Film Archive

1813 – Gott mit uns

Animated Film
Germany
2013
3 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Strauß
Schwarwel
Ludwig van Beethoven
Thomas Reichl
Schwarwel, Dirk Reddig
Schwarwel
Maik Hartung
In October 1813, the decisive battle in the wars of liberation against Napoleon’s foreign rule – the Battle of the Nations – took place near Leipzig. More than 92,000 of the roughly 600,000 soldiers from over a dozen nations lead into this battle were killed or wounded. A typhus epidemic following the battle claimed many more victims among Leipzig’s civilian population. This fully animated film by Leipzig-born comic strip artist Schwarwel shows these victims, the war, destruction and suffering. “1813 – God With Us” is a film to promote community.
Film Unlimited 2013
6:30 Collection

A mass society sends masses of letters, which are now sorted, classified and sent on their way at assembly lines and with the help of machines. The film follows this process with barely concealed enthusiasm. It is considered to be the first documentary that uses only live sound, while demonstrating that sound is capable of much more than just “documentation” ...

UK

UK
1934

6:30 Collection

Animadoc
UK
1934
15 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

John Grierson, GPO Film Unit
J. D. Davidson
Harry Watt
J. Cox
A mass society sends masses of letters, which are now sorted, classified and sent on their way at assembly lines and with the help of machines. The film follows this process with barely concealed enthusiasm. It is considered to be the first documentary that uses only live sound, while demonstrating that sound is capable of much more than just “documentation”. Note the visual-sound-editing, especially the credit motif, which was recorded by the whole studio staff (including Grierson and Wright) using various props like a beer bottle, a projection machine and sand paper.

---Grit Lemke
Film Unlimited 2013
A Chairy Tale Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra

A wooden chair rejects a man who wants to sit down on it and starts to move with a will of its own. After the first consternation, the man’s ambition is kindled and the two begin a bizarre dance which ends in

1957

A Chairy Tale

Animadoc
Canada
1957
10 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra
Ravi Shankar, Chatur Lal, Maurice Blackburn
Evelyn Lambart
A wooden chair rejects a man who wants to sit down on it and starts to move with a will of its own. After the first consternation, the man’s ambition is kindled and the two begin a bizarre dance which ends in mutual consent.
“A Chairy Tale” developed the pixilation technique with which McLaren had already experimented in his surprise hit “Neighbours” further. He created alternative versions of the text editions that were also published by the NFB for this extraordinary dance film. The music was the contribution of a then largely unknown Indian musician: Ravi Shankar.

---Annegret Richter
Film Unlimited 2013
A Colour Box

When the young Norman McLaren saw “A Colour Box”, he knew that this was exactly what he wanted to do. Made without a camera and drawn directly on the celluloid ...

UK

UK
1935

A Colour Box

Animadoc
UK
1935
4 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

John Grierson, GPO Film Unit
Don Baretto and his Cuban Orchestra
When the young Norman McLaren saw “A Colour Box”, he knew that this was exactly what he wanted to do. Made without a camera and drawn directly on the celluloid, the success of this film (even though audiences first were shocked and jeered at it) established direct animation as a technique of its own. The slightly jazzy, dancing promotion of the Post Office at the end may have served to justify the production of such a work by a government institution, but Grierson explicitly considered such films as an enrichment of the GPO canon.

---Grit Lemke

A Folk Troupe

Documentary Film
China
2013
62 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gang Zhao, Cherelle Zheng
Gang Zhao
Qian Ge, Deng Gang
Luo Quan
Lin Yan
Liu Jian
It’s not exactly a life of ease for the travelling showmen. A theatre company of eleven move into a provisional domicile in a garage-like hall right next to a large construction site on the outskirts of Chengdu, a business centre in the southwest of China. Here a special tradition of the Beijing Opera, the Sichuan Opera, has developed over the years. The actors perform a different play every day. From childhood on, they have learned the secrets of the artfully stilted songs and the sophisticated choreographies of changing the elaborate masks for the three- to four-hour performances. Century-old tales are repeated again and again. But life on the road is far from romantic. They are stuck in Chengdu because they have no money for travelling on; bureaucrats are unwilling to issue permissions, the company is caught in internal disputes, and the mood is tense. The audience on their simple wooden chairs are worn-down figures whose furrowed faces indicate a life of deprivation. The contrast to the colourful productions on stage, whose titles, like “In the Land of Plenty”, hold magnificent promises, couldn’t be bigger. The audience may just about be able to afford this kind of travelling opera, but it’s an unmistakeable swan song. Another piece of cultural history about to get lost …

Cornelia Klauß



Prize of the Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique 2013

International Competition Animated Film (until 2014) 2013
A Girl Named Elastika Guillaume Blanchet

Elastika is not like any other girl, because she is made of elastics. And because her universe is made of cork. Her journey is also one of a kind, as she jumps from one building to another, crosses an ocean, or travels to space by holding on to a firework rocket.

A Girl Named Elastika

Animated Film
Canada
2012
3 minutes
subtitles: 
French

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
Bamprod
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet, Minh Tran
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
François Bélanger, Pierre-Hugues Rondot
Elastika is not like any other girl, because she is made of elastics. And because her universe is made of cork. Her journey is also one of a kind, as she jumps from one building to another, crosses an ocean, or travels to space by holding on to a firework rocket.
Cross Media Screening 2013
A Journal of Insomnia

The world of insomnia as an interactive self-experience. Personal stories and staged encounters form a psychological profile of Western society. Intimate, but also disturbing.

A Journal of Insomnia

Documentary Film
Canada
2013
45 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hugues Sweeney
What is it, what keeps us up at night? The interactive documentary looks into this question inviting users to immerse in the universe of insomnia – a phenomenon that is linked to stress and anxiety and affects one in three people in our contemporary society. Moving beyond the narrative boundaries of the documentary form, “A Journal of Insomnia” collects personal stories of insomnia via video, text and drawings and creates a collaborative experience of affected people from across the world. The revealing testimony of four insomniacs in particular offers an intimate experience of a distressing condition that is usually experienced in solitude.
Retrospective 2013
A Letter to Dad Srđan Keča

The war made Srđan Keča discover facets of his father he didn’t know. After the latter’s death, he sets out to find traces of those hidden, suppressed traits.

A Letter to Dad

Documentary Film
Serbia
2012
48 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Srđan Keča
Srđan Keča
Alcyona Mick
Srđan Keča
Katherine Lee
Tudor Petre
The war made Srđan Keča discover facets of his father he didn’t know. After the latter’s death, he sets out to find traces of those hidden, suppressed traits.

Olaf Möller

A Tangled Tale

Animated Film
USA
2012
6 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Corrie Francis Parks
Corrie Francis Parks
Mark Orton
Corrie Francis Parks
Cole Pierce
In this unusual romance, hand-tinted sand becomes a metaphor for two souls as they join and separate. A lonely fish, hooked by an angler's line, encounters another in the same dire situation.

Ab Ovo

Animated Film
Poland
2013
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marcin Malatyński
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
George Antoniv
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
The film shows a new life waking up and the transformation of a female body which loses its former shape. The physical sensation becomes increasingly more distinct until the moment when the baby leaves the boundaries of the mothers body.

Abdullah

Animadoc
Germany
2013
9 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Holger Lochau
Jakob Besuch
Oleg Hollmann
Jakob Besuch
Jakob Besuch
“His name is Abdullah”, the doctor in the hospital tells the mother whose son just had a psychotic episode. For the first time in his life, Abdullah feels that he is regarded as an autonomous individual. A film about prejudices, narrated by Abdullah himself.

Alppikatu 25 – Home to the Homeless

Documentary Film
Finland
2012
27 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cilla Werning, Liisa Juntunen
Inka Achté, Marika Väisänen
Graham Hadfield
Sari Aaltonen, Daniel Lindholm, Tuomas Järvelä
Hannele Majaniemi
Alppikatu Street No. 25 has been the address of a shelter for the homeless in Helsinki since 1937. A place for men who have no place of their own. Men without a past? “Create your own memories”, says the motto on a piece of paper pinned to the wall. And yet the memories and traces of the lives of many people who have made a minimal home here, if only temporary, are stored in the monotonous architecture, whose long, bare corridors and narrow cells make one think of a prison. Five of them tell their stories. For a moment, the film delves into each of their interior worlds using only their voices, to which subtle sound collages are added. Visually, the men are never more than phantoms. Sometimes they are caught in the blurriness of the room, sometimes they seem near stagnation. Only the cigarette smoke appears to move. The room, on the other hand, offers no resistance to the exploring camera, as if it could really tell us something about its inhabitants. The abstract brushes shoulders with the concrete, time brushes the room.

Lars Meyer

Amen!

Animated Film
Germany
2012
5 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Moritz Mayerhofer, Bettina Morlock
Moritz Mayerhofer
Wilhelm Stegmeier
Assen Semov
Moritz Mayerhofer
Damir Simovski, Mai Nguyen, Ania Plocica, Karl Krause
Moritz Mayerhofer
Dominik Avenwedde
What would God do if he could see how his word is preached to the people? A wicked and funny parable about a clergyman who goes completely over the top in a sermon for his last guest.
International Programme 2013
American Vagabond Susanna Helke

After his coming-out, teenager James is disowned by his parents and lives in the streets of San Francisco – until everything turns out differently. A touching coming-of-age drama.

American Vagabond

Documentary Film
Finland
2013
85 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cilla Werning
Susanna Helke
Samuli Kosminen
Susanna Helke, Marko Luukkonen
Niels Pagh Andersen
It was never to be mentioned again, because if it wasn’t allowed it couldn’t be. But contrary to his father’s verdict, James did not become a “real” boy who loves hunting and fishing, but the worst this American middle-class family were able to imagine. So they threw their gay teenage son out of their home and left him to his fate as one of thousands of homeless adolescents in the States. Up to forty percent of them live on the streets because they belong to a “sexual minority”.
Susanne Helke accompanies James and Tyler, the love of his life, through the dirty streets and dark parks of San Francisco, the “gayest city in the world”. Instead of the hoped-for paradise they find themselves freezing, hungry, and marginalised, even by the established gay community. But things turn out differently: after the first part, where James tells his story from off screen, the second part is about his absence – he‘s behind bars as a “sexual offender”. Because while even his conservative family are now ready to reconsider their opinion, the “mother country of democracy” has nothing but severity against everything that’s different from the mainstream. This atmospheric and careful film is an equally tender and shocking coming-of-age story and at the same time a passionate plea to love your fellow human beings unconditionally.

Grit Lemke

Amílcar Cabral, the week of information, September 1972, Conakry

Documentary Film
(none)
1972
7 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

José Bolama, Josefina Crato, Sana na N’Hada, Flora Gomes

Among Women

Documentary Film
Netherlands
2012
52 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hasse van Nunen
Kim Brand
Harry de Wit
Suzan van Steenwijk
Joël Hielckert
Hips move rhythmically, bodies become entwined, a sexual dance is practised which at some point leads to a climax that will transport the dancer to another level. We are not in some night club in a European metropolis; we are among women in Zambia preparing each other for marriage. This is where they learn how to stay in control during intercourse, which naturally includes women pleasuring themselves. This is also where women are familiarised with the sight of the blood of defloration by making them cut the throat of a chicken clamped between their thighs. But women are not to behave like chickens under any circumstances! At any rate, it is said that after completing this course the ladies are able to carry their marriage, including the husband involved, “like a burden on their heads”.
Kim Brand approaches the rituals and thinking of another culture, not least by reflecting on her own relationship back home in Holland, opening quite original perspectives on the experience of pride, freedom, and happiness. An instructive film from every angle. We’re welcome to applaud these women at the end, as they do only after completing the act with their husband.

Claudia Lehmann

Filmarchiv

1813 – Gott mit uns

Animationsfilm
2013
3 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sandra Strauß
Schwarwel
Ludwig van Beethoven
Thomas Reichl
Schwarwel, Dirk Reddig
Schwarwel
Maik Hartung
Im Oktober 1813 fand bei Leipzig die Entscheidungsschlacht der Befreiungskriege gegen die napoleonische Fremdherrschaft – die Völkerschlacht – statt. Von den rund 600.000 in die Schlacht geführten Soldaten aus über einem Dutzend Völkern wurden mehr als 92.000 getötet oder verwundet. Viele weitere Opfer unter der Leipziger Zivilbevölkerung forderte eine der Schlacht folgende Typhus-Epidemie. Der vollanimierte Film des gebürtigen Leipziger Comiczeichners Schwarwel handelt von diesen Opfern, vom Krieg, von Zerstörung und Leid. „1813 – Gott mit uns“ ist ein Film für das Miteinander.
Film Unlimited
6:30 Collection

Eine Massengesellschaft versendet massenhaft Briefe, die nun an Fließbändern und mit der Hilfe von Maschinen sortiert, zugeordnet und auf die Reise geschickt werden. Mit kaum verhohlener Begeisterung begleitet der Film diesen Prozess. Er gilt nicht nur als erster Dokumentarfilm, der komplett mit Originalton arbeitet, sondern zeigt zugleich, dass Ton weit mehr kann als nur zu „dokumentieren“ ...

UK

GB
1934

6:30 Collection

Animadok
1934
15 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
John Grierson, GPO Film Unit
J. D. Davidson
Harry Watt
J. Cox
Eine Massengesellschaft versendet massenhaft Briefe, die nun an Fließbändern und mit der Hilfe von Maschinen sortiert, zugeordnet und auf die Reise geschickt werden. Mit kaum verhohlener Begeisterung begleitet der Film diesen Prozess. Er gilt nicht nur als erster Dokumentarfilm, der komplett mit Originalton arbeitet, sondern zeigt zugleich, dass Ton weit mehr kann als nur zu „dokumentieren“. Man achte auf die Bild-Ton-Montage und vor allem auf das Titelmotiv – das alle Studiomitarbeiter (einschließlich Grierson und Wright) mittels verschiedener Requisiten wie einer Bierflasche, einer Projektionsmaschine und Sandpapier selbst aufnahmen.

Grit Lemke
Film Unlimited
A Chairy Tale Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra

Ein Holzstuhl wehrt sich gegen den Mann, der sich auf ihn setzen möchte, und bewegt sich eigenmächtig. Nach der ersten Fassungslosigkeit wächst der Ehrgeiz des Mannes, und die beiden beginnen einen bizarren Tanz, der ...

1957

A Chairy Tale

Animadok
1957
10 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Normen McLaren, Claude Jutra
Ravi Shankar, Chatur Lal, Maurice Blackburn
Evelyn Lambart
Ein Holzstuhl wehrt sich gegen den Mann, der sich auf ihn setzen möchte, und bewegt sich eigenmächtig. Nach der ersten Fassungslosigkeit wächst der Ehrgeiz des Mannes und die beiden beginnen einen bizarren Tanz, der in einer friedlichen Einigung endet.
„A Chairy Tale“ war eine Weiterentwicklung der Pixilationstechnik, mit der McLaren bereits in seinem Überraschungserfolg „Neighbours“ experimentiert hatte. Zu diesem außergewöhnlichen Tanzfilm schuf er alternative Versionen aus den Textreihen, die ebenfalls vom NFB veröffentlicht wurden. Die Musik steuerte der damals noch weitgehend unbekannte indische Musiker Ravi Shankar bei.

Annegret Richter
Film Unlimited
A Colour Box

Als der junge Norman McLaren „A Colour Box“ sah, wusste er, dass dies genau das war, was er machen wollte. Ohne Kamera erstellt und direkt auf den Filmstreifen gezeichnet ...

UK

GB
1935

A Colour Box

Animadok
1935
4 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
John Grierson, GPO Film Unit
Don Baretto and his Cuban Orchestra
Als der junge Norman McLaren „A Colour Box“ sah, wusste er, dass dies genau das war, was er machen wollte. Ohne Kamera erstellt und direkt auf den Filmstreifen gezeichnet, etablierte der Erfolg dieses Films (obgleich er anfangs die Zuschauer schockierte und ausgebuht wurde) die direkte Animation als eigenständige Technik. Die leicht angejazzte, fröhlich tanzende Postwerbung am Ende diente zwar der Rechtfertigung der Produktion eines solchen Werks durch eine Regierungsinstitution, doch sah Grierson in Filmen wie diesen ausdrücklich eine Bereicherung des GPO-Kanons.

Grit Lemke

A Folk Troupe

Dokumentarfilm
2013
62 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Gang Zhao, Cherelle Zheng
Gang Zhao
Qian Ge, Deng Gang
Luo Quan
Lin Yan
Liu Jian
Ein leichtes Brot ist es für die fahrenden Gesellen nicht. Am Stadtrand von Chengdu, einem Wirtschaftszentrum im Südwesten Chinas, wo sich eine besondere Form der Peking-Oper, die Sichuan-Oper, traditionell entwickelt hat, hält eine elfköpfige Theatertruppe Einzug in ihr provisorisches Domizil in einer garagenähnlichen Halle, unmittelbar neben einer Großbaustelle. Jeden Tag bieten sie ein anderes Stück dar. Für die drei- bis vierstündigen Aufführungen haben die Performer von Kindheit an die Geheimnisse der kunstvoll geschraubten Gesänge und die ausgeklügelte Choreografie beim Wechsel der aufwändigen Masken erlernt. Jahrhundertealte Geschichten werden immer wieder repetiert. Aber romantisch ist das Wanderleben wahrlich nicht. Hier in Chengdu sitzen sie fest. Es fehlt an Geld für die Weiterreise, Bürokraten zeigen sich unwillig, Genehmigungen zu erteilen, es gibt Zänkereien untereinander, die Stimmung ist angespannt. Das auf bescheidenen Holzstühlen ausharrende Publikum besteht aus verhärmten Gestalten, deren zerfurchte Gesichter auf ein entbehrungsreiches Leben deuten. Größer könnte der Gegensatz zu den knallbunten Inszenierungen auf der Bühne, die in Titeln wie „Im Land des Überflusses“ die schönsten Verheißungen bergen, nicht sein. Diese Art der Wanderoper können sich die Zuschauer vielleicht gerade noch leisten, aber der Abgesang ist schon unüberhörbar. Und wieder geht ein Stück Kulturgeschichte verloren …

Cornelia Klauß



Ausgezeichnet mit dem Preis der Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique 2013

Internationaler Wettbewerb Animationsfilm
A Girl Named Elastika Guillaume Blanchet

Elastika ist nicht wie die anderen kleinen Mädchen, denn sie besteht aus Gummibändern. Und ihre Welt ist aus Kork. Einzigartig ist auch ihre Reise, bei der sie von Gebäude zu Gebäude springt, ein Meer überquert und in den Weltraum fliegt, indem sie sich an einer Feuerwerksrakete festhält

A Girl Named Elastika

Animationsfilm
2012
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
französische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
Bamprod
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet, Minh Tran
Guillaume Blanchet
Guillaume Blanchet
François Bélanger, Pierre-Hugues Rondot
Elastika ist nicht wie die anderen kleinen Mädchen, denn sie besteht aus Gummibändern. Und ihre Welt ist aus Kork. Einzigartig ist auch ihre Reise, bei der sie von Gebäude zu Gebäude springt, ein Meer überquert und in den Weltraum fliegt, indem sie sich an einer Feuerwerksrakete festhält.
Cross Media Screening
A Journal of Insomnia

Die Welt der Schlaflosigkeit als interaktive Selbsterfahrung. Persönliche Geschichten und inszenierte Begegnungen als Psychogramm der westlichen Gesellschaft. Intim, auch verstörend.

A Journal of Insomnia

Dokumentarfilm
2013
45 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Hugues Sweeney
Was bringt uns nachts um den Schlaf? Der interaktive Dokumentarfilm geht dieser Frage nach, indem er die Nutzer einlädt, die Welt der Schlaflosigkeit zu erkunden – ein Phänomen, das in Zusammenhang steht mit Stress und Angst und in unserer heutigen Gesellschaft jeden dritten Menschen betrifft. „A Journal of Insomnia“ lotet die erzählerischen Grenzen des Dokumentarfilms aus. Per Video, Text und Zeichnungen werden persönliche Geschichten zu Schlaflosigkeit gesammelt und zu einem kollektiven Erfahrungsraum für Betroffene aus der ganzen Welt verbunden. Insbesondere die erstaunlichen Aussagen von vier Schlaflosen geben intime Einblicke in einen verstörenden Zustand, den wir meist in Einsamkeit durchleben.
Retrospektive
A Letter to Dad Srđan Keča

Der Krieg ließ Srđan Keča Facetten seines Vaters entdecken, die er nicht kannte. Nach dessen Tod macht er sich auf die Suche nach Spuren jener verborgenen, unterdrückten Seiten.

A Letter to Dad

Dokumentarfilm
2012
48 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Srđan Keča
Srđan Keča
Alcyona Mick
Srđan Keča
Katherine Lee
Tudor Petre
Der Krieg ließ Srđan Keča Facetten seines Vaters entdecken, die er nicht kannte. Nach dessen Tod macht er sich auf die Suche nach Spuren jener verborgenen, unterdrückten Seiten.

Olaf Möller

A Tangled Tale

Animationsfilm
2012
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Corrie Francis Parks
Corrie Francis Parks
Mark Orton
Corrie Francis Parks
Cole Pierce
In dieser ungewöhnlichen Romanze wird handgefärbter Sand zur Metapher für zwei Seelen, die sich vereinigen und wieder trennen. Ein einsamer Fisch, der an einem Angelhaken hängt, trifft einen anderen in der gleichen traurigen Lage.

Ab Ovo

Animationsfilm
2013
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Marcin Malatyński
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
George Antoniv
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Anita Kwiatkowska-Naqvi
Der Film zeigt das Erwachen eines neuen Lebens und die Veränderung eines weiblichen Körpers, der seine gewohnte Form verliert. Die Sinneswahrnehmungen werden immer deutlicher, bis zu dem Moment, in dem das Baby die Grenzen des mütterlichen Körpers verlässt.

Abdullah

Animadok
2013
9 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Holger Lochau
Jakob Besuch
Oleg Hollmann
Jakob Besuch
Jakob Besuch
„Er heißt Abdullah“, sagt der Arzt im Krankenhaus zur Mutter, nachdem ihr Sohn eine Psychose erlitten hat. Zum ersten Mal in seinem Leben hat Abdullah das Gefühl, als eigenständiger Mensch wahrgenommen zu werden. Ein Film über Vorurteile, erzählt von Abdullah selbst.

Alppikatu 25 – Home to the Homeless

Dokumentarfilm
2012
27 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Cilla Werning, Liisa Juntunen
Inka Achté, Marika Väisänen
Graham Hadfield
Sari Aaltonen, Daniel Lindholm, Tuomas Järvelä
Hannele Majaniemi
Alppikatu-Straße 25 lautet seit 1937 die Adresse eines Obdachlosenheimes in Helsinki. Ein Ort für Männer ohne eigenen Ort. Männer ohne Vergangenheit? „Create your own memories“, steht jedenfalls als Motto auf einem Zettel an der Wand. Und doch speichert das eintönige Gebäude, das mit seinen langen, kahlen Fluren und schmalen Zellen durchaus Assoziationen an ein Gefängnis wachruft, gewissermaßen die Erinnerungen und Lebensspuren vieler Menschen, die sich hier ein minimales Zuhause geschaffen haben, wenn auch nur vorübergehend. Fünf von ihnen kommen zu Wort. Jeweils für einen Moment taucht der Film in ihre innere Welt ein, nur durch ihre Stimme, ergänzt durch subtile Geräuschcollagen. Optisch bleiben die Männer Phantome. Manchmal sind sie gebannt in die Unschärfe des Raumes, manchmal erscheinen sie nahe am Stillstand. Nur der Zigarettenrauch scheint sich dann noch zu bewegen. Der Raum indessen lässt sich widerstandslos von der Kamera ergründen, so als gäbe er tatsächlich Auskunft über seine Bewohner. Das Abstrakte liegt nahe am Konkreten, die Zeit streift den Raum.

Lars Meyer

Amen!

Animationsfilm
2012
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Moritz Mayerhofer, Bettina Morlock
Moritz Mayerhofer
Wilhelm Stegmeier
Assen Semov
Moritz Mayerhofer
Damir Simovski, Mai Nguyen, Ania Plocica, Karl Krause
Moritz Mayerhofer
Dominik Avenwedde
Was würde Gott tun, wenn er sehen könnte, wie sein Wort von den Menschen verkündet wird? Eine schwarzhumorige Parabel über einen Pfarrer, der bei der Predigt für seinen letzten Gast komplett über das Ziel hinausschießt.

American Vagabond

Dokumentarfilm
2013
85 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Cilla Werning
Susanna Helke
Samuli Kosminen
Susanna Helke, Marko Luukkonen
Niels Pagh Andersen
Es sollte nie wieder erwähnt werden, weil nicht sein konnte, was nicht sein durfte. Doch entgegen des Verdikts seines Vaters wurde aus James kein „richtiger“ Junge, der gern zum Jagen und Angeln ging, sondern das Schlimmste, was die amerikanische Mittelschichtsfamilie sich vorzustellen vermochte. Also warfen sie den schwulen Sohn, ein Teenager noch, aus dem Haus und überließen ihn seinem Schicksal als einer von Tausenden obdachlosen Jugendlichen in den USA. Bis zu vierzig Prozent von ihnen leben auf der Straße, weil sie einer „sexuellen Minderheit“ angehören.
Susanna Helke begleitet James und seine große Liebe Tyler durch die dreckigen Straßen und dunklen Parks von San Francisco, der „schwulsten Stadt der Welt“. Statt des erhofften Paradieses finden sie sich dort frierend, hungernd und marginalisiert wieder, auch von der arrivierten Gay Community. Doch alles kommt anders: Nachdem im ersten Teil des Films James aus dem Off seine Geschichte erzählt, geht es im zweiten um seine Abwesenheit – als „Sexualstraftäter“ sitzt er ein. Denn während nun selbst die konservative Familie zum Umdenken bereit ist, kennt das „Mutterland der Demokratie“ nur Härte gegen alles, was anders als der Mainstream ist. Atmosphärisch dicht und behutsam erzählt der Film nicht nur eine so zarte wie erschütternde Coming-of-Age-Geschichte. Er ist zugleich ein leidenschaftliches Plädoyer für eine Liebe (zum Menschen), die bedingungslos ist.

Grit Lemke

Among Women

Dokumentarfilm
2012
52 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Hasse van Nunen
Kim Brand
Harry de Wit
Suzan van Steenwijk
Joël Hielckert
Hüften bewegen sich rhythmisch, Körper verschlingen sich ineinander, ein sexueller Tanz wird praktiziert und führt irgendwann zum Höhepunkt, der die Tänzerin in eine andere Ebene befördern kann. Wir befinden uns nicht in einem Nachtclub in einer europäischen Metropole, sondern unter Frauen in Sambia, die sich gegenseitig für die Ehe vorbereiten. Hier wird gelehrt, wie „frau“ beim Geschlechtsverkehr die Kontrolle behält, sodass „frau“ sich nebenbei natürlich auch selbst befriedigt. Hier wird „frau“ aber auch mit dem Anblick des Blutes der Entjungferung vertraut gemacht, indem sie einem zwischen den Schenkeln eingeklemmten Huhn den Hals durchschneiden muss. Aber „frau“ solle sich keinesfalls wie ein Huhn benehmen! Nach Absolvierung dieses Kurses sind die Damen jedenfalls in der Lage, ihre Ehe, aber auch den dazugehörigen Mann „wie eine Last auf dem Kopf zu tragen“.
Kim Brand nähert sich den Ritualen und Denkweisen der anderen Kultur nicht zuletzt über die Reflexion ihrer eigenen Liebesbeziehung in der niederländischen Heimat und eröffnet uns ganz neue Perspektiven auf das Erleben von Stolz, Freiheit und Glück. In jeglicher Hinsicht ein lehrreicher Film. Am Ende darf man diese Frauen dann gerne beklatschen, wie sie das selbst sonst nur nach vollzogenem Akt mit ihrem Mann tun.

Claudia Lehmann

An Adventurous Afternoon

Animationsfilm
2013
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Ines Christine Geisser
Ines Christine Geisser, Kirsten Carina Geisser
The Giant Fox & William Honda Group
Ines Christine Geisser, Kirsten Carina Geisser
Ines Christine Geisser
Ines Christine Geisser, Kirsten Carina Geisser, Michel Esselbrügge
Ines Christine Geisser, Kirsten Carina Geisser
Jan Kristian Fuchs, Karl Ingo Willam
Eigentlich wollten Giant Fox und William Honda nur einen Kaffee zusammen trinken, aber der Nachmittag wird abenteuerlicher als geplant.