ragtag band of activists, dropouts tired of civilisation, homeless people, and lunatics moves to the city centre to raise their tents on Parliament Square. All of a sudden, they are faced not only with the challenge of getting their own chaos under control but also with the humourless authority of the state.
Puckett has made a nuanced portrait of social experiments in times of crises, when formerly safe structures erode and the need for more freedom erupts in urban spaces.

Lina Dinkla

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Filmpreis Leipziger Ring 2015
Black Sheep Christian Cerami

Zwei Brüder aus einer Suburb in Nordengland geraten unter den Einfluss der rechtsgerichteten „English Defence League“, die sich vor allem durch ihren lautstarken Anti-Islamismus-Kurs hervortut.

Black Sheep

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2015
16 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alex Sedgley
Christian Cerami
Simon Plunkett
Samuel Haskell
Vicky Harris
Zwei Brüder aus einer Suburb in Nordengland geraten unter den Einfluss der rechtsgerichteten „English Defence League“, die sich vor allem durch ihren lautstarken Anti-Islamismus-Kurs hervortut. Was mit Neugier beginnt, wird für den Älteren zum Trip in die Welt der harten Jungs mit klarer Gesinnung, für den erst 13-jährigen Jack aber zum Albtraum. Mit einer am Spielfilm geschulten Kamera fängt der Regisseur mit beeindruckender Präzision das Kräftemessen nicht nur zweier ungleicher Charaktere ein.

Cornelia Klauß
Internationales Programm 2013
Grasp the Nettle Dean Puckett

Ein Aktivistencamp auf dem Londoner Parliament Square zwischen politischem Kampf, mühsamer Basisdemokratie, zweifelhaften Verbündeten und Polizeigewalt. „Occupy“ aus der Insiderperspektive.

Grasp the Nettle

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2013
89 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Daniel Erlacher
Dean Puckett
Leo Leigh, Lee Bruce, Duncan Sangster
Dean Puckett
Paco Sweetman
Dean Puckett, Can Aniker
Jeet Thakrar
Es ist immer das Einfachste, sich über Öko- und Protestbewegungen lustig zu machen, wenn einen die eigene Bequemlichkeit davon abhält, gegen Missstände vorzugehen. So geht es auch dem Filmemacher Dean Puckett: Von außen lässt sich das eigene Nichtstun nur mit einer gewissen ironischen Distanz aushalten. Also gibt er sein bisheriges Leben auf, kündigt Wohnung und Job, um wirklich zu erfahren, wie diese Gruppen funktionieren.
In den Nachwehen der Finanzkrise von 2008 schließen sich auch in London Menschen zusammen, die für ein anderes, nachhaltigeres Leben nicht nur auf die Straße gehen wollen. Auf einer Brachfläche im Westen der Stadt gründen sie in friedlichem Miteinander mit den Anwohnern eine Art Ökodorf, ein Utopia mit selbstgebauten Zelten, Gemüseackern und gemeinsamen Abenden am Lagerfeuer. Als sie eines Tages den Baggern weichen müssen, die den Boden für neue Apartmenthäuser bereiten, zieht die bunte Mischung aus Aktivisten, zivilisationsmüden Aussteigern, Obdachlosen und Durchgeknallten ins Zentrum und schlägt am Parliament Square ihre Zelte auf. Auf einmal stehen sie nicht nur vor der Herausforderung, ihr eigenes Chaos unter Kontrolle zu bekommen, sondern haben es nun auch mit der spaßfreien Staatsautorität zu tun.
Puckett gelingt ein differenziertes Porträt sozialer Experimente in Krisenzeiten, in denen vormals sichere Strukturen erodieren und sich ein Bedürfnis nach mehr Freiheit im städtischen Raum Bahn bricht.

Lina Dinkla