Film Archive

Strictly Animated
Balance Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein

Five lean figures are standing on a concrete platform hovering somewhere in some universe. Their co-existence literally becomes a balancing act.

Balance

Animated Film
FRG
1989
8 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein
Five lean figures are standing on a concrete platform hovering somewhere in some universe. Each of their movements disturbs the balance and puts the whole system at risk. Their co-existence becomes a balancing act … The German filmmakers Christoph and Wolfgang Lauenstein won the Oscar for Best Animated Short Film in 1990 for this puppet animation.

Duscha Kistler

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Besonders Wertvoll

Documentary Film
FRG
1968
11 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Hellmuth Costard
The scandal of Oberhausen in 1968: a penis, a conservative MP, a film funding act, a fart. Aren’t you ashamed of yourself?

Tobias Hering

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Retrospective
Cultural Nationalism Skip Norman

Black Power on a snowy meadow in West Berlin: a black child and a speech by Bobby Seale, co-founder of the Black Panther Party.

Cultural Nationalism

Documentary Film
FRG
1969
11 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
dffb
Skip Norman
Black Power on a snowy meadow in West Berlin: a black child and a speech by Bobby Seale, co-founder of the Black Panther Party.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Werkschau Lutz Dammbeck
Der Maler kam aus fremdem Land … Lutz Dammbeck

A portrait of the artists Cornelia Schleime, Hans-Hendrik Grimmling and Hans Scheib who left the GDR for West Berlin between 1984 and 1985.

Der Maler kam aus fremdem Land …

Documentary Film
FRG
1988
44 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Ulrich Lenze
Lutz Dammbeck
Carlo Inderhees
Eberhard Geick, Hartmut Lange
Ekkehard Faerber
Lutz Dammbeck
Karl-Heinz Laabs
“From a strange land the painter came, so here he is still quite unknown. From a strange world the painter came, so here he is quite on his own.” A portrait of the artists Cornelia Schleime, Hans-Hendrik Grimmling and Hans Scheib who left the GDR for West Berlin between 1984 and 1985. What became of their former subversive strategies and positions in “the West”? Were they still able to find common ground? Where was the force field feeding their art located now? This was the first film Dammbeck made in the FRG, and he had to shoot it twice because the original negative got lost on its way to the lab. When it turned up again, it was unusable. A farewell greeting from the old homeland?

Sven Safarow

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Retrospective
Der Reifenschneider und seine Frau Klaus Wildenhahn, Roland Hehn, Horst Schwaab

A portrait of two outsiders and their life at the margins: the margin of society in West Berlin and the margin of a West Berlin student rally.

Der Reifenschneider und seine Frau

Documentary Film
FRG
1968
64 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
dffb
Klaus Wildenhahn, Roland Hehn, Horst Schwaab
Roland Hehn
Roland Hehn
Klaus Wildenhahn
Hilde Brahms, Schorsch Markgraf
A portrait of two outsiders and their life at the margins: the margin of society in West Berlin and the margin of a West Berlin student rally.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Des Lebens Wunderhorn

Documentary Film
FRG
1968
10 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Institut für Filmgestaltung Ulm
Marion Zemann
The life of a young Swabian bakery employee. A vague longing for something else lurks between the phrases and images of her everyday life.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Retrospective
Exprmntl 4 Knokke Claudia von Alemann, Reinhold E. Thiel

This was really broadcast on television once: a 45-minute report about an experimental film festival in the Belgian town of Knokke.

Exprmntl 4 Knokke

Documentary Film
FRG
1967
43 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Claudia von Alemann, Reinhold E. Thiel
Horst Brever
Hansjosef Hüls
Claudia von Alemann, Reinhold E. Thiel
Manfred Maenicke
This was really broadcast on television once: a 45-minute report about an experimental film festival in the Belgian town of Knokke.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Werner Herzog
Herakles Werner Herzog

Werner Herzog’s heroes often have to face physical challenges. “Herakles” conjures up the mythical hero who had twelve labours to perform that called for extraordinary muscular strength.

Herakles

Documentary Film
FRG
1962
10 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Werner Herzog, Walter Krüttner
Werner Herzog
Uwe Brandner
Jaime Pacheco
Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog’s heroes often have to face physical challenges. “Herakles” conjures up the mythical hero who had twelve labours to perform that called for extraordinary muscular strength. To this end, Herzog presents bodybuilders lifting weights and posing in front of mirrors, intercut with pictures of garbage dumps and bomber pilots. The then 19-year-old director shot his first work on 35 mm film. What attracted him was handling footage from different sources, including shots of “Mister Germany 1962”, which he intercut with his own material.

Kristina Jaspers

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Programmhinweise

Documentary Film
FRG
1968
10 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Christiane Gehner
Christian Bau
Christiane Gehner
Christiane Gehner
Klaus Wyborny
A feminist pamphlet by Christiane Gehner from the 1970 Hamburger Filmschau. A hit at the time, lost for decades and now rediscovered.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Retrospective
White Christmas Harun Farocki

Christmas and war. Affirmation or denunciation? “At least the American war in Vietnam should be denounced,” Harun Farocki concludes.

White Christmas

Documentary Film
FRG
1968
4 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
dffb
Harun Farocki
Skip Norman
Harun Farocki
Harun Farocki
Christmas and war. Affirmation or denunciation? “At least the American war in Vietnam should be denounced,” Harun Farocki concludes.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Werner Herzog
Wodaabe – Die Hirten der Sonne Werner Herzog

Asked whether his documentary films are ethnological studies, Herzog prefers to compare them to ancient chronicles which record collective dreams.

Wodaabe – Die Hirten der Sonne

Documentary Film
FRG
1988
51 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Patrick Sandrin, Jörg Dattler, Catherine Jacques
Werner Herzog
Jörg Schmidt-Reitwein
Maximiliane Mainka
Werner Herzog
Walter Saxer
Werner Herzog
Asked whether his documentary films are ethnological studies, Herzog prefers to compare them to ancient chronicles which record collective dreams and the mental condition of humanity rather than apparent reality. In “Wodaabe”, Herzog portrays the rites and feasts of a tribe of nomads in the Sahara. Special attention is paid to the Guérewol feast, a lavish beauty competition lasting several days where the heavily made-up and costumed men are chosen by the women. Herzog sets this to a version of Gounod’s “Ave Maria” performed by a castrato, thus achieving a surprising and touching alienation effect.

Kristina Jaspers

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Strictly Animated
Balance Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein

Auf einer frei schwebenden Betonplattform, irgendwo in einem Universum, stehen fünf hagere Gestalten, deren Miteinander buchstäblich zum Balanceakt wird.

Balance

Animationsfilm
BRD
1989
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein
Christoph Lauenstein, Wolfgang Lauenstein
Auf einer frei schwebenden Betonplattform, irgendwo in einem Universum, stehen fünf hagere Gestalten. Jede ihrer Bewegungen hat ein Ungleichgewicht zur Folge und bedeutet Gefahr für das gesamte System. Ihr Miteinander wird zu einem Balanceakt … Die deutschen Filmemacher Christoph und Wolfgang Lauenstein erhielten für ihren Puppentrickfilm 1990 den Oscar für den besten animierten Kurzfilm.

Duscha Kistler

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Retrospektive
Besonders Wertvoll Hellmuth Costard

Der Skandal von Oberhausen 1968: Ein Penis, ein CDU-Abgeordneter, ein Filmförderungsgesetz, ein Furz.

Besonders Wertvoll

Dokumentarfilm
BRD
1968
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Hellmuth Costard
Der Skandal von Oberhausen 1968: Ein Penis, ein CDU-Abgeordneter, ein Filmförderungsgesetz, ein Furz. Schämen Sie sich nicht?

Tobias Hering

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Retrospektive
Cultural Nationalism Skip Norman

Black Power auf einer verschneiten Wiese in Westberlin: ein schwarzes Kind und eine Rede von Bobby Seale, Mitbegründer der Black Panther Party.

Cultural Nationalism

Dokumentarfilm
BRD
1969
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
dffb
Skip Norman
Black Power auf einer verschneiten Wiese in Westberlin: ein schwarzes Kind und eine Rede von Bobby Seale, Mitbegründer der Black Panther Party.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Werkschau Lutz Dammbeck
Der Maler kam aus fremdem Land … Lutz Dammbeck

Porträt der zwischen 1984 und 1985 aus der DDR nach Westberlin ausgereisten Künstler Cornelia Schleime, Hans-Hendrik Grimmling und Hans Scheib.

Der Maler kam aus fremdem Land …

Dokumentarfilm
BRD
1988
44 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Ulrich Lenze
Lutz Dammbeck
Carlo Inderhees
Eberhard Geick, Hartmut Lange
Ekkehard Faerber
Lutz Dammbeck
Karl-Heinz Laabs
„Der Maler kam aus fremdem Land, drum ist er hier noch unbekannt. Er kam aus einer fremden Welt, drum ist er hier auf sich gestellt.“ Porträt der zwischen 1984 und 1985 aus der DDR nach Westberlin ausgereisten Künstler Cornelia Schleime, Hans-Hendrik Grimmling und Hans Scheib. Was wurde „im Westen“ aus vormals subversiven Strategien und Haltungen? Ließen sich alte Gemeinsamkeiten fortsetzen? Wo lag nun das Kraftfeld für ihre Kunst? Dies war der erste Film, den Dammbeck in der BRD gedreht hat. Und er musste ihn zweimal drehen, weil das Originalnegativ auf dem Weg ins Kopierwerk verschwand. Als es wieder auftauchte, war es unbenutzbar. Ein Abschiedsgruß aus der alten Heimat?

Sven Safarow

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Retrospektive
Der Reifenschneider und seine Frau Klaus Wildenhahn, Roland Hehn, Horst Schwaab

Porträt zweier Außenseiter und ihres Lebens am Rand: am Rand der Westberliner Gesellschaft und am Rand einer Westberliner Studentendemonstration.

Der Reifenschneider und seine Frau

Dokumentarfilm
BRD
1968
64 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
dffb
Klaus Wildenhahn, Roland Hehn, Horst Schwaab
Roland Hehn
Roland Hehn
Klaus Wildenhahn
Hilde Brahms, Schorsch Markgraf
Porträt zweier Außenseiter und ihres Lebens am Rand: am Rand der Westberliner Gesellschaft und am Rand einer Westberliner Studentendemonstration.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Des Lebens Wunderhorn

Dokumentarfilm
BRD
1968
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Institut für Filmgestaltung Ulm
Marion Zemann
Die Existenz einer jungen Bäckereiarbeiterin in Schwaben. Ein vages Begehren nach etwas anderem lauert zwischen ihren Sätzen und den Bildern ihres Alltags.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Retrospektive
Exprmntl 4 Knokke Claudia von Alemann, Reinhold E. Thiel

Das hat es wirklich einmal im Fernsehen gegeben: ein dreiviertelstündiger Bericht über ein Experimentalfilmfestival im belgischen Knokke.

Exprmntl 4 Knokke

Dokumentarfilm
BRD
1967
43 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Claudia von Alemann, Reinhold E. Thiel
Horst Brever
Hansjosef Hüls
Claudia von Alemann, Reinhold E. Thiel
Manfred Maenicke
Das hat es wirklich einmal im Fernsehen gegeben: ein dreiviertelstündiger Bericht über ein Experimentalfilmfestival im belgischen Knokke.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hommage Werner Herzog
Herakles Werner Herzog

Werner Herzogs Helden müssen sich oft besonderen physischen Herausforderungen stellen. „Herakles“ erinnert an den mythischen Heroen, der zwölf Aufgaben zu erfüllen hatte, die besondere Muskelkraft erfordern.

Herakles

Dokumentarfilm
BRD
1962
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Werner Herzog, Walter Krüttner
Werner Herzog
Uwe Brandner
Jaime Pacheco
Werner Herzog
Werner Herzogs Helden müssen sich oft besonderen physischen Herausforderungen stellen. „Herakles“ erinnert an den mythischen Heroen, der zwölf Aufgaben zu erfüllen hatte, die besondere Muskelkraft erfordern. Herzog setzt hierfür Bodybuilder groß in Szene, die Gewichte stemmen und vor Spiegeln posieren, und kontrastiert dies mit Bildern von Müllhalden und Kampffliegern. Sein Erstlingswerk drehte der damals 19-jährige Regisseur bereits auf 35-mm-Film. Ihn reizte der Umgang mit verschiedenen Footage-Materialien, darunter Aufnahmen von „Mister Germany 1962“, die er im Schnitt mit den eigenen Bildern montierte.

Kristina Jaspers

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Programmhinweise

Dokumentarfilm
BRD
1968
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Christiane Gehner
Christian Bau
Christiane Gehner
Christiane Gehner
Klaus Wyborny
Feministisches Pamphlet von Christiane Gehner aus der Hamburger Filmschau 1970. Damals ein Hit, dann jahrzehntelang verschollen und nun wiederentdeckt.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Retrospektive
White Christmas Harun Farocki

Weihnachten und Krieg. Affirmation oder Denunziation? „Jedenfalls der Krieg der Amerikaner in Vietnam soll denunziert werden“, so Harun Farocki.

White Christmas

Dokumentarfilm
BRD
1968
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
dffb
Harun Farocki
Skip Norman
Harun Farocki
Harun Farocki
Weihnachten und Krieg. Affirmation oder Denunziation? „Jedenfalls der Krieg der Amerikaner in Vietnam soll denunziert werden“, so Harun Farocki.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hommage Werner Herzog
Wodaabe – Die Hirten der Sonne Werner Herzog

Ob seine Dokumentarfilme ethnologische Studien seien? Herzog vergleicht seine Werke lieber mit alten Chroniken, die weniger die vermeintliche Realität als vielmehr kollektive Träume.

Wodaabe – Die Hirten der Sonne

Dokumentarfilm
BRD
1988
51 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Patrick Sandrin, Jörg Dattler, Catherine Jacques
Werner Herzog
Jörg Schmidt-Reitwein
Maximiliane Mainka
Werner Herzog
Walter Saxer
Werner Herzog
Ob seine Dokumentarfilme ethnologische Studien seien? Herzog vergleicht seine Werke lieber mit alten Chroniken, die weniger die vermeintliche Realität als vielmehr kollektive Träume und die psychische Verfasstheit des Menschen verzeichnen. In „Wodaabe“ porträtiert Herzog die Riten und Feste eines Nomadenvolks in der Sahara. Einen besonderen Raum nimmt die Guérewol-Feier ein, ein aufwändiger, mehrtägiger Schönheitswettbewerb, bei dem die stark geschminkten und kostümierten Männer von den Frauen ausgewählt werden. Herzog spielt dazu das von einem Kastraten gesungene „Ave Maria“ von Gounod ein und erreicht damit einen überraschenden und berührenden Verfremdungseffekt.

Kristina Jaspers

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.