Film Archive

Countries

Confession

Documentary Film
1968
17 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Pavol Sýkora
Ilja Zeljenka
Mikuláš Fodor
Štefan Fuzia
Pavol Sýkora
Eduard Palček
A prison film with a touch of Existentialism follows daily routines of a young woman and her fellow inmates: gatherings at the yard, work, hygiene, and quiet stares out of the barred window. Her fate was sealed long before she committed any crime because neither her family, nor our society could give her a hand when she needed it.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Hands

Documentary Film
1963
10 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jozef Zachar
Viktor Svoboda
Alfréd Benčič
Jozef Zachar
Eugen Kiss
A non-narrative, poetic film examines different ways our hands can be utilized – they can show aggression, but also create beauty; they can help children to explore the world, and they can be raised as a sign of surrender. Images are juxtaposed to underline the importance of what is outside of the frame – the human agent.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Men from the Gader Valley

Documentary Film
1963
10 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Ladislav Kudelka
Ilja Zeljenka
Viliam Ptáček
Anna Forischová
Ladislav Kudelka
Alexander Pallós
The film follows hard work of a group of woodcutters who dwell in the forest far away from civilization. They live in silence which is interrupted only by sound of chopping axes and falling trees. A haunting soundtrack to their toil was composed by a pioneer of electro-acoustic music, Ilja Zeljenka.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Brothers Quay
Pearls of the Deep – Segment: At the World Cafeteria Věra Chytilová

Based on Bohumil Hrabal’s short stories, “Pearls of the Deep”, an eponymous omnibus film was produced in 1966 and became a manifesto of the Czech New Wave.

Pearls of the Deep – Segment: At the World Cafeteria

Feature Film
1966
22 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Filmové studio Barrandov
Věra Chytilová
Jan Klusák
Jaroslav Kučera
Jiřina Lukešová, Miroslav Hájek
Věra Chytilová
Blažej Bernard
Věra Mrázková, Vladimír Boudník, Alžběta Laštovková, Václav Chochola, Jan Vala, Aleš Košnar, Bohumil Hrabal
Based on Bohumil Hrabal’s collection of short stories, “Pearls of the Deep”, an eponymous omnibus film was produced in 1966 and became a manifesto of the Czech New Wave. Věra Chytilová adapted one of the stories, which begins in the “World” cafeteria with a drunken wedding and a young woman’s suicide. Starting in half-documentary neon light, the film increasingly takes on somnambulistic characteristics.

André Eckardt

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Photographing the House-Dwellers

Documentary Film
1968
16 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Dušan Trančík
Vladimír Holloš
Dušan Trančík
Dušan Trančík
Eduard Palček
A traditional, multigenerational family gathers in front of a partially built country house at various occasions. Metamorphoses of the building itself, family growth, amusing and sad events, all of it calls for collective photography. Admiration of simple man’s diligence complements ironic emphasis on a paradox of grand illusions vs. everyday reality – comforts of socialism which came at a heavy price.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Water and Work

Documentary Film
1963
9 minutes
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Martin Slivka
Ilja Zeljenka
Jozef Grussmann
Alfréd Benčič
Martin Slivka
Eugen Kiss
This directorial debut by a pioneer of ethnographic film is a survey on technical monuments utilizing water drive as a source of their power. A look back into the world of yesterday using suggestive montage of images and music composed by Ilja Zeljenka based on electronically preserved original sound of water engines.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

History of 8s

Documentary Film
1968
12 minutes
subtitles: 
German
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jaromír Kallista
Václav Táborský
František Vlček
Marie Křížková
Václav Táborský
Benjamin Astrug
1968, another eight in a long row of fateful years: 1618, the Defenestration of Prague. 1918, the founding of Czechoslovakia. 1938, the Munich Agreement.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Oratorio for Prague

Documentary Film
1968
29 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Claude Berri, Jean-Pierre Rassam
Jan Němec
Ladislav Štaidl
Stanislav Szomolányi
The major key of enthusiasm turns into the minor key of crushed hopes in this film, shot clandestinely and smuggled abroad.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Retrospective
The Wake Vlado Kubenko, Peter Mihálik, Dušan Trančík

What is the political significance of the death of Jan Palach, who publicly burned himself in protest against the “sister state” invasion of the ČSSR?

The Wake

Documentary Film
1969
24 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
L’ubomír Jurčo
Vlado Kubenko, Peter Mihálik, Dušan Trančík
Alexander Strelinger, Pavel Čilek, Ervín Potocký, Alojz Hanúsek, Vladimír Holloš, Jozef Müller
Anna Forischová
Vlado Kubenko, Peter Mihálik, Dušan Trančík
Alexander Pallós, Július Santoris
Igor Fábry
What is the political significance of the death of Jan Palach, who publicly burned himself in protest against the “sister state” invasion of the ČSSR?

Tobias Hering

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Post-Angst
Down to the Cellar Jan Švankmajer

A little girl is confronted with her fears in the cellar, because it’s haunted not only by the neighbours but by objects, too.

Down to the Cellar

Animated Film
1982
15 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jan Švankmajer
Juraj Galvánek
Jan Švankmajer
A little girl is confronted with her fears in the cellar, because it’s haunted not only by the neighbours but by objects, too.

Franziska Bruckner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Jabberwocky

Animated Film
1971
14 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marta Šichová, Jiří Vanek, Erna Kmínková
Jan Švankmajer
Zdeněk Liška
Helena Lebdušková
Vlasta Pospíšilová
Zdeněk Liška
Everything has its use. And a life of its own, too. A wardrobe wanders through the forest, harbouring a nursery where toy dolls and household articles compete in an over-the-top, destructive show accompanied by Lewis Carroll’s poem “Jabberwocky”. Jan Švankmajer’s production ranks among the classics of surreal object animation.

Ines Seifert

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Countries

Confession

Dokumentarfilm
1968
17 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Pavol Sýkora
Ilja Zeljenka
Mikuláš Fodor
Štefan Fuzia
Pavol Sýkora
Eduard Palček
Ein Gefängnisfilm mit einem Hauch von Existenzialismus folgt dem Alltag einer jungen Frau und ihrer Mithäftlinge: Treffen auf dem Hof, Arbeit, Hygiene und aus dem vergitterten Fenster starren. Ihr Schicksal war besiegelt, lange bevor sie ein Verbrechen beging, denn weder ihre Familie noch die Gesellschaft haben ihr geholfen, als sie es gebraucht hätte.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hands

Dokumentarfilm
1963
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jozef Zachar
Viktor Svoboda
Alfréd Benčič
Jozef Zachar
Eugen Kiss
Dieser fast experimentell und sehr poetische Film zeigt Hände und die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten, wie sie genutzt werden können: sie können Aggression zeigen, aber auch Schönheit schaffen; sie können Kindern helfen, die Welt zu erforschen oder als Zeichen der Hingabe erhoben werden. Die Bilder werden gegenübergestellt, um die Bedeutung dessen zu unterstreichen, was außerhalb des Bildes liegt - der menschliche Akteur.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Men from the Gader Valley

Dokumentarfilm
1963
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Ladislav Kudelka
Ilja Zeljenka
Viliam Ptáček
Anna Forischová
Ladislav Kudelka
Alexander Pallós
Der Film folgt der Arbeit einer Gruppe von Holzfällern, die weit weg von der Zivilisation irgendwo im Wald siedeln. Sie leben in Stille, die nur durch das Geräusch von Äxten und fallenden Bäumen unterbrochen wird. Der eindringliche Filmsound wurde von der Pionierin der elektroakustischen Musik, Ilja Zeljenka, komponiert.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hommage Brothers Quay
Pearls of the Deep – Segment: At the World Cafeteria Věra Chytilová

Basierend auf Bohumil Hrabals Erzählband „Perlen auf dem Meeresgrund“ entstand 1966 mit dem gleichnamigen Episodenfilm ein Manifest der tschechischen Neuen Welle.

Pearls of the Deep – Segment: At the World Cafeteria

Spielfilm
1966
22 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Filmové studio Barrandov
Věra Chytilová
Jan Klusák
Jaroslav Kučera
Jiřina Lukešová, Miroslav Hájek
Věra Chytilová
Blažej Bernard
Věra Mrázková, Vladimír Boudník, Alžběta Laštovková, Václav Chochola, Jan Vala, Aleš Košnar, Bohumil Hrabal
Basierend auf Bohumil Hrabals Erzählband „Perlen auf dem Meeresgrund“ entstand 1966 mit dem gleichnamigen Episodenfilm ein Manifest der tschechischen Neuen Welle. Věra Chytilová adaptiert eine der Geschichten, die im Stehimbiss „Welt“ mit einer trunkenen Hochzeit und dem Suizid einer jungen Frau beginnt. Zuerst halbdokumentarisch in Neonlicht gesetzt, nimmt der Film zunehmend traumwandlerische Züge an.

André Eckardt

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Photographing the House-Dwellers

Dokumentarfilm
1968
16 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Dušan Trančík
Vladimír Holloš
Dušan Trančík
Dušan Trančík
Eduard Palček
Eine große Familie trifft sich zu verschiedenen Anlässen vor dem Rohbau ihres Hauses. Veränderungen des Gebäudes, Familienzuwachs, freudige und traurige Ereignisse, alles festgehalten mit der Fotokamera.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Special Screening
Water and Work Martin Slivka

Regiedebüt eines Pioniers des ethnographischen Films mit Blick auf technische Denkmäler, die den Wasserantrieb als Quelle ihrer Macht nutzen.

Water and Work

Dokumentarfilm
1963
9 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Martin Slivka
Ilja Zeljenka
Jozef Grussmann
Alfréd Benčič
Martin Slivka
Eugen Kiss
Dieses Regiedebüt eines Pioniers des ethnographischen Films ist ein Blick auf technische Denkmäler, die den Wasserantrieb als Quelle ihrer Macht nutzen. Ein Rückblick in die Welt von gestern in suggestiver Komposition von Bildern und Musik, basierend auf dem elektronisch erhaltenen Originalsound von Wassermotoren.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

History of 8s

Dokumentarfilm
1968
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jaromír Kallista
Václav Táborský
František Vlček
Marie Křížková
Václav Táborský
Benjamin Astrug
1968, eine weitere Acht in einer langen Reihe tschechischer Schicksalsjahre: 1618, Prager Fenstersturz. 1918, Gründung der ČSSR. 1938, Münchner Abkommen.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Oratorio for Prague

Dokumentarfilm
1968
29 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Claude Berri, Jean-Pierre Rassam
Jan Němec
Ladislav Štaidl
Stanislav Szomolányi
In diesem klandestin gedrehten und ins Ausland geschmuggelten Film schlägt das Dur des Enthusiasmus ins Moll der niedergewalzten Hoffnungen um.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Retrospektive
The Wake Vlado Kubenko, Peter Mihálik, Dušan Trančík

Worin besteht der politische Sinn des Todes von Jan Palach, der sich aus Protest gegen den „bruderstaatlichen“ Einmarsch in die ČSSR öffentlich verbrannte?

The Wake

Dokumentarfilm
1969
24 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
L’ubomír Jurčo
Vlado Kubenko, Peter Mihálik, Dušan Trančík
Alexander Strelinger, Pavel Čilek, Ervín Potocký, Alojz Hanúsek, Vladimír Holloš, Jozef Müller
Anna Forischová
Vlado Kubenko, Peter Mihálik, Dušan Trančík
Alexander Pallós, Július Santoris
Igor Fábry
Worin besteht der politische Sinn des Todes von Jan Palach, der sich aus Protest gegen den „bruderstaatlichen“ Einmarsch in die ČSSR öffentlich verbrannte?

Tobias Hering

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Nach der Angst
Down to the Cellar Jan Švankmajer

Im Keller wird ein kleines Mädchen mit seinen Ängsten konfrontiert. Denn dort treiben nicht nur die Nachbarn ihr Unwesen, sondern auch die Dinge.

Down to the Cellar

Animationsfilm
1982
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jan Švankmajer
Juraj Galvánek
Jan Švankmajer
Im Keller wird ein kleines Mädchen mit seinen Ängsten konfrontiert. Denn dort treiben nicht nur die Nachbarn ihr Unwesen, sondern auch die Dinge.

Franziska Bruckner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Jabberwocky

Animationsfilm
1971
14 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marta Šichová, Jiří Vanek, Erna Kmínková
Jan Švankmajer
Zdeněk Liška
Helena Lebdušková
Vlasta Pospíšilová
Zdeněk Liška
Jedes Ding hat einen Nutzen. Und ein Leben darüber hinaus. Ein Schrank zieht durch den Wald und birgt in sich ein Kinderzimmer. Hier liefern sich Spielzeugpuppen und Haushaltsgegenstände eine überdrehte, destruktive Show, begleitet von Lewis Carrolls „Jabberwocky“-Gedicht. Jan Švankmajers Inszenierung gilt als Klassiker der surrealen Objektanimation.

Ines Seifert

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.