Film Archive

California on Fire

Documentary Film
USA
2018
25 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
An exhilarated guitar stumbles. The glow of the evening throws off its romantic disguise and reveals itself as the face of a hellish conflagration in California, covering hilltops and residential areas. Its brutal beauty turns the events into a cosmic and unreal incident. Using time-lapse, granular editing and drone sounds, Jeff Frost paints a world that is out of joint and makes it tangible in his impressive composition.

André Eckardt

Crowded

Animated Film
Germany,
Netherlands,
USA
2019
6 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin, Max Rubin
Nathania Rubin, Max Rubin
A face is being drawn with a pencil. The countenance of a woman emerges. Old and suddenly a girl again. In her bedroom the film of her life unfolds by key moments. Changes are made visible by the eraser and new drawings. The girl becomes a woman, a lover brings a storm of mystical and fantastical elements. The arrival of the child opens new dimensions not only in the room. The child scrutinises the world and looks right into our eyes.

Nadja Rademacher
Kids DOK 2019
Du Iz Tak? Galen Fott

Mr. Millipede stumbles over a seedling and wonders what may be growing there. As the seasons change, the plant thrives under the watchful eyes of the meadow dwellers.

Du Iz Tak?

Animated Film
USA
2018
11 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Linda Lee, Paul R. Gagne, Melissa R. Ellard
Galen Fott
Sarah Hart
Galen Fott
Carson Ellis
Mr. Millipede stumbles over a seedling and wonders what may be growing there. As the seasons change, the plant thrives under the watchful eyes of the meadow dwellers. The insect children especially are happy about their new playground, climbing and swinging in the wind on the large leaves. The film uses a fantasy language to narrate the life cycle in a microcosm.

Marie-Thérèse Antony
International Programme 2019
Just a Small Na Kyung Kim

This small story of the tiny eel in the vast ocean probes the eternal cycle of life. The starting point of this contemplative journey is a mosaic painting by Na Kyung Kim.

Just a Small

Animated Film
USA
2019
5 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Na Kyung Kim
Na Kyung Kim
Na Kyung Kim
Na Kyung Kim
Na Kyung Kim
Na Kyung Kim
Aidan Reynolds
An eel faces existential challenges in the blue-black of the sea. Iridescent sea creatures float through the water, occasional predatory fish cross his path. With her small story of a tiny animal in the vastness of the ocean, Na Kyung Kim takes the pulse of the eternal cycle of life. The starting point of this contemplative journey is her mosaic painting of six plates of about one square metre each. The soundtrack by Aidan Reynolds contributes to the atmospheric density.

Nadja Rademacher

Light Is Calling

Animated Film
USA
2003
9 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hypnotic Pictures
Bill Morrison
Michael Gordon
Bill Morrison
Lola Todd, Edward Philpps
“(…) the soul (…) is an awakened life from God’s eye: its origin is in fire and the fire is its life; though if it does not go out of this fire (…) into the light other than through grim death into (…) love fire, it remains in its original fire and has nothing but (…) a desire in fire (…).” Jakob Böhme

A soldier, a woman, the nature of life and love … and the dramatic decay of old nitrate film images.

Mait Laas
International Programme 2019
Mate Chaerin Im

A close-up of the powers that influence mating rituals: powers of attraction and repulsion. Copperplate prints, drawings and photos flicker at different points on the screen.

Mate

Animated Film
USA
2019
4 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Chaerin Im
Chaerin Im
Roger Kim
Chaerin Im, Ray Chang
Chaerin Im
Chaerin Im
Shanthal Caba
A close-up of the powers at work in mating rituals: powers of attraction and repulsion. Copperplate prints, drawings and photos flicker at different points on the screen, almost like breathing. Phallic loops of attraction and struggle are choreographed in the abstract by Chaerin Im. The musical accompaniment by Roger Kim follows the multiplying images which sometimes arrange themselves in triptychs.

Nadja Rademacher
International Programme 2019
Score for Joanna Kotze Shelly Silver

A space that can be everything. Or nothing. A four-minute essayistic stream of consciousness about the American choreographer Joanna Kotze – and pollution in the Mediterranean.

Score for Joanna Kotze

Documentary Film
Italy,
USA
2019
4 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Maureen McLane
An imaginary space that could be anything. Or nothing. A space that is everything one wants it to be. Dancers co-opt spaces and transform them into an irresistible pull – as does the American choreographer Joanna Kotze, for whom this essayistic score of words and images was written. Shelly Silver created a four-minute associative flow of consciousness that is an indictment of pollution in the Italian Mediterranean, too.

Julia Weigl
Next Masters Competition Short Film 2019
There Were Four of Us Cassie Shao

At full tilt and brightly surrealistic, this narrative flow circles around questions concerning a death. An electronically charged, garish chamber play. In the leading role: the subconscious, it seems.

There Were Four of Us

Animated Film
USA
2019
6 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cassie Shao
Robert Wolf
Cassie Shao
Katie Gately
Four people soliloquizing in a room. In the leading role: the subconscious, it seems. An electronically charged, colourful chamber play with rapid changes of location. Sequences that could be from a strange diary in dialogue with layers of dream pull you in. “One day I dreamed that I couldn’t wake up from layers and layers of dreams.” In Cassie Shao’s film, the narrative flow circles around questions concerning a case of death – no holds barred and brightly surrealistic.

Nadja Rademacher

Through the Weeping Glass: On the Consolations of Life Everlasting (Limbos & Afterbreezes in the Mütter Museum)

Animated Film
UK,
USA
2011
32 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

PRO BONO films, Atelier Koninck QbfZ
Brothers Quay
Timothy Nelson
Brothers Quay
Brothers Quay
Brothers Quay
Brothers Quay, David Spolum
Derek Jacobi
Brothers Quay
As students, the Brothers Quay visited the Mütter Museum with their drawing class – an extremely memorable experience. In the semi-dark, a world of things between science, art and life stories opened up. Forty years later, they put the focus on selected objects from the medical collection in Philadelphia.

André Eckardt
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2019
Traveling While Black Roger Ross Williams, Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël, Ayesha Nadarajah

Published between 1936 and 1966, the “Green Book” was a survival guide for African-American U.S. citizens, recommending safe places to avoid racist hostility on domestic journeys.

2018

Traveling While Black

360° Film
USA
2018
21 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Felix & Paul Studios
Roger Ross Williams, Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël, Ayesha Nadarajah
Jason Moran
Headspace
Published between 1936 and 1966, the “Green Book” was a survival guide for African-American U.S. citizens, recommending safe places to avoid racist hostility on domestic journeys. “Ben’s Chili Bowl” has been among those recommendations since 1958. The intimate corners of this Washington restaurant become spaces of reflection for the racist degradation existing even today.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

Filmarchiv

California on Fire

Dokumentarfilm
USA
2018
25 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Jeff Frost
Eine beschwingte Gitarre gerät ins Straucheln. Das Abendglühen legt sein romantisches Kleid ab und offenbart sich als Gesicht einer höllischen Feuersbrunst in Kalifornien. Sie überzieht Bergkuppen und Wohnviertel. Ihre brutale Schönheit macht das Geschehen zum kosmischen und unwirklichen Ereignis. Mit Zeitraffer, Granularschnitt und Drone-Klängen zeichnet Jeff Frost das Bild einer Welt, die aus den Fugen ist, und macht sie in seiner eindrucksvollen Komposition fassbar.

André Eckardt

Crowded

Animationsfilm
Deutschland,
Niederlande,
USA
2019
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin
Nathania Rubin, Max Rubin
Nathania Rubin, Max Rubin
Ein Gesicht wird mit Bleistift gezeichnet. Es entsteht das Antlitz einer Frau. Alt und plötzlich wieder Mädchen. In ihrem Schlafzimmer entfaltet sich der Film ihres Lebens durch Schlüsselmomente. Mit Radiergummi und Neuzeichnungen werden Wandlungen sichtbar. Das Mädchen wird zur Frau, mit einem Liebhaber stürmen mystisch-fantastische Elemente herein. Die Ankunft des Kindes eröffnet nicht nur im Raum neue Dimensionen. Das Kind schaut eindringlich in die Welt und uns direkt in die Augen.

Nadja Rademacher
Kids DOK 2019
Du Iz Tak? Galen Fott

Herr Tausendfüßler stolpert über einen Keimling und wundert sich, was da wohl wächst. Im Wandel der Jahreszeiten gedeiht die Pflanze unter den wachsamen Augen der Wiesenbewohner.

Du Iz Tak?

Animationsfilm
USA
2018
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Linda Lee, Paul R. Gagne, Melissa R. Ellard
Galen Fott
Sarah Hart
Galen Fott
Carson Ellis
Herr Tausendfüßler stolpert über einen Keimling und wundert sich, was da wohl wächst. Im Wandel der Jahreszeiten gedeiht die Pflanze unter den wachsamen Augen der Wiesenbewohner. Besonders die Insektenkinder freuen sich an ihrem neuen Spielplatz: Sie klettern und lassen sich in den großen Blättern im Wind schaukeln. Der Film erzählt in einer Fantasiesprache den Lebenszyklus in einem Mikrokosmos.

Marie-Thérèse Antony
Internationales Programm 2019
Just a Small Na Kyung Kim

Die kleine Geschichte des winzigen Aals im weiten Ozean fühlt dem ewigen Kreislauf des Lebens auf den Puls. Ausgangspunkt dieser kontemplativen Reise ist ein Mosaikgemälde von Na Kyung Kim.

Just a Small

Animationsfilm
USA
2019
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Na Kyung Kim
Na Kyung Kim
Na Kyung Kim
Na Kyung Kim
Na Kyung Kim
Na Kyung Kim
Aidan Reynolds
Im Blauschwarz des Meeres stellt sich ein Aal existenziellen Herausforderungen. Schillerndes Meeresgetier schwärmt durchs Wasser, einzelne Raubfische kreuzen seinen Weg. Mit ihrer kleinen Geschichte eines winzigen Tiers in den Weiten des Ozeans fühlt Na Kyung Kim dem ewigen Kreislauf des Lebens auf den Puls. Ausgangspunkt dieser kontemplativen Reise ist ihr Mosaikgemälde aus sechs je etwa einen Quadratmeter großen Bildtafeln. Zur atmosphärischen Dichte trägt die Tonspur von Aidan Reynolds bei.

Nadja Rademacher

Light Is Calling

Animationsfilm
USA
2003
9 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hypnotic Pictures
Bill Morrison
Michael Gordon
Bill Morrison
Lola Todd, Edward Philpps
„(…) die Seele (…) ist ein erweckt Leben aus Gottes Auge: ihr Urstand ist im Feuer, und das Feuer ist ihr Leben; so sie aber nicht aus dem Feuer ausgehet (…) ins Licht, als durch den grimmigen Tod ins (…) Liebefeuer, so bleibet sie in ihrem eigenen urständlichen Feuer, und hat nichts als (…) ein Begehren im Feuer (…).“ Jakob Böhme

Ein Soldat, eine Frau, die Natur des Lebens und der Liebe … und der dramatische Zerfall alter Nitrofilm-Bilder.

Mait Laas
Internationales Programm 2019
Mate Chaerin Im

Großaufnahme auf die Mächte, die bei Paarungsritualen wirken: Anziehungs- und Fliehkräfte. Kupferplattendrucke, Zeichnungen und Fotografien flimmern an verschiedenen Stellen der Leinwand auf.

Mate

Animationsfilm
USA
2019
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Chaerin Im
Chaerin Im
Roger Kim
Chaerin Im, Ray Chang
Chaerin Im
Chaerin Im
Shanthal Caba
Großaufnahme auf die Mächte, die bei Paarungsritualen wirken: Anziehungs- und Fliehkräfte. Kupferplattendrucke, Zeichnungen und Fotografien flimmern an verschiedenen Stellen der Leinwand auf – wie atmend. Phallische Loopings von Annährung und Ringen werden abstrahiert choreografiert von Chaerin Im. Die musikalische Untermalung durch Roger Kim folgt den sich vervielfachenden Bildern, die sich zeitweise zu Triptychen anordnen.

Nadja Rademacher
Internationales Programm 2019
Score for Joanna Kotze Shelly Silver

Ein Raum, der alles sein kann. Oder auch nichts. Ein vierminütiger essayistischer Bewusstseinsstrom über die amerikanische Choreografin Joanna Kotze – und Umweltverschmutzung im Mittelmeer.

Score for Joanna Kotze

Dokumentarfilm
Italien,
USA
2019
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Shelly Silver
Maureen McLane
Ein imaginärer Raum, der alles sein kann. Oder auch nichts. Ein Raum, der alles ist, was man möchte. Tänzer vereinnahmen Orte und verwandeln sie in einen unwiderstehlichen Sog – so auch die amerikanische Choreografin Joanna Kotze, für die diese essayistische Wort-Bild-Partitur geschrieben wurde. Shelly Silver hat einen vierminütigen assoziativen Bewusstseinsstrom entworfen, der zudem auch mit Umweltverschmutzung im italienischen Mittelmeer abrechnet.

Julia Weigl
Next Masters Wettbewerb Kurzfilm 2019
There Were Four of Us Cassie Shao

Mit Karacho und poppig-surrealistisch umflutet der Erzählfluss Fragen um einen Todesfall. Ein elektronisch geladenes, knallbuntes Kammerspiel. Hauptrolle: scheinbar das Unterbewusstsein.

There Were Four of Us

Animationsfilm
USA
2019
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cassie Shao
Robert Wolf
Cassie Shao
Katie Gately
Vier Leute monologisieren in einem Raum. Hauptrolle: scheinbar das Unterbewusstsein. Ein elektronisch geladenes, knallbuntes Kammerspiel mit rasanten Ortswechseln. Sequenzen wie aus einem fremden Tagebuch in Zwiesprache mit Traumschichten entfalten ihren Sog. „Eines Tages träumte ich, dass ich aus Schichten und Schichten von Träumen nicht aufwachen konnte.“ In Cassie Shaos Film umflutet der Erzählfluss Fragen um einen Todesfall – mit Karacho und poppig-surrealistisch.

Nadja Rademacher

Through the Weeping Glass: On the Consolations of Life Everlasting (Limbos & Afterbreezes in the Mütter Museum)

Animationsfilm
UK,
USA
2011
32 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

PRO BONO films, Atelier Koninck QbfZ
Brothers Quay
Timothy Nelson
Brothers Quay
Brothers Quay
Brothers Quay
Brothers Quay, David Spolum
Derek Jacobi
Brothers Quay
Als Studenten besuchten die Brothers Quay mit ihrer Zeichenklasse das Mütter Museum – ein äußerst einprägsames Erlebnis. Im Halbdunkel öffnete sich eine Welt der Dinge zwischen Wissenschaft, Kunst und Geschichten des Lebens. Vierzig Jahre später rücken sie ausgewählte Objekte der medizinischen Sammlung in Philadelphia ins Licht ihrer Betrachtung.

André Eckardt
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2019
Traveling While Black Roger Ross Williams, Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël, Ayesha Nadarajah

Das „Green Book“ war ein zwischen 1936 und 1966 erscheinender Überlebensratgeber für afroamerikanische US-Bürger.

2018

Traveling While Black

360°- Film
USA
2018
21 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Felix & Paul Studios
Roger Ross Williams, Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël, Ayesha Nadarajah
Jason Moran
Headspace
Das „Green Book“ war ein zwischen 1936 und 1966 erscheinender Überlebensratgeber für afroamerikanische US-Bürger. Um auf Inlandsreisen rassistischen Anfeindungen zu entgehen, wurden hier sichere Orte empfohlen. Seit 1958 gehörte „Ben’s Chili Bowl“ zu diesen Empfehlungen. Die intimen Sitzecken des Washingtoner Restaurants werden zu Reflektionsräumen für die bis heute bestehende rassistische Abwertung.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann