Film Archive

International Programme 2018
América Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside

The law of responsibility is uncheatable, unquestionable: three brothers from Mexico share the care for their 93-year-old grandmother. A piece of evidence for humanism.

América

Documentary Film
USA
2018
76 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Erick Stoll
Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Christian Giraud
The outer layer consists of kissing and touching. A film wrapped in tenderness, surrounded by gestures of intimacy, sensitivity and warmth. Diego and his two brothers have returned to Colima in Western Mexico to take care of their 93-year-old grandmother. América is the name of this old woman with dreaming eyes and a warm smile, who is bedded and blanketed by the brothers at night, washed and dressed by them in the morning, cosseted, protected, surrounded by them at noon. The brothers’ father is in prison, their economic situation is precarious and the workload boundless. But human dignity and the law of responsibility are unquestionable, uncheatable. Never – whatever the cost, be it money, time, strength or a brawl – would Diego, Rodrigo and Bruno take their grandmother to a nursing home.

The US directors Erick Stoll and Chase Whiteside followed the family for a period of three years and are now presenting an intimate debut film that is more than a document of the ethics of responsibility. It’s, and this is what one should call it, a piece of evidence for humanism.

Lukas Stern
International Programme 2018
Appalachian Holler Matthias Lawetzky

The end of coal-mining has left the Appalachians with environmental destruction and unemployment. Making music together gives the people something to hold on to and some dignity.

Appalachian Holler

Documentary Film
Germany,
USA
2018
29 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Matthias Lawetzky (Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach am Main)
Matthias Lawetzky
Matthias Lawetzky
Matthias Lawetzky
Matthias Lawetzky
Matthias Lawetzky
You don’t get rich in the Appalachian Mountains. “They’re trying to get thataway, but they usually die before they do,” they say here. The end of coal mining left the inhabitants with its consequential problems, environmental destruction and unemployment. Making music together – if only with spoons – gives the people in one of the remotest spots of the US something to hold on to and some dignity.

Fabian Tietke
International Programme 2018
Atmahaú Pakmát Cameron Quevedo

A poetic and political film about border demarcations and their consequences, the struggle for survival of adobe brick makers in the Mexican-US border region and the magic of a river.

Atmahaú Pakmát

Documentary Film
Mexico,
USA
2017
24 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cameron Quevedo
Jesús Gerdel
Jim Hickcox
Cameron Quevedo
Will Harrell
Everybody’s talking about the planned wall between the US and Mexico, but what’s often overlooked is that this borderline is in itself a construct. In the mid-19th century, Mexico had to accept a massive loss of territory to its powerful northern neighbour. The demarcation line has followed the Rio Grande ever since. A poetic and political film about border demarcations and their consequences, the struggle for survival of adobe brick makers in the Mexican-US border region and the magic of a river.

Annina Wettstein
International Programme 2018
Mom’s Clothes Jordan Wong

The once docile child has grown out of their mother’s patterned clothes. Now he can navigate between different forms of intimacy and gender – queer and colourful.

Mom’s Clothes

Animated Film
USA
2018
5 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Navigating between different forms of intimacy and gender took him longer: as a queer and coloured person one stands out even in Jordan Wong’s native city of San Francisco. Wong’s reflections about his and his mother’s life find a visual counterpoint in animated textiles. Soft, scratchy, thin, strong, flowery, plaid or printed with predators – dreams, self-knowledge and questions arise from these clothes.

Nadja Rademacher
International Programme 2018
Share Barna Szász, Ellie Wen

Tim is 18 years old and has 3 million followers on Instagram. An attentive look at the identity frame of Generation Z – between YouTube lines, memes and tears.

Share

Documentary Film
USA
2018
13 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Barna Szász, Ellie Wen
Barna Szász, Ellie Wen
Barna Szász, Ellie Wen
Barna Szász, Ellie Wen
Barna Szász, Ellie Wen
Tim is 18 years old, wears sports clothes and has 3 million followers on Instagram. Not only is he a minor celebrity in digital space, he also finds a social stability there that he hasn’t known before. Ellie Wen’s and Barna Szász’s film is a compact interrogation of issues of identity, family and communication – and they understand that on- and offline are not simply a binary opposition but that in either space reality is real and nothing but real.

Lukas Stern


Nominated for the Young Eyes Film Award

Filmarchiv

Internationales Programm 2018
América Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside

Das Gesetz der Verantwortung ist unhintergehbar, unhinterfragbar: Drei Brüder aus Mexiko teilen sich die Pflege ihrer 93-jährigen Großmutter. Ein Beweisstück für den Humanismus.

América

Dokumentarfilm
USA
2018
76 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Erick Stoll
Erick Stoll, Chase Whiteside
Christian Giraud
Die äußerste Schicht besteht aus Küssen und Berührungen. Ein Film, eingehüllt in Zärtlichkeit, umgriffen von Gesten der Innigkeit, Empfindsamkeit und Herzlichkeit. Diego und seine beiden Brüder sind nach Colima, in den Westen Mexikos, zurückgekehrt, um ihre 93-jährige Großmutter zu pflegen. América heißt diese alte Frau mit den träumenden Augen und dem warmen Lächeln, die abends von den Brüdern ins Bett gebracht und zugedeckt wird, die morgens von ihnen gewaschen und angekleidet wird, die mittags von ihnen umsorgt, beschützt, umtanzt wird. Der Vater der Brüder sitzt im Gefängnis, die ökonomische Situation ist prekär und die Arbeit, die anfällt, ist uferlos. Aber die Würde des Menschen und das Gesetz der Verantwortung sind unhinterfragbar, unhintergehbar. Niemals – und koste es, was es wolle, koste es Geld, Zeit, Kräfte oder eine Schlägerei – würden Diego, Rodrigo und Bruno ihre Großmutter in ein Altersheim bringen.

Über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren begleiteten die US-amerikanischen Regisseure Erick Stoll und Chase Whiteside die Familie und legen mit diesem intimen Film ein Debüt vor, das mehr ist als ein Dokument der Verantwortungsethik. Es ist, so müsste man es nennen, ein Beweisstück für den Humanismus.

Lukas Stern
Internationales Programm 2018
Appalachian Holler Matthias Lawetzky

Das Ende der Kohleförderung hat die Bewohner der Appalachen mit Umweltzerstörung und Arbeitslosigkeit alleingelassen. Im gemeinsamen Musizieren finden die Menschen Halt und Würde.

Appalachian Holler

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
USA
2018
29 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Matthias Lawetzky (Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach am Main)
Matthias Lawetzky
Matthias Lawetzky
Matthias Lawetzky
Matthias Lawetzky
Matthias Lawetzky
Reich wird man nicht in den Bergen der Appalachen: „Sie versuchen es, aber meist sterben sie vorher“, heißt es hier. Das Ende der Kohleförderung hat die Bewohner der Berge mit den Folgeproblemen, der Umweltzerstörung und Arbeitslosigkeit weitgehend alleingelassen. Im gemeinsamen Musizieren – und sei es auf Esslöffeln – finden die Menschen an einem der entlegensten Orte der USA Halt und Würde.

Fabian Tietke
Internationales Programm 2018
Atmahaú Pakmát Cameron Quevedo

Ein poetisch-politischer Film über Grenzziehungen und deren Folgen, den Überlebenskampf von Lehmziegel-Herstellern im mexikanisch-US-amerikanischen Grenzgebiet und den Zauber eines Flusses.

Atmahaú Pakmát

Dokumentarfilm
Mexiko,
USA
2017
24 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cameron Quevedo
Jesús Gerdel
Jim Hickcox
Cameron Quevedo
Will Harrell
Die geplante Mauer zwischen den USA und Mexiko ist in aller Munde. Oft geht dabei unter, dass diese Grenzlinie an sich ein Konstrukt ist. Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts musste Mexiko massive Gebietsverluste an den mächtigen Nachbarn im Norden hinnehmen. Seither verläuft die Demarkation entlang des Rio Grande. Ein poetisch-politischer Film über Grenzziehungen und deren Folgen, den Überlebenskampf von Lehmziegel-Herstellern im mexikanisch-US-amerikanischen Grenzgebiet und den Zauber eines Flusses.

Annina Wettstein
Internationales Programm 2018
Mom’s Clothes Jordan Wong

Das einst fügsame Kind ist den gemusterten Kleidern seiner Mutter entwachsen. Nun kann es zwischen den verschiedenen Formen von Intimität und Gender navigieren – queer und farbig.

Mom’s Clothes

Animationsfilm
USA
2018
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Jordan Wong
Es brauchte länger, um zwischen den verschiedenen Formen von Intimität und Gender navigieren zu können: Als queere und farbige Person fällt man auch in Jordan Wongs Geburtsstadt San Francisco aus dem Rahmen. Wongs Reflexionen über sein Leben und das seiner Mutter werden visuell von animierten Textilien kontrapunktiert. Sanft, kratzig, dünn, stark, blumig, kariert oder mit Raubtiermotiven bedruckt – aus diesen Stoffen entspinnen sich Träume, Selbsterkenntnisse und Fragen.

Nadja Rademacher
Internationales Programm 2018
Share Barna Szász, Ellie Wen

Tim ist 18 Jahre alt und hat 3 Millionen Follower auf Instagram. Ein aufmerksamer Blick in das Identitätsgerüst der Generation Z – zwischen Youtube-Zeilen, Memes und Tränen.

Share

Dokumentarfilm
USA
2018
13 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Barna Szász, Ellie Wen
Barna Szász, Ellie Wen
Barna Szász, Ellie Wen
Barna Szász, Ellie Wen
Barna Szász, Ellie Wen
Tim ist 18 Jahre alt, trägt Sportklamotten und hat 3 Millionen Follower auf Instagram. Im digitalen Raum ist er nicht nur ein kleiner Star, er findet dort auch einen sozialen Halt, den er bisher so noch nicht erfahren hat. Ellie Wen und Barna Szász verdichten in ihrem Film Fragen nach Identität, Familie und Kommunikation – und sie haben verstanden, dass zwischen On- und Offline kein einfacher Binarismus besteht, dass die Realität hier wie dort real ist und nichts als real.

Lukas Stern


Nominiert für den Young Eyes Film Award