Film Archive

Countries (Film Archive)

149th and Grand Concourse

Animadoc
USA
2016
3 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy London
Andy London, Carolyn London
Terri Ridout, Andy London
Andy London, Terri Ridout, Kay Xia
Terri Ridout, Andy London
Quinten Diego
The subway station is going crazy. The call box wants to bring about world peace like the Dalai Lama, the construction area light is heartbroken and the newspaper vending machines belt out a hit song from the eighties. A street filled with rhythm and passion.

Kim Busch
Homage Shelly Silver 2014
37 Stories About Leaving Home Shelly Silver

An intimate portrait of a group of Japanese women between the ages of 15 and 82. They talk about their lives, what separates and unites daughters, mothers and grandmothers.

37 Stories About Leaving Home

Documentary Film
USA
1996
52 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Shelly Silver
Lefdup & Lefdup
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver, Daiho Tsuruoko
Shelly Silver
Bill Seery, Mercer Street Sound
An intimate portrait of a group of Japanese women between the ages of 15 and 82. They talk about their lives, what separates and unites daughters, mothers and grandmothers, and how each of them at different times experienced the act of stepping out into the world and society. A complex web of childhood memories, banalities and a magical and cruel Japanese folk tale about a mother’s search for her daughter, who was abducted by a monster on the eve of her wedding.
Ralph Eue
Homage Shelly Silver 2014
5 Lessons and 9 Questions About Chinatown Shelly Silver

“You live somewhere, walk down the same street fifty, a hundred, ten thousand times, each time taking in fragments, but never fully registering THE PLACE ..."

5 Lessons and 9 Questions About Chinatown

Documentary Film
USA
2009
10 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Karin Chien
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Ian Stynes, Great City Productions
“You live somewhere, walk down the same street fifty, a hundred, ten thousand times, each time taking in fragments, but never fully registering THE PLACE. Years, decades go by and you continue, unseeing, possibly unseen.
A building comes down, and before the next one is up you ask yourself, 'What used to be there?' You are only vaguely aware of the district's shifting patterns and the sense that, since the 19th century, wave after wave of inhabitants have moved through and transformed these alleyways, tenements, stoops and shops.
10 square blocks, past, present, future, time, light, movement, immigration, exclusion, gentrification, racism, history, China, America, 3 languages, 13 voices, 152 years, 17,820 frames, 9 minutes, 54 seconds, 9 questions, 5 lessons. Chinatown.” (Shelly Silver)
International Programme 2017
95 and 6 to Go Kimi Takesue

Looking for the title of a script and finding a grandpa. A home movie style, warmhearted and humorous look: at the grandfather, the family history and the ancestors’ landscapes.

95 and 6 to Go

Documentary Film
USA
2016
85 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Kimi Takesue, Richard Beenen
Kimi Takesue
Paul Brill
Kimi Takesue
Kimi Takesue
Jeff Seelye
The filmmaker Kimi Takesue and her widowed grandfather Tom have big plans: first of all, Tom’s house must be cleared out. A lot of things have accumulated here since grandmother died, who didn’t really share Tom’s passion for film and television. Then there’s Kimi’s unfinished script which has been waiting for completion for years and really needs a new title. The spry pensioner comes up with many – sometimes corny – ideas which, unfortunately, do not always meet with much sympathy. And on top of it all his inquisitive granddaughter is trying to unravel her family history with the help of Tom’s memories. This yields insights into the living conditions of their ancestors, who tried to build a life as Japanese immigrants in Hawaii. The grandparents’ love story, too, is very interesting, especially the question how the two actually met and whether it was really love at first sight.

Shot like a home movie and intercut with archive material and shots of the Hawaiian landscape, Takesue takes a loving and humorous look at her grandfather and her roots. She may not get a new title for her script out of this, but it’s an enchanting way to get closer to her grandfather.

Kim Busch

A Horse is not a metaphor

Documentary Film
USA
2008
30 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Barbara Hammer
Meredith Monk
Meredith Monk
Riding and swimming in the river, in combination with Meredith Monk’s music, become symbols of the fight against ovarian cancer.
„Freedom is a horse galloping with mane and tail flying in the wind. Freedom is my eye and mind following the flow of expression through movement. Freedom is riding my horse on a trail exploring the unknown and seeing with fresh eyes as the world becomes new again. „A Horse Is not a Metaphor“ is about the power of living in the present to the fullest and with the greatest freedom.” (Barbara Hammer)
Homage Jay Rosenblatt 2017
A Long Way from Home Jay Rosenblatt

A hypothesis: if archaeologists had ever come across footage of the crucifixion of Christ, it could have looked like this.

A Long Way from Home

Documentary Film
USA
2015
3 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jay Rosenblatt
Jay Rosenblatt
John Turk, David Borengasser, Vanessa O’Neill
Jay Rosenblatt
A hypothesis: if archaeologists had ever come across footage of the crucifixion of Christ, it could have looked like this.
Best of TV - POV 2012
A Perfect Candidate R.J. Cutler, David van Taylor

A charismatic candidate in the Virginia senatorial race, and his democratic opponent. The mechanisms of politics and its string-pullers. Gripping.

1996

A Perfect Candidate

(none)
USA
1996
105 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ted Skillman, Dan Portland
R.J. Cutler, David van Taylor
Nicolas Doob
Remember Oliver North? In the late 1980s under President Reagan he secretly sold weapons to Iran and used the profits to support Contra rebels in Nicaragua. Risqué – the United States had issued an arms embargo against Iran and Congress had prohibited any support for the Contras. When the scandal was exposed, Reagan dropped Oliver North. The lieutenant-colonel was found guilty of corruption, lying and destruction of evidence. He appealed and was acquitted – for reasons of immunity. Now he needed a new job. This is where “A Perfect Candidate” comes in: the charismatic North entered the senatorial race in Virginia as the Republican candidate. Over seven months, we follow him and his opponent, the democratic incumbent Charles Robb, through the highs and lows of campaigning. Following the “spin doctors”, the people who pull the strings behind the scenes, very closely, Cutler and Taylor open up deep insights into the strategies and pitfalls of the political machine. The result is a captivating and extremely thrilling film in the spirit of Robert Drew’s and Richard Leacock’s Direct Cinema classic “Primary”. The Washington Post praised “A Perfect Candidate” as the “best American documentary since Hoop Dreams” and called it “one of a small handful of essential films about the politics in this country”.
– Claas Danielsen

A Strange New Beauty

Documentary Film
USA
2017
51 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver, Mike Degen
Entering the comfort zone of a luxury estate in Silicon Valley, inhabited but empty. The first impression: an illusion of Arcadia. A painstakingly created and maintained claim. Though the travails that went into the magnificent appearance of the garden were masterfully concealed and silenced too. Only the things and plants that make up this Arcadia know of its violence. And they have the power to tell us about it! But only those who look and listen closely will hear their ghostly-real voices and the eerie noise behind the silence. From the mouths of ghosts … Thus we learn of the world behind the appearances. A world ruled by dominance and submission. By strategies to overcome fear. And by the antagonism between the “natural” pursuit of happiness of a very few and the collateral damages produced in the process. Because ultimately this film by Shelly Silver is a narrative of barbarianism and how, brilliantly refined, it manages to present itself as strangely new and beautiful – “a strange new beauty” indeed.

Ralph Eue

A Tangled Tale

Animated Film
USA
2012
6 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Corrie Francis Parks
Corrie Francis Parks
Mark Orton
Corrie Francis Parks
Cole Pierce
In this unusual romance, hand-tinted sand becomes a metaphor for two souls as they join and separate. A lonely fish, hooked by an angler's line, encounters another in the same dire situation.

Adolescence

Documentary Film
Puerto Rico,
USA
2017
10 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

José Fernando Rodríguez, Guillermo Zouain
José Fernando Rodríguez
José Fernando Rodríguez
José Fernando Rodríguez, Guillermo Zouain
José Fernando Rodríguez
Alain Muñiz, José Fernando Rodríguez
A girl in the pool, close to the lens. She’s asking for a towel. White noise. A boy pretending to be a chicken hops through the room, picking at the mattress with his head. José Fernando Rodríguez reconstructs the states of his youth in “Adolescence”, using residual images of past times, hybrid images: excessive hormone boosts and the first fears of death, a girl in the pool and a dry run in the children’s rooms. The images in-between are missing. There’s only white noise.

Lukas Stern
Homage Jay Rosenblatt 2017
Afraid So Jay Rosenblatt

There’s a lot to fear: rain, bounced checks or the imminent end of the world. An uncomfortable found footage film, inspired by a poem.

Afraid So

Documentary Film
USA
2006
3 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jay Rosenblatt (Locomotion Films)
Jay Rosenblatt
Jay Rosenblatt
Jay Rosenblatt
Garrison Keillor
There’s a lot to fear: rain, bounced checks or the imminent end of the world. An uncomfortable found footage film, inspired by a poem.
International Programme 2018
América Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside

The law of responsibility is uncheatable, unquestionable: three brothers from Mexico share the care for their 93-year-old grandmother. A piece of evidence for humanism.

América

Documentary Film
USA
2018
76 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Erick Stoll
Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Christian Giraud
The outer layer consists of kissing and touching. A film wrapped in tenderness, surrounded by gestures of intimacy, sensitivity and warmth. Diego and his two brothers have returned to Colima in Western Mexico to take care of their 93-year-old grandmother. América is the name of this old woman with dreaming eyes and a warm smile, who is bedded and blanketed by the brothers at night, washed and dressed by them in the morning, cosseted, protected, surrounded by them at noon. The brothers’ father is in prison, their economic situation is precarious and the workload boundless. But human dignity and the law of responsibility are unquestionable, uncheatable. Never – whatever the cost, be it money, time, strength or a brawl – would Diego, Rodrigo and Bruno take their grandmother to a nursing home.

The US directors Erick Stoll and Chase Whiteside followed the family for a period of three years and are now presenting an intimate debut film that is more than a document of the ethics of responsibility. It’s, and this is what one should call it, a piece of evidence for humanism.

Lukas Stern
Animadoc 2014
Animation Hotline, 2013 Dustin Grella

A series of short animations, started in 2011, where anonymous messages on the artist's voice mail provide the content for these sometimes insightful, sometimes bizarre micro-shorts.

2013

Animation Hotline, 2013

Animadoc
USA
2013
5 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dustin Grella
Dustin Grella
Dustin Grella
A series of short animations, started in 2011, where anonymous messages on the artist's voice mail provide the content for these sometimes insightful, sometimes bizarre micro-shorts.

Filmarchiv

Countries (Film Archive)

149th and Grand Concourse

Animadok
USA
2016
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andy London
Andy London, Carolyn London
Terri Ridout, Andy London
Andy London, Terri Ridout, Kay Xia
Terri Ridout, Andy London
Quinten Diego
An der Subway-Haltestelle geht’s ab. Die Notrufsäule will der Welt Frieden bringen wie der Dalai Lama, die Baustellenlampe hat Liebeskummer und die Zeitungsautomaten schmettern einen Hit aus den Achtzigern. Eine Straße voller Rhythmus und Leidenschaft.

Kim Busch
Hommage Shelly Silver 2014
37 Stories About Leaving Home Shelly Silver

Intimes Porträt einer Gruppe japanischer Frauen zwischen 15 und 82. Sie sprechen über ihr Leben, das Trennende und Verbindende zwischen Töchtern, Müttern und Großmüttern.

37 Stories About Leaving Home

Dokumentarfilm
USA
1996
52 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Shelly Silver
Lefdup & Lefdup
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver, Daiho Tsuruoko
Shelly Silver
Bill Seery, Mercer Street Sound
Intimes Porträt einer Gruppe japanischer Frauen zwischen 15 und 82. Sie sprechen über ihr Leben, das Trennende und Verbindende zwischen Töchtern, Müttern und Großmüttern und wie es zu jeder Zeit und für jede von ihnen eine ganz eigene Erfahrung war, hinaus in die Welt und in die Gesellschaft zu treten. Komplex untereinander verwoben sind Kindheitserinnerungen, Alltäglichkeiten und ein magisch-grausames japanisches Volksmärchen über die Suche einer Mutter nach ihrer Tochter, die am Vorabend ihrer Hochzeit von einem Monster entführt wurde.
Ralph Eue
Hommage Shelly Silver 2014
5 Lessons and 9 Questions About Chinatown Shelly Silver

„Du lebst irgendwo, gehst fünfzig, hundert, zehntausendmal die gleiche Straße entlang, nimmst Fragmente auf, ohne je DEN ORT vollständig zu registrieren. Jahre vergehen, Dekaden ziehen vorbei ..."

5 Lessons and 9 Questions About Chinatown

Dokumentarfilm
USA
2009
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Karin Chien
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Ian Stynes, Great City Productions
„Du lebst irgendwo, gehst fünfzig, hundert, zehntausendmal die gleiche Straße entlang, nimmst Fragmente auf, ohne je DEN ORT vollständig zu registrieren. Jahre vergehen, Dekaden ziehen vorbei. Du machst weiter, ohne zu sehen, möglicherweise selber ungesehen.
Ein Gebäude wird niedergerissen. Bevor ein neues hoch wächst, fragst du dich: Was stand eigentlich vorher da? Unscharf formen sich bewegliche Muster dieses Bezirks, und Eindrücke, dass seit dem 19. Jahrhundert Wellen um Wellen von Neuankömmlingen hier durchgebrandet sind und in den Gassen, Häusern, Hütten und Läden ihre Spuren hinterlassen haben.
Zehn Häuserblocks, Vergangenheit, Gegenwart, Zukunft, Zeit, Licht, Bewegung, Einwanderung, Ausgrenzung, Gentrifizierung, Rassismus, Geschichte, drei Sprachen, 13 Stimmen, 152 Jahre, 17.820 Einzelbilder, neun Minuten, 54 Sekunden, neun Fragen, fünf Lektionen. Chinatown.“ (Shelly Silver)
Internationales Programm 2017
95 and 6 to Go Kimi Takesue

Ein Drehbuchtitel wird gesucht und ein Opa gefunden. Ein liebe- und humorvoller Blick im Homevideo-Stil: auf den Großvater, die Familiengeschichte und die Landschaften der Vorfahren.

95 and 6 to Go

Dokumentarfilm
USA
2016
85 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Kimi Takesue, Richard Beenen
Kimi Takesue
Paul Brill
Kimi Takesue
Kimi Takesue
Jeff Seelye
Die Filmemacherin Kimi Takesue und ihr verwitweter Großvater Tom haben viel vor: Zunächst muss erst einmal Toms Haus entrümpelt werden. Vieles hat sich hier angesammelt seit dem Tod der Großmutter, die Toms Vorliebe für Film und Fernsehen nicht wirklich teilen konnte. Dann gibt es da noch Kimis unfertiges Drehbuch, das seit Jahren auf Vollendung wartet und dringend einen neuen Titel braucht. Der rüstige Pensionär entwickelt hierfür viele – teils schmalzige – Ideen, die leider nicht immer auf Gegenliebe treffen. Und nebenbei versucht die wissbegierige Enkelin noch, ihre Familiengeschichte mithilfe von Toms Erinnerungen aufzudröseln. Dabei ergeben sich Einblicke in die Lebensumstände der Vorfahren, die als japanische Einwanderer auf Hawaii versuchten, sich ein Leben aufzubauen. Auch die Liebesbeziehung der Großeltern ist von großem Interesse – vor allem, was die Frage angeht, wie die beiden eigentlich zueinanderfanden und ob es wirklich Liebe auf den ersten Blick war.

Im Stil eines Homevideos gedreht und durchsetzt mit Archivmaterial und Aufnahmen der hawaiianischen Landschaft, wirft Takesue einen liebe- und humorvollen Blick auf ihren Großvater und die eigenen Wurzeln. Dabei findet sie vielleicht keinen neuen Titel für ihr Drehbuch, aber sie kommt ihrem Opa auf bezaubernde Weise nah.

Kim Busch

A Horse is not a metaphor

Dokumentarfilm
USA
2008
30 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Barbara Hammer
Meredith Monk
Meredith Monk
Reiten und Schwimmen im Fluss werden in diesem sehr persönlichen Film im Verbund mit der Musik von Meredith Monk zu Sinnbildern des Kampfes gegen den Eierstockkrebs.
“Freiheit ist ein galoppierendes Pferd mit im Wind fliegender Mähne und Schweif. Freiheit ist Auge und Bewusstsein, mit dem ich dem Fluss expressiver Bewegung folge. Freiheit bedeutet, auf meinem Pferd das Unbekannte zu entdecken und mit wachem Blick zu beobachten, wie die Welt sich ständig erneuert. „A Horse Is not a Metaphor“ handelt von der Kraft, mit allen Sinnen und absolut frei in der Gegenwart zu leben.“ (Barbara Hammer)
Hommage Jay Rosenblatt 2017
A Long Way from Home Jay Rosenblatt

Eine Hypothese: Wären Archäologen auf Filmmaterial von der Kreuzigung Christi gestoßen, dann könnte es wie das hier ausgesehen haben.

A Long Way from Home

Dokumentarfilm
USA
2015
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jay Rosenblatt
Jay Rosenblatt
John Turk, David Borengasser, Vanessa O’Neill
Jay Rosenblatt
Eine Hypothese: Wären Archäologen auf Filmmaterial von der Kreuzigung Christi gestoßen, dann könnte es wie das hier ausgesehen haben.
Best of TV - POV 2012
A Perfect Candidate R.J. Cutler, David van Taylor

Ein charismatischer Kandidat im Wahlkampf um den Senatorenposten in Virginia und sein demokratischer Widersacher. Die Mechanismen der Politik und ihre Strippenzieher. Spannend.

1996

A Perfect Candidate

(none)
USA
1996
105 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ted Skillman, Dan Portland
R.J. Cutler, David van Taylor
Nicolas Doob
Erinnern Sie sich noch an Oliver North? Unter US-Präsident Ronald Reagan hatte er in den 1980ern heimlich Waffen an den Iran verkauft und mit den Erlösen die Contra-Rebellen in Nicaragua unterstützt. Pikant – denn die USA hatten ein Waffenembargo gegen den Iran erlassen und der Kongress die Unterstützung der Contras verboten. Als der Skandal ruchbar wurde, ließ Reagan Oliver North fallen. Der Oberstleutnant wurde wegen Bestechlichkeit, Lüge und Vernichtung von Beweismitteln verurteilt. In der Berufung erreichte er einen Freispruch – wegen Immunität. Nun brauchte er einen neuen Job. Hier setzt „A Perfect Candidate“ an: Der charismatische North wirft sich für die Republikaner in den Wahlkampf um den Senatorenposten von Virginia. Elf Monate lang begleiten wir ihn und seinen Widersacher, den demokratischen Amtsinhaber Charles Robb, durch alle Höhen und Tiefen des Wahlkampfs. Ganz nah dran an den „spin doctors“, den Strippenziehern hinter den Kulissen, lassen uns Cutler und Taylor tief in die Strategien und Abgründe des Politikbetriebs blicken. So entsteht ein faszinierender und ausgesprochen spannender Film, ganz im Geiste des Direct Cinema-Klassikers „Primary“ von Robert Drew und Richard Leacock. Die Washington Post erhob „A Perfect Candidate“ zum „besten amerikanischen Dokumentarfilm seit „Hoop Dreams“ und nannte ihn „einen der wenigen unentbehrlichen Filme über Politik in diesem Land“.

– Claas Danielsen

A Strange New Beauty

Dokumentarfilm
USA
2017
51 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver, Mike Degen
Eindringen in die Komfortzone eines luxuriösen, zwar bewohnten, aber menschenleeren Anwesens im Silicon Valley. Der erste Eindruck: die Illusion von Arkadien. Eine mühevoll hergestellte, auch mühsam aufrechterhaltene Behauptung. Obwohl die Mühsal, die in der prachtvollen Erscheinung des Ganzen steckt, souverän zum Verschwinden, auch zum Schweigen gebracht wurde. Bloß die Dinge und die Pflanzen, die dieses Arkadien ausmachen, wissen um seine Gewaltsamkeit. Und sie vermögen, Auskunft zu geben! Jedoch nur, wer genau hinsieht und zuhört, nimmt ihre geisterhaft-realen Stimmen, auch das unheimliche Getöse hinter dem Schweigen wahr. Geistermund tut Wahrheit kund. So erfährt man von der Welt hinter den Erscheinungen. Eine Welt, die von Dominanz und Unterwerfung geprägt ist. Von Strategien der Angstüberwindung. Und vom Widerstreit zwischen dem „selbstverständlichen“ Glücksstreben einiger weniger und den Kollateralschäden, die dabei verursacht werden. Denn letztlich ist dieser Film von Shelly Silver eine Erzählung von der Barbarei und wie sie sich, virtuos verfeinert, als seltsam neu und schön zu gebärden versteht, als „strange new beauty“ eben.

Ralph Eue
Internationales Programm 2013
A Tangled Tale Corrie Francis Parks

In dieser ungewöhnlichen Romanze wird handgefärbter Sand zur Metapher für zwei Seelen, die sich vereinigen und wieder trennen. Ein einsamer Fisch ...

A Tangled Tale

Animationsfilm
USA
2012
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Corrie Francis Parks
Corrie Francis Parks
Mark Orton
Corrie Francis Parks
Cole Pierce
In dieser ungewöhnlichen Romanze wird handgefärbter Sand zur Metapher für zwei Seelen, die sich vereinigen und wieder trennen. Ein einsamer Fisch, der an einem Angelhaken hängt, trifft einen anderen in der gleichen traurigen Lage.
Internationales Programm 2017
Adolescence José Fernando Rodríguez

Ein Mädchen im Pool, ganz dicht an der Linse. Sie fragt nach einem Handtuch. Bildrauschen. Ein Junge hüpft als Hühnchen durch den Raum, pickt mit dem Kopf in die Matratze. Bildrauschen.

Adolescence

Dokumentarfilm
Puerto Rico,
USA
2017
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

José Fernando Rodríguez, Guillermo Zouain
José Fernando Rodríguez
José Fernando Rodríguez
José Fernando Rodríguez, Guillermo Zouain
José Fernando Rodríguez
Alain Muñiz, José Fernando Rodríguez
Ein Mädchen im Pool, ganz dicht an der Linse. Sie fragt nach einem Handtuch. Bildrauschen. Ein Junge hüpft als Hühnchen durch den Raum, pickt mit dem Kopf in die Matratze. Bildrauschen. José Fernando Rodríguez rekonstruiert mit „Adolescence“ die Zustände seiner eigenen Jugend. Aus Bildresten früherer Zeiten, aus Bildkreuzungen: Maßlose Hormonschübe und erste Todesängste, ein Mädchen im Pool und eine Trockenübung im Kinderzimmer. Dazwischen fehlen die Bilder. Dazwischen rauscht es nur.

Lukas Stern
Hommage Jay Rosenblatt 2017
Afraid So Jay Rosenblatt

Vieles kann man fürchten: Regen, geplatzte Schecks oder den bevorstehenden Untergang. Ungemütlicher Found-Footage-Film, inspiriert von einem Gedicht.

Afraid So

Dokumentarfilm
USA
2006
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jay Rosenblatt (Locomotion Films)
Jay Rosenblatt
Jay Rosenblatt
Jay Rosenblatt
Garrison Keillor
Vieles kann man fürchten: Regen, geplatzte Schecks oder den bevorstehenden Untergang. Ungemütlicher Found-Footage-Film, inspiriert von einem Gedicht.
Internationales Programm 2018
América Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside

Das Gesetz der Verantwortung ist unhintergehbar, unhinterfragbar: Drei Brüder aus Mexiko teilen sich die Pflege ihrer 93-jährigen Großmutter. Ein Beweisstück für den Humanismus.

América

Dokumentarfilm
USA
2018
76 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Erick Stoll
Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Christian Giraud
Die äußerste Schicht besteht aus Küssen und Berührungen. Ein Film, eingehüllt in Zärtlichkeit, umgriffen von Gesten der Innigkeit, Empfindsamkeit und Herzlichkeit. Diego und seine beiden Brüder sind nach Colima, in den Westen Mexikos, zurückgekehrt, um ihre 93-jährige Großmutter zu pflegen. América heißt diese alte Frau mit den träumenden Augen und dem warmen Lächeln, die abends von den Brüdern ins Bett gebracht und zugedeckt wird, die morgens von ihnen gewaschen und angekleidet wird, die mittags von ihnen umsorgt, beschützt, umtanzt wird. Der Vater der Brüder sitzt im Gefängnis, die ökonomische Situation ist prekär und die Arbeit, die anfällt, ist uferlos. Aber die Würde des Menschen und das Gesetz der Verantwortung sind unhinterfragbar, unhintergehbar. Niemals – und koste es, was es wolle, koste es Geld, Zeit, Kräfte oder eine Schlägerei – würden Diego, Rodrigo und Bruno ihre Großmutter in ein Altersheim bringen.

Über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren begleiteten die US-amerikanischen Regisseure Erick Stoll und Chase Whiteside die Familie und legen mit diesem intimen Film ein Debüt vor, das mehr ist als ein Dokument der Verantwortungsethik. Es ist, so müsste man es nennen, ein Beweisstück für den Humanismus.

Lukas Stern
Animadok 2014
Animation Hotline, 2013 Dustin Grella

Eine 2011 begonnene Reihe kurzer Animationen, in denen anonyme Nachrichten auf der Mailbox des Künstlers den Inhalt für diese mal aufschlussreichen, mal skurrilen Mikro-Kurzfilme liefern.

2013

Animation Hotline, 2013

Animadok
USA
2013
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dustin Grella
Dustin Grella
Dustin Grella
Eine 2011 begonnene Reihe kurzer Animationen, in denen anonyme Nachrichten auf der Mailbox des Künstlers den Inhalt für diese mal aufschlussreichen, mal skurrilen Mikro-Kurzfilme liefern.