Film Archive

Casa

Documentary Film
France
2013
54 minutes
subtitles: 
English
French

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marc Faye, Gerald Leroux
Daniela De Felice
Matthieu Chatellier, Daniela De Felice
Alessandro Comodin, Daniela De Felice
Daniela De Felice
Daniela De Felice
Xavier Thibault
The house is crammed with objects of no great material value. Years after her father’s death, the director, her mother and brother clear the family home, once a promise of social advancement and now a place nobody wants to live in. The memories lie in the remains of everyday life and the junk of countless boxes of dusty entomological specimens. The mother tried to stop the passing of time by excessive collecting. And so the dialogues between the members of the family revolve around the big question of transience. Can memories be shared? What’s left of a life when the next generation attaches a different value to its objects? When memories disintegrate like the wings of the butterflies in their glass cases?
De Felice focuses on the process of remembrance and the question of what our memory retains. It’s not about the faces in the photographs, but the process of posing for the camera, filming and commenting. And the moments of silence while the camera is still running. And most of all the shape our memories assume. In this case, it’s the ink watercolours sketched by the director. Pared-down and delicate, sparingly animated from time to time, they do what only art can do: take us into the inner spaces where our families continue to live when all artefacts have long crumbled to dust.

Grit Lemke



Golden Dove Animated Documentary 2013

Emergency Calls

Documentary Film
Finland
2013
15 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Joonatan Portaankorva
Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Joonatan Portaankorva
What is your emergency? The question that’s at the start of every call to an emergency centre is also at the start of this film. Excited, sometimes desperate people on the soundtrack. The emergencies: precipitate labour, a multiple car crash. But also a killing spree and the last radio message of the “Estonia”. The call marks the boundary between life and death which – perhaps – will be crossed. It also depends on those who take it: embodied here by white figures lacking any status-generating symbols such as clothing or hair. Reduced to the naked, pure human being everything depends on. Or are they the Erinyes who hold our fate in their hands?
There is no blood, no images of disasters. We see NASA footage of earth as seen from space instead, clouds, lightshows, radar signals, pointedly distorted. What is one man’s need in view of the infinity of the universe? – Everything, claims this film which, like all works by the directing duo Vartiainen/Veikkolainen, defies categorisation. It reminds us of the conjunctive which runs through our secure lives in the shape of the potential for the worst case. The writing on the wall that silently hovers above us. Would have. Could have. What is your emergency?

Grit Lemke

Eugenic Minds

Documentary Film
Czech Republic,
Slovakia
2013
76 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jiří Konečný
Pavel Štingl
Jaroslav Kořán
Miroslav Janek
Tonička Janková, Otakar Šenovský
Jan Míka
Pavel Štingl
Vladimír Chrastil
Expressive faces, body parts, anatomical associations. Human beings come in a variety of forms: “Some are smart, some are dumb, some are good-looking, some are ugly …” The term eugenics comes from the Greek. It means something like “good lineage” and is the term used for the science of improving genetic disposition by choosing the right sexual partner. In order to spare humanity “genetic burdens”, the smart and good-looking ones are chosen. If humans make the selection, they take “God’s work into their own hands”. The Third Reich used and expanded this science to serve its ideology, with the result that the term was avoided and at last forgotten. Captivating archive material, original animations and their graphic “insemination”, for example when the “transparent woman” frequently mingles with the crowds, reflect the narrative of a fascinating science practiced to the point of lunacy. This tale reveals more about the human species than any anthropometrical measurement ever could.

Claudia Lehmann
Animadoc 2013
Green Fingers Elsa Duhamel

Jeanine and Alain live in the north of France. Both come from Algeria and sometimes miss ...

Green Fingers

Animated Film
France
2012
4 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Annick Teninge
Elsa Duhamel
Jeanine and Alain live in the north of France. Both come from Algeria and sometimes miss their home. That’s why they planted their own Mediterranean garden which they enjoy cultivating very much.
Animadoc 2013
It's Up to You Kajsa Næss

Childhood is an unbroken series of new challenges, which makes parental comfort and encouragement all the more important. But what if one’s father is absent for years or ...

2013

It's Up to You

Animadoc
Norway
2013
15 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lise Fearnley
Kajsa Næss
Kim Hiorthøy
Nina Strand, Lise Fearnley
Erik Aster, Torkel Gjørv
Tuva Synnevåg, Jan Otto Ertesvåg, Kajsa Næss, Cathinka Tanberg
Kajsa Næss
Svenn Jakobsen
Childhood is an unbroken series of new challenges, which makes parental comfort and encouragement all the more important. But what if one’s father is absent for years or forever, because he is in prison? An insightful film about growing up in a difficult family situation.
International Programme 2013
Nae Pasaran Felipe Bustos Sierra

After the 1973 coup, Scottish workers refused to deliver engines for fighter planes to Chile. The reconstruction of a self-determined act of solidarity.

Nae Pasaran

Documentary Film
UK
2013
13 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rebecca Day
Felipe Bustos Sierra
Julian Schwanitz
Anne Milne
Frederic Plasman
Jack Coghill
What’s the connection between the military dictatorship in Chile and the workers of a Rolls Royce manufacturing plant in Scotland? Here are the known facts: when the workers learn after the 1973 coup in Chile that the machine parts they make are used in the Chilean junta’s fighter planes, they refuse to deliver them. According to later Chilean reports, however, the machines were deployed after all. The workers doubt it. What’s their secret? Director Felipe Bustos Sierra reconstructs the events like a thriller, focusing on three former Scottish workers who meet again at a pre-arranged place. He confronts them with the known facts and uses animated sequences to interpret what happened on the grounds of the factory under cover of night and fog. Combined with archive material from the 1970s, a tongue-in-cheek portrait of a self-determined act of solidarity among workers emerges.

Lars Meyer
International Programme 2013
Truth Has Fallen Sheila M. Sofian

People who were wrongly convicted and the dubious methods of legal argumentation in a passionate inferno of images composed of expressive animation and abstract re-enactments.

2013

Truth Has Fallen

Animadoc
USA
2013
60 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

David B. Fain, Davi Rutenberg, Sheila M. Sofian
Sheila M. Sofian
Barbara Cohen
Tom Curran
Yu Gu
Sheila M. Sofian
Sandy Gendler
Innocence is no guarantee of freedom. Three cases that are exemplary (not only) of the US system of justice: Edward Baker, sentenced to 24 years for murder, James Landano and Joyce Anne Brown, both sentenced to life for capital offences. There are hundreds of innocently condemned prisoners like them in the States – including death row inmates who have been waiting for their execution for years. James McCloskey and his “Centurion Ministries” organisation have taken up the task of re-opening cases, questioning trials, getting new results through DNS analysis, and even identifying those as murderers who once accused an innocent person of their own crime.
How a wrongfully imprisoned person who feels abandoned by justice, lawyers, families, and friends reflects this injustice is hard to put in words. So director Sheila M. Sofian has conjured up an inferno of expressive animations painted on glass, abstract re-enactments, and surrealist details, which condenses into a passionate appeal to politicians to abolish prejudgements and racial discrimination. “If they’re not doing time for this, then surely for something else.” This statement by a cop encapsulates the cynicism that’s part of the system.

Cornelia Klauß
Animadoc 2013
Vigia Marcel Barelli

What would happen if bad environmental conditions caused the bees to move to more remote areas or change their lifestyle? ...

Vigia

Animated Film
Switzerland
2013
8 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nicolas Burlet
Marcel Barelli
Jean-Michel Zanetti
Zolthán Horváth
Marcel Barelli
Marcel Barelli
Jean-Baptiste Cornier
What would happen if bad environmental conditions caused the bees to move to more remote areas or change their lifestyle? An exemplary tale, narrated and with some florid comments by the director’s upright and resolute grandfather – a congenial, very witty and wise work.

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Casa

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich
2013
54 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
französische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marc Faye, Gerald Leroux
Daniela De Felice
Matthieu Chatellier, Daniela De Felice
Alessandro Comodin, Daniela De Felice
Daniela De Felice
Daniela De Felice
Xavier Thibault
Das Haus ist vollgestopft mit Gegenständen, deren materieller Wert sich als gering erweist. Jahre nach dem Tod des Vaters beräumt die Regisseurin mit Mutter und Bruder das Familiendomizil, das einmal sozialen Aufstieg verhieß und in dem nun keiner mehr wohnen möchte. Die Erinnerungen sitzen in Alltagsresten und im Gerümpel zahlloser Kisten voller verstaubter entomologischer Exemplare. In einem ausufernden Sammeldrang hat die Mutter versucht, das Vergehen der Zeit anzuhalten. Und so umkreisen die Zwiegespräche der Familienmitglieder die Vergänglichkeit als großes Thema. Kann man Erinnerungen teilen? Was bleibt von einem Leben, wenn die nächste Generation den Dingen einen anderen Wert beimisst? Wenn die Erinnerungen zerfallen wie die Flügel der Schmetterlinge in den Vitrinen?
De Felice konzentriert sich ganz auf den Prozess des Erinnerns und die Frage, was unser Gedächtnis bewahrt. So geht es nicht um die Gesichter auf den Fotos, sondern um den Vorgang des In-die-Kamera-Haltens, Abfilmens und Kommentierens. Um die Momente des Schweigens, wenn die Kamera noch läuft. Und vor allem um die Gestalt, die unsere Erinnerungen annehmen. Hier sind es von der Regisseurin gezeichnete Tuscheaquarelle. Ganz reduziert und zart, mitunter sparsam animiert, machen sie, was nur Kunst vermag: Sie führt uns in innere Räume, wo unsere Familien weiterleben, wenn alle Artefakte längst Staub geworden sind.

Grit Lemke



Ausgezeichnet mit der Goldenen Taube Animierter Dokumentarfilm 2013

Emergency Calls

Dokumentarfilm
Finnland
2013
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Joonatan Portaankorva
Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Hannes Vartiainen, Pekka Veikkolainen
Joonatan Portaankorva
What is your emergency? Mit der Frage, die stets am Anfang des Telefonats mit einer Notfallzentrale steht, beginnt auch dieser Film. Auf der Tonspur aufgeregte, manchmal verzweifelte Menschen. Notfälle: eine Sturzgeburt, eine Massenkarambolage. Aber auch ein Amoklauf und der letzte Funkspruch der„Estonia“. Der Anruf markiert die Grenze zwischen Leben und Tod, die – vielleicht – überschritten wird. Das hängt auch von denen ab, die ihn entgegennehmen: hier verkörpert von weißen Gestalten, bar jeglicher Status generierender Symbole wie Kleidung oder sogar Haare. Reduziert auf den nackten, puren Menschen, auf den es ankommt. Oder sind es die Erinnyen, die unser Schicksal in den Händen halten?
Es gibt kein Blut, keine Katastrophenbilder. Stattdessen NASA-Aufnahmen der Erde aus dem All, Wolken, Lichtspiele, Radaranzeigen, pointiert verfremdet. Was ist die Not eines Menschen angesichts der Unendlichkeit des Universums? – Alles, sagt dieser Film, der sich wie alle Werke des Regieduos Vartiainen/Veikkolainen jeder Kategorisierung entzieht. Er erinnert an den Konjunktiv, der unser gesichertes Leben als Möglichkeit des Worst Case durchzieht. Ein Menetekel, das leise über uns schwebt. Hätte. Könnte. What is your emergency?

Grit Lemke

Eugenic Minds

Dokumentarfilm
Tschechische Republik,
Slowakei
2013
76 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jiří Konečný
Pavel Štingl
Jaroslav Kořán
Miroslav Janek
Tonička Janková, Otakar Šenovský
Jan Míka
Pavel Štingl
Vladimír Chrastil
Ausdrucksstarke Gesichter, Körperteile, anatomische Assoziationen. Die Menschen sind vielfältig: „Manche sind klug, manche sind dumm, manche sind gutaussehend, manche sind hässlich …“ Eugenik stammt aus dem Griechischen, bedeutet so viel wie „gutes Geschlecht“ und bezeichnet die Wissenschaft zur Verbesserung der Erbanlagen durch die Wahl passender sexueller Partner. Um der Menschheit „genetische Belastungen“ zu ersparen, entscheide man sich für den Klugen und Gutaussehenden. Bestimmt der Mensch die Selektion, nimmt er die „Arbeit Gottes in seine eigenen Hände“. Das Dritte Reich benutzte und erweiterte die Forschung für seine Ideologie, was dazu führte, dass der Begriff schließlich vermieden und vergessen wurde. Mithilfe fesselnder Archivaufnahmen, origineller Animationen und deren anschaulicher „Befruchtung“, wenn sich zum Beispiel die Dresdner „Gläserne Frau“ immer wieder unter die Menschenmenge mischt, wird die Entwicklung einer faszinierenden und bis ins Irrsinnige betriebenen Wissenschaft reflektiert. Sie erzählt sehr viel mehr über die Spezies Mensch, als es jede anthropometrische Messung tun könnte.

Claudia Lehmann
Animadok 2013
Green Fingers Elsa Duhamel

Jeanine and Alain leben in Nordfrankreich. Sie kommen beide aus Algerien und manchmal vermissen sie ...

Green Fingers

Animationsfilm
Frankreich
2012
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Annick Teninge
Elsa Duhamel
Jeanine and Alain leben in Nordfrankreich. Sie kommen beide aus Algerien und manchmal vermissen sie ihre Heimat. Deshalb haben sie sich ihren eigenen mediterranen Garten angelegt, den sie mit viel Freude bewirtschaften.
Animadok 2013
It's Up to You Kajsa Næss

Im Laufe einer Kindheit begegnen einem ständig neue Herausforderungen. Umso wichtiger sind Trost und Ermutigung durch die Eltern. Was aber, wenn der Vater für viele Jahre oder für immer ...

2013

It's Up to You

Animadok
Norwegen
2013
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lise Fearnley
Kajsa Næss
Kim Hiorthøy
Nina Strand, Lise Fearnley
Erik Aster, Torkel Gjørv
Tuva Synnevåg, Jan Otto Ertesvåg, Kajsa Næss, Cathinka Tanberg
Kajsa Næss
Svenn Jakobsen
Im Laufe einer Kindheit begegnen einem ständig neue Herausforderungen. Umso wichtiger sind Trost und Ermutigung durch die Eltern. Was aber, wenn der Vater für viele Jahre oder für immer wegbleibt, weil er im Gefängnis ist? Ein einfühlsamer Film über das Heranwachsen in einer schwierigen familiären Situation.
Internationales Programm 2013
Nae Pasaran Felipe Bustos Sierra

Nach dem Putsch 1973 verweigern schottische Arbeiter die Auslieferung von Motoren für Kampfflugzeuge nach Chile. Rekonstruktion eines selbstbestimmten Aktes der Solidarität.

Nae Pasaran

Dokumentarfilm
UK
2013
13 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rebecca Day
Felipe Bustos Sierra
Julian Schwanitz
Anne Milne
Frederic Plasman
Jack Coghill
Was hat die Militärdiktatur in Chile mit den Arbeitern eines Rolls-Royce-Werkes in Schottland zu tun? So viel zu den bekannten Fakten: Als die Werksarbeiter nach dem Putsch in Chile 1973 mitbekommen, dass die von ihnen hergestellten Maschinenteile in Kampfflugzeugen der chilenischen Junta verwendet werden, verweigern sie die Auslieferung. Laut späterer chilenischer Berichte kamen die Maschinen allerdings doch noch zum Einsatz. Die Arbeiter zweifeln daran. Was ist ihr Geheimnis? Regisseur Felipe Bustos Sierra rekonstruiert das Geschehen wie einen Krimi. Ins Zentrum setzt er drei ehemalige schottische Werksarbeiter, die sich an einem arrangierten Ort wiedertreffen. Er konfrontiert sie mit dem bekannten Wissen und interpretiert mittels animierter Passagen, was auf dem Werksgelände bei Nacht und Nebel geschah. Zusammen mit Archivmaterial aus den 1970er Jahren entsteht das schelmische Porträt eines selbstbestimmten Aktes der Solidarität unter Arbeitern.

Lars Meyer
Internationales Programm 2013
Truth Has Fallen Sheila M. Sofian

Unschuldig Verurteilte und die zweifelhaften Methoden juristischer Beweisführung in einem leidenschaftlichen Bilder-Inferno aus expressiven Animationen und abstrakten Reenactments.

2013

Truth Has Fallen

Animadok
USA
2013
60 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

David B. Fain, Davi Rutenberg, Sheila M. Sofian
Sheila M. Sofian
Barbara Cohen
Tom Curran
Yu Gu
Sheila M. Sofian
Sandy Gendler
Unschuld ist keine Garantie für Freiheit. Drei Fälle, die (nicht nur) für das US-amerikanische Justizsystem exemplarisch sind: Edward Baker, wegen Mordes zu 24 Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt, James Landano und Joyce Ann Brown, die wegen Kapitalverbrechen jeweils lebenslänglich sitzen. So wie sie gibt es in den USA hunderte unschuldig Verurteilter im Gefängnis – darunter Todeskandidaten, die seit Jahren auf ihre Hinrichtung warten. James McCloskey hat es sich mit seiner Organisation „Centurion Ministries“ zur Aufgabe gemacht, Fälle wieder aufzurollen, Verfahren in Frage zu stellen, mit Hilfe von DNA-Untersuchungen zu neuen Ergebnissen zu kommen oder sogar denjenigen als Mörder zu identifizieren, der einen Unschuldigen einst der eigenen Tat bezichtigt hatte.
Wie ein zu Unrecht Inhaftierter, der sich von der Justiz, Anwälten, Familie und Freunden im Stich gelassen fühlt, diese Ungerechtigkeit reflektiert, ist in seiner ganzen Dimension schwer in Worte zu fassen. So hat die Regisseurin Sheila M. Sofian ein Bilder-Inferno aus expressiven Animationen, die auf Glas gemalt sind, abstrakten Reenactments und surrealistischen Details entfacht, das sich zu einem leidenschaftlichen Appell an die Politik verdichtet, Vorverurteilungen und Rassendiskriminierung abzuschaffen. „Wenn sie nicht dafür einsitzen, dann sicher für was anderes.“ Diese Äußerung eines Cops bringt den Zynismus, der Teil des Systems ist, auf den Punkt.

Cornelia Klauß
Animadok 2013
Vigia Marcel Barelli

Was würde passieren, wenn Bienen aufgrund schlechter Umweltverhältnisse in unzugängliche Gebiete übersiedeln oder ihr Leben ändern würden? ...

Vigia

Animationsfilm
Schweiz
2013
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nicolas Burlet
Marcel Barelli
Jean-Michel Zanetti
Zolthán Horváth
Marcel Barelli
Marcel Barelli
Jean-Baptiste Cornier
Was würde passieren, wenn Bienen aufgrund schlechter Umweltverhältnisse in unzugängliche Gebiete übersiedeln oder ihr Leben ändern würden? Eine exemplarische Geschichte, erzählt und blumig kommentiert vom integren und resoluten Großvater des Regisseurs – ein kongenialer, witziger und weiser Film.