Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Countries (Film Archive)

Agra 68

Documentary Film
GDR
1968
11 minutes
The “revolutionary explosions in science and technology” in an agitatorial popular science feature about the “agra” agricultural exhibition which took place annually in Leipzig-Markkleeberg. The enthusiastic sermons about the use of as many chemicals as possible, fully automated plant and animal production and the increase in work productivity by 250 percent (!) until 1980 in combination with pictures of cows ruminating to the same beat and harvester convoys piloted like Bond cars by delicate young ladies seem like pure science fiction.
– Grit Lemke
DEFA Matinee 2018
Der Elefant von Hoyerswerda Christian Lehmann

In his diploma film, Christian Lehmann follows a construction project in Hoyerswerda, where a residential quarter is built for the employees of the “Schwarze Pumpe” gas state combine.

Der Elefant von Hoyerswerda

Documentary Film
GDR
1959
15 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Deutsche Hochschule für Filmkunst (DHF), Potsdam-Babelsberg
Christian Lehmann
Christian Lehmann
In his diploma film, Christian Lehmann follows a construction project in Hoyerswerda, where a residential quarter is built for the employees of the “Schwarze Pumpe” gas state combine. We see buildings being assembled and facades scaffolded; we watch crane operators, bricklayers and carpenters on the site in summer. Lehmann, who had studied photography at the Leipzig Academy of Fine Arts before he began to study cinematography, comes up with impressive visual compositions. Influenced by the Soviet cinema of the period of Khrushchev’s Thaw, especially the works of Sergey Urusevsky, he also develops a dynamic and sensual style of camera-work.

Ilka Brombach

Der Letzte Trabbi

Documentary Film
GDR
1990
29 minutes
In late June 1990 the last Trabant car rolled of the production line at the Zwickau Sachsenring Factory. It was the symbol of the GDR, as average, imperfect and yet indestructible as its state. An ironic look at a long history which though melancholic never becomes nostalgic. “(...) a farewell to a self-image – to access to a big company and the recently gained freedom to criticise without restraint. Hardly anyone among the workers who are badmouthing what they produce here will be ready to talk openly about their company in the future, provided they have jobs in the first place.” (Heidemarie Hecht)
– Grit Lemke
DEFA Matinee 2013
Der Stoff zum Leben Thomas Kuschel

This portrait of a 26-year-old brigade leader at the Premnitz synthetic fibre works is accompanied by a poem by Volker Braun and was meant to follow the strategy of later DEFA films to use sympathetic comrades to promote new ways of thinking ...

Der Stoff zum Leben

Documentary Film
GDR
1989
23 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

DEFA-Studio für Dokumentarfilme, Gruppe Effekt
Thomas Kuschel
Peter Milinski
Heinz Baumert, Petra Barthel, Harald Apitz, Carsten Gebhardt, Andreas Walter, Dietmar Nickel, René Schmal
Volker Braun
This portrait of a 26-year-old brigade leader at the Premnitz synthetic fibre works is accompanied by a poem by Volker Braun and was meant to follow the strategy of later DEFA films to use sympathetic comrades to promote new ways of thinking. Precisely 30 years after the launch of the GDR chemistry programme, however, it shows dirt and noise rather than optimism and faith in progress. Broken bones and ruined lungs are mentioned, as well as the “damned chemicals”, lack of housing and playgrounds. The conclusion: “If we go on like this, we won’t get far.” This was to come true not long after the end of shooting. A view of the twilight days of the GDR.

Grit Lemke

Die Kumpel von Döhlen

Documentary Film
GDR
1960
16 minutes
A planned economy battle at the “8 May 1945” steel mill in Döhlen near Freital. The party conference resolution to double production until 1965 seems impossible to execute in view of the unspeakably hard work at the blast furnace. Enter the inventive steelworkers, the party leaders intervene, and step by step production becomes more efficient and work processes are automated ... A popular subject of the arts of that period, depicted with appropriate pathos.
– Grit Lemke
DEFA Matinee 2015
Die Welt horcht auf Max Jaap

A propaganda film by Max Jaap and Karl-Eduard von Schnitzler (“Defamation Ede”) that evokes the conquest of earth, nature, the atom and space by man – socialist man, of course.

Die Welt horcht auf

Documentary Film
GDR
1957
19 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

DEFA-Studio für Wochenschau und Dokumentarfilme
Max Jaap
Rolf Kuhl
Max Jaap, Herbert Kern, Karl-Eduard von Schnitzler
A propaganda film by Max Jaap and Karl-Eduard von Schnitzler (“Defamation Ede”) that evokes the conquest of earth, nature, the atom and space by man – socialist man, of course. While Western Europe and America despair over collapsing test rockets (“Why can’t we do this?”), the socialist engineers master the most complicated technologies – up to a living room sized electronic brain that thinks for them …

---Grit Lemke

Feinstrumpfhose Tanett Micromesh

Documentary Film
GDR
1965
1 minute
subtitles: 
No
DEFA Matinee 2017
Freundschaft und Frieden Karl Gass, Bruno Kleberg

In October 1951 Wilhelm Pieck travelled to Czechoslovakia. This short documentary is a kind of public relations account of the journey.

Freundschaft und Frieden

Documentary Film
GDR
1951
11 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

DEFA-Studio für Wochenschau und Dokumentarfilme
Karl Gass, Bruno Kleberg
Heinz Peer Czygan, Erich Nitzschmann
Traute Wischnewski
In October 1951 a government delegation of the still young GDR, headed by its first and only President, Wilhelm Pieck, travelled to Czechoslovakia. The short documentary “Friendship and Peace”, directed by Karl Gass and Bruno Kleberg, another pioneer of DEFA documentary film, is a kind of public relations account of this journey. The film is Karl Gass’s second work as a director after he had co-operated with Andrew Thorndike on “The Ascending Path”.

Fabian Tietke
DEFA Matinee 2018
Imbiß Thomas Heise

In 1954, the “Automat Imbiss” opened on Alexanderplatz in East Berlin. Featuring slots from which you picked the dishes after inserting coins, it conformed to the notions of modernity and future of the time.

Imbiß

Documentary Film
GDR
1978
5 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen (HFF), Potsdam-Babelsberg
Thomas Heise
Dagmar Mundt
In 1954, the “Automat Imbiss” opened on Alexanderplatz in East Berlin. Featuring slots from which you picked the dishes after inserting coins, it conformed to the notions of modernity and future of the time. Twenty years later, when Thomas Heise shoots his film, the Imbiss has long since lost its model character. Heise documents the daily routine in a matter-of-fact style: preparing mince meat, drawing drinks, collecting dirty dishes. Women from the East Berlin lower classes work here, endlessly repeating the same tasks and having cigarette and beer breaks.

Ilka Brombach

Leipziger Messe 1946

Documentary Film
GDR
1946
8 minutes
In a Leipzig still visibly marked by the war disrupted trading connections are being re-formed in the trade fair palaces of the city centre. This Eyewitness/Newsreel-style report by feature film director Kurt Maetzig is inspired by the hope that the reviving consumer world will one day be accessible to ordinary citizens, too. Until that day the motto is: ration cards and longing glances at the trade fair’s HO fashion show.
– Grit Lemke
DEFA Matinee 2013
Mode 1956 Rolf Schnabel

From the “sample – not for sale” of the “Berliner Institut für Bekleidungskultur” (Institute for Clothing Culture), this DEFA-produced industrial film takes us to an “International Fashion Competition” and its (mainly Eastern European) models ...

Mode 1956

Documentary Film
GDR
1955
10 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rolf Schnabel
Heinz Schröter
Hans-Ulrich Männling
Helga Krause
Hans-Jürgen Mittag, Fashion Advisor: Helga Borchert
From the “sample – not for sale” of the “Berliner Institut für Bekleidungskultur” (Institute for Clothing Culture), this DEFA-produced industrial film takes us to an “International Fashion Competition” and its (mainly Eastern European) models. Aside from pipings, facings and the arrangement of folds, the main question is how these fashion creations can actually reach the production lines, and the film ends with the (probably unanswered) prayer: “Hopefully, the retailers won’t leave us in the lurch!”

Grit Lemke

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Countries (Film Archive)

Agra 68

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1968
11 Minuten
Die „revolutionären Explosionen in Wissenschaft und Technik“ in einem populärwisschenaftlich-agitatorischem Beitrag über die Leistungsschau der Landwirtschaft „agra“, die alljährlich in Leipzig-Markkleeberg stattfand. Die begeisterten Tiraden über den Einsatz von möglichst viel Chemie, die vollautomatisierte Produktion von Pflanzen und Tieren und die bis 1980 geplante Steigerung der Arbeitsproduktivität um 250 Prozent (!) wirken im Verbund mit den Bildern im Takt fressender Kühe und den von zarten Damen rasant wie Bond-Auto gesteuerten Mähdrescherkolonnen wie reine Science-Fiction.
– Grit Lemke
DEFA Matinee 2018
Der Elefant von Hoyerswerda Christian Lehmann

In seinem Diplomfilm begleitet Christian Lehmann Bauarbeiten in Hoyerswerda, wo für die Werktätigen des Gaskombinats „Schwarze Pumpe“ ein Wohnviertel errichtet wird.

DDR

GDR
1959

Der Elefant von Hoyerswerda

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1959
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Deutsche Hochschule für Filmkunst (DHF), Potsdam-Babelsberg
Christian Lehmann
Christian Lehmann
In seinem Diplomfilm begleitet Christian Lehmann Bauarbeiten in Hoyerswerda, wo für die Werktätigen des Gaskombinats „Schwarze Pumpe“ ein Wohnviertel errichtet wird. Man sieht, wie Gebäude zusammengesetzt, Fassaden eingerüstet werden, beobachtet Kranfahrer, Maurer und Zimmerleute auf der sommerlichen Baustelle. Lehmann, der vor dem Kamerastudium bereits Fotografie an der Leipziger Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst studiert hatte, findet dabei zu beeindruckenden Bildkompositionen. Beeinflusst durch das sowjetische Kino der Tauwetter-Periode, vor allem die Arbeit Sergei Urussewskis, entwickelt er zudem eine auf Dynamik und Sinnlichkeit beruhende Kameraführung.

Ilka Brombach

Der Letzte Trabbi

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1990
29 Minuten
Ende Juni 1990 rollt im Zwickauer Sachsenring-Werk der letzte Trabant vom Band. Er war das Symbol der DDR, so durchschnittlich wie sie, so mangelhaft und doch so unverwüstlich. Ein ironischer Blick auf eine lange Geschichte, der bei aller Melancholie doch nicht nostalgisch wird. „(…) auch ein Abschied von einem Selbstverständnis – vom Zugang zu einem großen Betrieb und von der gerade gewonnenen Freiheit uneingeschränkter Kritik. Kaum einer der Arbeiter, die hier über das schimpfen, was sie produzieren, wird künftig noch bereit sein, offen über seinen Betrieb zu reden, so er denn überhaupt noch Arbeit hat.“ (Heidemarie Hecht)
– Grit Lemke
DEFA Matinee 2013
Der Stoff zum Leben Thomas Kuschel

Das von einem Gedicht von Volker Braun begleitete Porträt eines 26-jährigen Brigadeleiters aus dem Chemiefaserwerk Premnitz sollte die Strategie später DEFA-Filme bedienen, mit Hilfe eines sympathischen Genossen neues Denken auszustrahlen ...

DDR

GDR
1989

Der Stoff zum Leben

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1989
23 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

DEFA-Studio für Dokumentarfilme, Gruppe Effekt
Thomas Kuschel
Peter Milinski
Heinz Baumert, Petra Barthel, Harald Apitz, Carsten Gebhardt, Andreas Walter, Dietmar Nickel, René Schmal
Volker Braun
Das von einem Gedicht von Volker Braun begleitete Porträt eines 26-jährigen Brigadeleiters aus dem Chemiefaserwerk Premnitz sollte die Strategie späterer DEFA-Filme bedienen, mit Hilfe eines sympathischen Genossen neues Denken auszustrahlen. Genau dreißig Jahre nach Auflegung des Chemieprogramms der DDR werden jedoch statt Optimismus und Fortschrittsglaube vor allem Dreck und Lärm gezeigt. Es ist die Rede von kaputten Knochen und Lungen, von der „verdammten Chemie“, fehlenden Wohnungen und Spielplätzen. Die Erkenntnis: „Wenn wir so weitermachen, kommen wir nicht weit.“ Bald nach den Dreharbeiten sollte sie sich bewahrheiten. Ein Blick in die Abenddämmerung der DDR.

---Grit Lemke

Die Kumpel von Döhlen

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1960
16 Minuten
Planschlacht im Stahlwerk „8. Mai 1945“ in Döhlen bei Freital. Der Parteitagsbeschluss, die Produktion bis 1965 zu verdoppeln, scheint angesichts der unsagbar schweren Arbeit am Hochofen unerfüllbar. Da treten die tüftelnden Stahlarbeiter auf den Plan, die Parteileitung greift ein und schrittweise wird die Produktion effektiver und Arbeitsabläufe werden automatisiert … Ein beliebtes Sujet der Kunst jener Jahre mit entsprechendem Pathos.
– Grit Lemke
DEFA Matinee 2015
Die Welt horcht auf Max Jaap

Der Propagandafilm von Max Jaap und Karl-Eduard von Schnitzler („Sudel-Ede“) beschwört die Eroberung von Erde, Natur, Atom und Weltall durch den Menschen – den sozialistischen, versteht sich.

DDR

GDR
1957

Die Welt horcht auf

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1957
19 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

DEFA-Studio für Wochenschau und Dokumentarfilme
Max Jaap
Rolf Kuhl
Max Jaap, Herbert Kern, Karl-Eduard von Schnitzler
Der Propagandafilm von Max Jaap und Karl-Eduard von Schnitzler („Sudel-Ede“) beschwört die Eroberung von Erde, Natur, Atom und Weltall durch den Menschen – den sozialistischen, versteht sich. Während man in Westeuropa und Amerika verzweifelt, weil Testraketen zerbrechen („Warum können wir das nicht?“), beherrschen die Erbauer des Sozialismus die komplizierteste Technik – bis hin zu einem wohnzimmergroßen Elektronenhirn, das ihnen das Denken abnimmt …

Grit Lemke
DEFA Matinee 2017
Freundschaft und Frieden Karl Gass, Bruno Kleberg

Im Oktober 1951 reiste Wilhelm Pieck in die ČSSR. In dieser Kurzdokumentation wird die Reise öffentlichkeitswirksam dargestellt.

DDR

GDR
1951

Freundschaft und Frieden

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1951
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

DEFA-Studio für Wochenschau und Dokumentarfilme
Karl Gass, Bruno Kleberg
Heinz Peer Czygan, Erich Nitzschmann
Traute Wischnewski
Im Oktober 1951 reiste eine Regierungsdelegation der noch jungen DDR unter Leitung ihres ersten und einzigen Präsidenten Wilhelm Pieck in die ČSSR. In der Kurzdokumentation „Freundschaft und Frieden“, die Karl Gass gemeinsam mit Bruno Kleberg, einem weiteren Pionier des DEFA-Dokumentarfilms realisierte, wird diese Reise öffentlichkeitswirksam dargestellt. Der Film ist die zweite Regiearbeit von Karl Gass nach der Zusammenarbeit mit Andrew Thorndike bei „Der Weg nach oben“.

Fabian Tietke
DEFA Matinee 2018
Imbiß Thomas Heise

1954 wurde am Alexanderplatz in Ostberlin der „Automat Imbiss“ eröffnet, dem man gegen Einwurf von Münzen die Gerichte entnehmen konnte.

Imbiß

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1978
5 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen (HFF), Potsdam-Babelsberg
Thomas Heise
Dagmar Mundt
1954 wurde am Alexanderplatz in Ostberlin der „Automat Imbiss“ eröffnet. Mit seinen Fächern, denen man gegen Einwurf von Münzen die Gerichte entnehmen konnte, entsprach er den damaligen Vorstellungen von Modernität und Zukunft. Zwanzig Jahre später, als Thomas Heise seinen Film dreht, hat der Imbiss seinen Vorzeigecharakter längst eingebüßt. Mit nüchternem Blick dokumentiert Heise die alltäglichen Routinen: Das Zubereiten von Hackepeter, das Zapfen von Getränken, das Einsammeln von dreckigem Geschirr. Hier arbeiten Frauen aus der Ostberliner Unterschicht, die die immer gleichen Tätigkeiten verrichten, zwischendurch rauchen und Bier trinken.

Ilka Brombach

Leipziger Messe 1946

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1946
8 Minuten
Während Leipzig noch deutlich vom Krieg gezeichnet ist, macht man sich daran, in den Messepalästen der Innenstadt abgerissene Handelsverbindungen wieder aufzubauen. Der im Augenzeugen/Wochenschau-Stil gedrehte Beitrag des Spielfilmregisseurs Kurt Maetzig ist beseelt von der Hoffnung, dass die gerade wieder auferstehende Warenwelt eines Tages auch dem einfachen Bürger zugänglich sein wird. Bis dahin heißt es weiter: Lebensmittelmarken und sehnsüchtige Blicke bei der Messe-Modenschau der HO.
– Grit Lemke
DEFA Matinee 2013
Mode 1956 Rolf Schnabel

Vom „unverkäuflichen Muster“ des „Berliner Instituts für Bekleidungskultur“ führt dieser bei der DEFA entstandene Industriefilm zu einem „Internationalen Modewettbewerb“ und seinen (meist osteuropäischen) Modellen ...

DDR

GDR
1955

Mode 1956

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1955
10 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rolf Schnabel
Heinz Schröter
Hans-Ulrich Männling
Helga Krause
Hans-Jürgen Mittag, Fashion Advisor: Helga Borchert
Vom „unverkäuflichen Muster“ des „Berliner Instituts für Bekleidungskultur“ führt dieser bei der DEFA entstandene Industriefilm zu einem „Internationalen Modewettbewerb“ und seinen (meist osteuropäischen) Modellen. Neben Paspeln, Blenden und Faltenwürfen geht es vor allem um die Frage, wie diese Mode tatsächlich in die Produktion gelangen könnte, und endet mit dem (sicher nicht erhörten) Stoßgebet: „Hoffentlich lässt uns der Handel nicht im Stich!“

---Grit Lemke